United States Senate Youth Program (Hearst Foundations) Scholarship

United States Senate Youth Program – Hearst Scholarship

The United States Senate Youth Program enters its 56th year of providing high school juniors and seniors with an extensive orientation of all branches of the Federal government and the opportunity to receive a $10,000.00 scholarship.

This fantastic opportunity can only happen if qualifying students apply for the program. The application can be downloaded in late August. The United States Senate Youth Program, is to be held March 7-12, 2020 in Washington, D.C.

I encourage you to support this outstanding program. Delegates receive an all expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. The delegates will meet United States Senators during the Senate reception and tour the Capitol, U.S. Supreme Court Building, and the Pentagon. They also tour historic landmarks and various Smithsonian museums. Each delegate receives a $10,000 scholarship sponsored by the William Randolph Hearst Foundations. The foundation underwrites all Senate Youth Program expenses.

Should you have any questions, please call Harris Payne at 402.471.2449 or email Harris.Payne@Nebraska.gov .

Application and Informational Materials

  • Senate Youth Program Application 2019 2020
    USSYP Application – Applications must be received by the Nebraska Department of Education, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68508, by 4:00 pm, CST, September 27, 2019.  Thank You.

Code of Conduct
Delegates will be the guest of the United States Senate and The Hearst Foundations throughout the program and are required to conduct themselves with civility, dignity and professionalism. Debate and discussion are actively encouraged in an environment of tolerance, respect and inclusion. Students selected to the program are serving as at-large public representatives of their states, communities and schools, and attend the program to learn from the speakers and from one another. Students are prohibited from engaging in lobbying, petitioning, protest or overt political activism in the presence of speakers, at any venues visited, or on social media during Washington Week.

Senate Youth Program Application 2019 2020

Photo credit to: Jacub Mosur, USSYP Program Photographer

2018 United States Senate Youth Program Winners

Bouthaina Ibrahim from Lincoln Northeast High School and Nicole Fintel from Lincoln East High School

2017 United States Senate Youth Program Winners

Jacob McNeill from Elkhorn South High School and Matthew Fredricks from Grand Island Northwest High School pictured.


Updated August 21, 2019 3:14pm