Contact Us

Assistance is provided by the following Nebraska Department of Education staff. Contact information and a description of services available are included.


Jay Martin – Nebraska School Safety & Security Director

Phone: 402-471-2944

E-mail: jay.martin@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Information on School Safety Plans
  • Psychological First Aid Training
  • Threat Assessment Training
  • Standard Response Protocol Training
  • Safety Standards
  • School Safety and Security in Nebraska

Cesar Torres – Bullying and Cyber-bullying research associate

Phone: 402-309-4160

E-mail: cesar.torres@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Help with bullying and cyber-bullying phone calls and emails
  • Help with research and resources about bullying and cyber-bullying

Scott Stemper – Emergency Operations Planning Specialist

Phone:  402-309-4053

E-mail:  scott.stemper@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Provide leadership and guidance for emergency operations planning in schools
  • Assist with the development and effectiveness of emergency operations safety and security plans

Kimberly Jacobson – Suicide Prevention Specialist

E-mail:  SuicidePrevention@nebraska.gov 

Services:

  • Assist schools with questions regarding required annual suicide prevention training
  • Assist school staff in identifying signs and symptoms of suicidal behavior

Sally Carlson – Psychological First Aid Lead

E-mail:  PFA@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Assist schools with questions regarding crisis teams
  • Assist school staff with questions regarding crisis response using Psychological First Aid

Carey McCoy – School Safety Program Associate

Phone:  402-219-2086

E-mail:  carey.mccoy@nebraska.gov

Services:

  • Contact for information on scheduled training or workshops
  • Grant support and Psychological First Aid support

 Extended NDE Partners:

Office of Coordinated Student Support Services

Office Administrator:  Zainab Rida, 402-471-4620


Whole Child

Jessie Coffey

Ph: 402-419-3205

E-mail: jessie.coffey@nebraska.gov

Health/Physical Education

Wyatt Morse

Ph: 531-207-2611

E-mail: wyatt.morse@nebraska.gov

School Counseling

Donna Hoffman

Ph: 402-471-4811

E-Mail:  donna.hoffman@nebraska.gov


PBiS: Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support

Contact Amy Rhone for information 402-471-4323

Updated November 15, 2022 2:57pm