News Release

August 23, 2018


The Nebraska State Board of Education awarded reVISION Grants to schools across the state to help develop Nebraska’s talent pipelines for economic growth and workforce development while strengthening high school Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs.  Schools will receive either Initial Grants or Action Grants.

The purpose of the Perkins reVISION Initial Grant is to assist local school districts in completing the reVISION Career Education strategic planning process. Working in collaboration with postsecondary education and regional workforce/economic development leaders, the reVISION process links career educators, school administrators, school counselors, industry professionals, and community leaders. Through this process, schools will have the opportunity to analyze and transform their current CTE systems to improve their ability to educate a qualified workforce that meets employers’ needs. This will help ensure that high quality CTE programs are in place in all Nebraska schools, and that such programs are aligned with college and career readiness standards as well as the needs of employers, industry, and labor.

2018-2019 Perkins reVISION Initial Grant Participants:

  • Arnold Public Schools
  • East Butler Public School District
  • ESU 9 Consortium (Adams Central Public Schools, Doniphan-Trumbull Public Schools, Giltner Public Schools, Hampton Public Schools, Harvard Public Schools, Kenesaw Public Schools, Red Cloud Community Schools, and Silver Lake Public Schools)
  • ESU 16 Consortium (Hershey Public Schools, Maxwell Public Schools, McPherson County Public Schools, Paxton Public Schools, Stapleton Public Schools, and Sutherland Public Schools)
  • Emerson-Hubbard Community Schools
  • Freeman Public Schools
  • Loup County Public Schools
  • Sargent Public Schools
  • Santee Community School
  • Schuyler Community Schools

After a school completes the initial reVISION process they are eligible for an Action Grant. The competitive Perkins reVISION Action Grant program provides Perkins funds for secondary school districts to help implement the reVISION Action Plan developed in the reVISION process. Only activities that align with high-skill, high-wage, and high-demand occupations are considered for funding. Seventeen districts received awards totaling $536,995.

2017-2018 Perkins reVISION Action Grant Recipients:

  • Bancroft-Rosalie Community School
  • Bellevue Public Schools
  • Brady High School
  • Columbus Public Schools
  • ESU 2 Consortium
  • Hastings Public Schools
  • Madison Public Schools
  • North Platte Public School District
  • Ralston Public Schools
  • Riverside Public Schools
  • Springfield-Platteview Community Schools
  • Sumner-Eddyville-Miller (SEM) Public Schools
  • Sutton Public Schools
  • Tri County Public Schools
  • Wahoo Public Schools
  • Wayne Community Schools
  • Wheeler Central Public Schools

Funds for both Initial and Action Grants are provided by the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006, Reserve Funds, and Statewide Leadership Funds.

More information about the reVISION grants can be found here:

David Jespersen
Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education