Official State of Nebraska website - Return to Nebraska.gov

EDUCATOR PREPARATION
HOME

Contact Us

Nebraska Council on Teacher    Education

Nebraska Institutions with    Educator Preparation Programs

Loan Forgiveness Programs

Rules and Guidelines List

Quick Resource List

Adobe Acrobat Reader is needed to view many documents on this web site. Click the icon below to download the latest version at no cost.

Get Free Adobe Reader

 

 ENHANCING EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING PROGRAM

The 2014-2015 EETP
Application is now closed

A Special Application will be available in October for classes that BEGIN between
January 1, 2015 and June 30, 2015.  Check back for more information on October 1, 2014.

Related Information

Additional information about the EETP is available from the documents listed below or by contacting Karen Buller at 402-471-4837 or karen.buller@nebraska.gov.

Program Information Sheet

Definitions

Application Materials
** Available only during open application periods

Nebraska Teacher Shortage Reports

Rule 25 - Regulations Governing the Excellence in Teaching Act

Loan Recipient Forms

Excellence in Teaching Act Forgivable Loans

On April 22, 2009, the Excellence in Teaching Act (§§ 79-8,132−79-8,140 R.R.S.) was signed by Governor Heineman revising the existing Attracting Excellence to Teaching Program and authorizing the Enhancing Excellence in Teaching Program.

Enhancing Excellence in Teaching Program

The Enhancing Excellence in Teaching Program (EETP) provides forgivable loans to Nebraska teachers enrolled in an eligible graduate program at an eligible Nebraska institution.

For an overview of the EETP program through March 1, 2014 CLICK HERE.

Eligible students may apply, on an annual basis, for an EETP loan in an amount of up to $175 per credit hour, or a maximum of $3,000, for coursework that has been identified by the institution as part of the student's graduate program. In return for receiving an EETP loan, the student agrees to complete the graduate program that s/he is currently enrolled in and maintain full-time employment in an accredited or approved public or private school in Nebraska. If the student meets the loan forgiveness obligations, loans will be forgiven, beginning after the first two years of full-time teaching, in an amount up to $3,000 for each year of teaching or in an amount up to $6,000 for each year of teaching if the student teaches in a school district that has been classified as very sparse or in a school building in which at least 40% of the students qualify for the poverty factor.

Bottom of Page