Questions, Comments, or Corrections? Let us know!

Budgeting Information Related to Other Receipts

School District Budgeting

Budgeting Information Related to Other Receipts (Federal, State, and Miscellaneous) – 2016/17 School Fiscal Year

A.   Federal Funds

A1.  Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Funding

IDEA flow-through allocations may be viewed here.  This includes funds available for Special Education services and transportation for birth to age 5 and school age students. For assistance with IDEA funding, contact Greg Prochazka at (402) 471-4314 or greg.prochazka@nebraska.gov.

A2.   No Child Left Behind (NCLB) and Title Programs Funding

Click here for information and contacts for the NCLB/Title programs.

A3.   School Lunch [2017/18 information is pending]

Information on federal reimbursement for breakfast, lunch and after school snacks may be viewed here. For assistance with School Lunch funding, contact
Steve Bauers at (402) 471-3610 or steve.bauers@nebraska.gov.

 

B.   State Funds

B1.   State Aid

The 2017/18 State Aid was certified to all school districts on May 25, 2017.  To view a school district’s State Aid, click here. For assistance with State Aid, contact Jen Utemark at (402) 471-3323 or jen.utemark@nebraska.gov.

 

B2.   State Apportionment

The anticipated per child factor for 2017/18 is estimated at $60.  The per child factor will be calculated from the age 5-18 census count submitted by each school district this summer.  Contact Janice Eret at (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov for assistance with State Apportionment funding.

B3.   School Breakfast

School districts operating a school breakfast program in FY 2017/18 should anticipate receiving 5 cents for each breakfast served in FY 2016. For assistance with School Breakfast funding, contact
Steve Bauers at (402) 471-3610 or steve.bauers@nebraska.gov.

B4.   School Lunch [2017/18 information is pending]

Projected state funding to be disbursed in 2016/17 is $392,032. Anticipate receiving approximately 1 cent per lunch served.  For assistance with School Lunch funding, contact Steve Bauers at (402) 471-3610 or steve.bauers@nebraska.gov.

 

B5.   Special Education

State funding available for the 2017/18 reimbursement of 2016/17 school-age special education program allowable costs and school-age special education transportation allowable costs were limited to less than a 1.5% increase of the 2016/17 appropriated amount.  Payments for both programs will be based on the prorated share of available General Funds.  For assistance with Special Education funding, contact Greg Prochazka at (402) 471-4314 or greg.prochazka@nebraska.gov or Shane Rhain at (402) 471-4313 or shane.rhain@nebraska.gov.

C.   Miscellaneous

C1.   Mileage Reimbursement Rate

To view the calculation for regular transportation reimbursement and Enrollment Option transportation reimbursement, click here.

Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bill Biven: (402) 471-0526 or bill.biven@nebraska.gov

Updated on 06/09/2017