News Release

June 8, 2018


The annual Nebraska Excellence in Career Education Awards and Outstanding Nebraska Career Educators Awards were presented on June 5th in Kearney, Nebraska. The Nebraska Career Education (NCE) Conference was attended by more than 500 Nebraska Career Education teachers, school counselors, administrators, and Career and Technical Education advocates.

The awards were co-sponsored by the Nebraska Department of Education (NDE), the Nebraska Career Education and Innovation Foundation (NCEIF) and Nebraska business and industry partners.

The Excellence in Career Education Awards recognize outstanding Nebraska Career Education programs and outstanding partnerships with businesses and individuals. Recipients were nominated by Nebraska career educators from across the state.

This year’s Excellence in Career Education Award recipients are:

  • Elaine Stuhr Leadership and Advocacy Award – Barb Waller, Millard Public Schools
  • Distinguished Partner Award – Doris Lux, Central Community College-Columbus
  • Outstanding Business Partnership Award– Nebraska Medicine
  • Outstanding Business Partnership Award – BluePrint Engines
  • Nebraska Career Education Outstanding Secondary Administrator Award – Justin Shaddick, Scottsbluff Public Schools
  • Nebraska Career Education Outstanding Postsecondary Administrator Award– William (Bill) Eakins, Mid-Plains Community College
  • Nebraska Career Education Outstanding Secondary Principal Award – Brandy Thompson, Sutton Junior-Senior High School
  • Nebraska Career Education Outstanding Superintendent Award – Dr. Blane McCann, Westside Community Schools
  • Outstanding Nebraska Postsecondary Career Education Program Award – Construction Education Center, Metropolitan Community College
  • Outstanding Nebraska Secondary Career Education Program Award – Sutton High School
  • Outstanding Rule 47 Career Academy Program Award– Plattsmouth Public Schools

This year, a prestigious award category was introduced to recognize Outstanding Career Education Teachers in each of seven career areas.  Applicants were reviewed by a distinguished panel of Nebraska educators. The panel selected the outstanding career educator for each area and these seven individuals were interviewed by a second panel of judges on the first day of the NCE Conference and the ultimate Outstanding Nebraska Career Educator for 2018 was selected.  Each of the seven Outstanding Career Area Educators received a special plaque and a $1,000 award.  The Outstanding Career Educator finalist for 2018 received a special award and $2,500.

The 2018 Nebraska Outstanding Career Area Educators and sponsors of their awards are: 

  • Outstanding Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Educator – Kristyn Jones, Norris Public Schools (Sponsored by Nebraska FFA Association)
  • Outstanding Business, Marketing, and Management Educator – Crystal Bolamperti, Westside Community Schools (Sponsored by Nebraska Bankers Association)
  • Outstanding Communication and Information Systems Educator – Jan Went, Lakeview Community Schools (Sponsored by the Nebraska Career Education and Innovation Foundation)
  • Outstanding Education and Training Educator – Candi Kadar, Omaha Public Schools (Sponsored by the Nebraska Career Education and Innovation Foundation)
  • Outstanding Family and Consumer Sciences Educator – Anne Schmall, Scottsbluff Public Schools (Sponsored by Nebraska Pork Producers Association
  • Outstanding Health Sciences Educator – Jerry Olson, Millard Public Schools (Sponsored by Nebraska Medicine)
  • Outstanding Skilled and Technical Sciences Educator – David Shabram, Westside Community Schools (Sponsored by Associated General Contractors-Nebraska Chapter and Nebraska Building Chapter-Associated General Contractors)
  • Outstanding Nebraska Career Educator 2018 – Kristyn Jones, Norris Public Schools (Sponsored by Nebraska Career Education and Innovation Foundation)


More information can also be found at

Images from the award presentations can be found at the following link.

David Jespersen
Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education