News Release

July 2, 2018


The Nebraska Department of Education recognized 56 Nebraska business teachers at the Nebraska Career Education Conference held June 8, 2018 in Kearney.

Teachers whose professional activities influenced business and marketing education in Nebraska during the past year received B.E.S.T. — Belong, Excel, Study and Travel — Awards for their involvement in professional associations, community and school activities, professional leadership development and service to the business education profession.

B.E.S.T. Awards exemplify superior qualities, including dedication to students, community outreach, and continual classroom improvement efforts. The following individuals contributed significantly to the quality of education in their community and the state:

  • 25-year award winner: Jean Condon, Mid-Plains Community College; Deb Wolken, Lincoln Northeast High School
  • 20-year award winners: Lisa Hanson, Neligh-Oakdale High School;
  • 10-year award winner: Cathy Nutt, Mid-Plains Community College
  • First-year award winners: Alyse Andreasen, Wilber-Clatonia High School; Alexandra Fakinos, Lincoln East High School; Angie Palmer, Sumner-Eddyville-Miller High School; Shannon Quible, Lincoln North Star; Nanette Shackelford, Sandy Creek High School.


Additional B.E.S.T. Award recipients can be found in the official News Release:

David Jespersen
Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education