NSCAS System

The Nebraska Student-Centered Assessment System (NSCAS), pronounced “en-skass,” is a new statewide assessment system that embodies Nebraska’s holistic view of students and helps them prepare for success in postsecondary education, career, and civic life. It uses multiple measures throughout the year to provide educators and decision makers at all levels with the insights they need to support student learning.

NSCAS Summative Assessment Administrations for

Year  Subject Grade Level
2017-2018          NSCAS- General Summative Assessments 3-8   
 NSCAS-English Language Arts
 NSCAS- Science  5 and 8
 NSCAS- Alternate Summative Assessments    3-8 & High School*
 NSCAS-AA- English Language Arts
 NSCAS-AA- Mathematics
 NSCAS-AA- Science  5,8, & High School*
ACT High School* High School*
 ELPA21 K-12 English Learners  K-12 English Learners

*Note: In 2017-2018 school year students who are in their third year of cohort at the high school level will participate in the college entrance exam-the ACT, or in the NSCAS- Alternate Assessments 

Standards, Assessment, and Accountability (SAA) Winter 2018 

NSCAS Resources