Nebraska Teacher of the Year

Questions, Comments, or Corrections? Let us know!


January/February 2018 Application packets available
August 1, 2018 (CST) Postmarked or Submitted deadline for receipt of applications
August/September 2018 Finalists will be selected and notified
September 2018 Finalists will be interviewed in Lincoln
November 1, 2018 Recognition luncheon

Congratulations! Michelle Helt of South Sioux City
2018 Nebraska Teacher of the Year

For more information:
News Release
Brochure (available January, 2018) – Workshop Presentations provided by Michelle Helt
Congratulations to the 2018 National Teacher of the Year Finalists #ntoy18


Nebraska Teachers of the Year:

Congratulations Amber Vlasnik
2017 Nebraska Teacher of the Year, Amber Vlasnik, and four other State Teachers of the Year will have an educational opportunity to participate in the 2017 EF Education First Professional Development tour to Helsinki & Milan.

More than 60 educators from across the United States will travel to Helsinki and Milan where they will join more than 1500 students for a  leadership summit in Milan. This program will be a great opportunity for teachers to travel with fellow educators, explore the education system and culture in Finland, and participate in a Global Leadership Summit featuring keynote speakers Anthony Bourdain and Raj Patel. This leadership conference will delve into an exciting theme, The Future of Food.

Congratulations @AmberVlasnik
Thank You @efnorthamerica and @CCSSO

2016 Nebraska Teacher of the Year, Tim Royers, attended the Extra Yard for Teachers Summit and was honored during the College Football National Championship Game January 7-9, 2017
Royers Extra Yard Trip
#ntoy16 #TOYChampExperience

Nebraska Teachers of the Year represent the Nebraska Association of Teachers of Mathematics Board on November 5, 2016
Amber Vlasnik (2017), 2016 Treasurer; Shelby Aaberg (2015), 2016 President; and Angela Mosier (2013), 2015 Past President

NATMathematics Nebraska Teachers

Nebraska Teachers of the Year attended a meeting, prior to the  2017 Awards of Excellence Luncheon on November 3, 2016.
(front row, left to right) Kristi Bundy (2014); Maddie Fennell (2007); De Tonack (1992); Patsy Koch-Johns (2006); and Mary Schlieder (2008).
(back row, left to right) Dan McCarthy (2009); Tim Royers (2016); Will Locke (1981); John Heineman (2000); Amber Vlasnik (2017); Bob Feurer (2011) and Mary Jane Caffey (2001).

Nebraska Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Shelby Aaberg, 2015 Nebraska Teacher of the Year

Click here for more information: PAEMSTOn July 1, 2015, President Obama named 108 mathematics and science teachers as recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Gering Citizen Article: A Tale of Two Teachers: GHS Class of 2000 produces two Teachers of the Year

Nebraska Teachers of the Year in Salt Lake City, Utah for the National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY) “Transformers: Innovating Education” Annual Conference, July 7-10, 2015.
Pictured from left to right: Shelby Travis Aaberg (2015); Barbara Hopkins (1988); Maddie Fennell (2007); and Angela Mosier (2013)

Nebraska Teachers of the Year at NNSTOY Conference

Angela Mosier, 2013 Nebraska Teacher of the Year, KETV News Coverage at the White House

Sharing the Light Presentation at the Teacher of the Year and Excellence in Teaching Awards Luncheon November 8, 2012

Teacher of the Year Video from Commissioner of Education’s 2011 Administrators’ Days Keynote