Contact Us

Assistance is provided by the following Nebraska Department of Education staff. Contact information and a description of services available are included.


Jolene Palmer – Nebraska School Safety & Security Director
Phone: 402.471.2944
E-mail: jolene.palmer@nebraska.gov
Services:

  • Information on School Safety Plans
  • Psychological First Aid Training
  • Threat Assessment Training
  • Standard Response Protocol Training
  • Safety Standards
  • School Safety and Security in Nebraska

Cesar Torres – Bullying and Cyber-bullying research associate

Phone:  402.309.4160

E-mail: cesar.torres@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Help with bullying and cyber-bullying phone calls and emails
  • Help with research and resources about bullying and cyber-bullying

Scott Stemper – Emergency Operations Planning Specialist

Phone:  402.309.4053

E-mail:  scott.stemper@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Provide leadership and guidance for emergency operations planning in schools
  • Assist with the development and effectiveness of emergency operations safety and security plans

Jordan Wilson – Grants Program Specialist

Phone:  531.510.7657

Email:  jordan.wilson@nebraska.gov

  • Assist with the development  and effectiveness of emergency operations safety and security plans
  • Assist with grants coordination

TBA – Suicide Prevention Specialist

Phone:

E-mail:

Services:

  • Assist schools with questions regarding required annual suicide prevention training
  • Assist school staff in identifying signs and symptoms of suicidal behavior

Carol Bom – School Safety Office Associate

Phone:  402.309.4124

E-mail:  carol.bom@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Contact for information on scheduled training or workshops
  • Updates to website

Carey McCoy – School Safety Program Associate

Phone:  402.219-2086

E-mail:  carey.mccoy@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Contact for information on scheduled training or workshops
  • Grant support and Psychological First Aid support

 Extended NDE Partners:

Office of Coordinated Student Support Services

Office Administrator:  Zainab Rida, 402-471-4620


Coordinated School Health

Lacey Peters
Health/Physical Education
Ph: 402-471-4352
E-Mail: lacey.peters@nebraska.gov

School Counseling

Donna Hoffman

Ph: 402-471-4811

E-Mail:  donna.hoffman@nebraska.gov


PBiS: Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support

Contact Amy Rhone for information 402-471-4323

Updated September 21, 2021 8:19am