## MINUTES

## STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS May 12, 2023

500 South 84th Street, 2nd Floor, Room 262 Lincoln, Nebraska 68510 9:30 a.m. CDT

1. Call to order (roll call).

Dale Fornander called the meeting to order at 9:45 a.m.

Roll Call of Committee Members: Ted DeTurk Dave Welsch Dale Fornander Alan Garey Shad Stamm-Absent

## Others Present: Micki Iverson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE Derek Aldridge, Attorney, Perry Law Firm

- 2. Mr. Fornander announced that information regarding the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall in the room.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from the December 10, 2021, meeting.

## A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the minutes.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Dale Fornander, Dave Welsch, Alan Garey Absent – Shad Stamm Motion Carried

4. Public Hearing: Sarpy County: Pursuant to §79-4,117 and 79-4,129 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

Sarpy County School District No. 46, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District No. 27, commonly known as Papillion La Vista Community Schools, (a Class III School) (72 Place) (Case LT 199)

Derek Aldridge, Attorney, Perry Law Firm – explained the reason for the land transfers.

5. Public Hearing: Sarpy County: Pursuant to §79-4,117 and 79-4,129 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

Sarpy County School District No. 46, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District No. 1, also known as Bellevue Public Schools, (a Class III School) (Alta Collina) (Case LT 200)

1

Derek Aldridge, Attorney, Perry Law Firm – explained the reason for the land transfers.

6. Action Item: Sarpy County School District No. 46, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District No. 27, commonly known as Papillion La Vista Community Schools, (a Class III School) (72 Place) (Case LT 199)

A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the Petition with corrections noted on page 2, section 1 of the petition – AP should be SP (Springfield Platteview) and page 3, section 6 – LP should be PL (Papillion- LaVista) as presented.

Aye: Dale Fornander, Alan Garey, Ted DeTurk, Dave Welsch Absent – Shad Stamm Motion Carried

7. Action Item: Sarpy County School District No. 46, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District No. 1, also known as Bellevue Public Schools, (a Class III School) (Alta Collina) (Case LT 200)

A motion was made by Dave Welsch and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the Petition with corrections noted on page 2, section 1 of the petition – AP should be SP (Springfield Platteview) and page 3, section 6 – LP should be BPS (Bellevue Public Schools) as presented.

Aye: Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Dave Welsch, Alan Garey Absent – Shad Stamm Motion Carried

8. Other Business: Alan Garey, Educator, turned in a letter of resignation to the Chairman, Dale Fornander, effective June 30, 2023.

A motion was made by Dave Welsch and seconded by Ted DeTurk to accept the resignation of Alan Garey.

Aye: Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Dave Welsch Absent – Shad Stamm Abstain - Alan Garey Motion Carried

9. The meeting was adjourned at 10:17 a.m.