Questions, Comments, or Corrections? Let us know!

School District Budgeting – Other Receipts & Allocations

Budgeting Information Related to Other Receipts & Allocations (Federal, State, and Miscellaneous) – 2018/19 School Fiscal Year

A.   Federal Funds

A1.  Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Funding

IDEA flow-through allocations for 2018/19 may be viewed here (under “Estimated Enrollment/Poverty Funding Calculations”).  This includes funds available for Special Education services and transportation for birth to age 5 and school age students. For assistance with IDEA funding, contact Greg Prochazka at (402) 471-4314 or greg.prochazka@nebraska.gov.

A2.   Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and Title Programs Funding

Click here for information, allocations, and contacts for the ESSA/Title programs.

A3.   School Lunch

Information on federal reimbursement for breakfast, lunch and after school snacks may be viewed here. For assistance with School Lunch funding, contact Steve Bauers at (402) 471-3610 or steve.bauers@nebraska.gov.

B.   State Funds

B1.   State Aid

The 2018/19 State Aid was certified to all school districts on March 1, 2018.  To view a school district’s State Aid, click here. For assistance with State Aid, contact Jen Utemark at (402) 471-3323 or jen.utemark@nebraska.gov.

B2.   State Apportionment

The anticipated per child factor for 2018/19 is estimated at $60.  The per child factor will be calculated from the age 5-18 census count submitted by each school district this summer.  Contact Janice Eret at (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov for assistance with State Apportionment funding.

B3.   School Breakfast

School districts operating a school breakfast program in FY 2018/19 should anticipate receiving 5 cents for each breakfast served in FY 2017. For assistance with School Breakfast funding, contact Steve Bauers at (402) 471-3610 or steve.bauers@nebraska.gov.

B4.   School Lunch

Projected state funding to be disbursed in 2018/19 is $376,351. Anticipate receiving approximately 1 cent per lunch served.  For assistance with School Lunch funding, contact Steve Bauers at (402) 471-3610 or steve.bauers@nebraska.gov.

B5.   Special Education

State funding available for the 2018/19 reimbursement of 2017/18 school-age special education program allowable costs and school-age special education transportation allowable costs were limited to less than a 1% increase of the 2017/18 appropriated amount.  Payments for both programs will be based on the prorated share of available General Funds.  For assistance with Special Education funding, contact Greg Prochazka at (402) 471-4314 or greg.prochazka@nebraska.gov or Shane Rhian at (402) 471-4313 or shane.rhian@nebraska.gov.

C.   Miscellaneous

C1.   Mileage Reimbursement Rate

To view the calculation for regular transportation reimbursement and Enrollment Option transportation reimbursement, click here.

Program Contacts

  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bill Biven: (402) 471-0526 or bill.biven@nebraska.gov

Updated on 07/06/2018