
Nebraska:  Annual Safety Requirements for Schools                                        as of August 1, 2022 
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 Required 
Training 

and/or drills 
annually 

Highly 
Suggested 
Training 

and/or drills 

Policy 
Required 

Required for 
Policy to be 
Reviewed 

Annually 

Plan or 
protocols 

Curriculum 
for students 

Required to be 
Published in 
handbook 

Inform 
Parents 

Bullying Prev and 
Education 
(§ 79-137) 

 Suggested 
Students & 
Employees 

Required Required  Suggested Suggested  

Digital 
Citizenship/Cyber 
bullying 
(§ 79-2,144) 

 Suggested 
Students & 
Employees 

Suggested   Suggested Suggested  

Suicide Hotline 
Number on School ID 
(§ 79-538) 

    Required    

Dating Violence 
(§ 79-2,141) 

Employees Suggested 
Students 

Required   Suggested Required Of policy 
Required 

Sexual Misconduct 
(§ 79-866) 

  Required by 
06/30/2021 

     

Sexual Harassment  Suggested Required   Suggested   
 (§ 79-879) 

Conduct Safety & 
Security Self- 
Assessments 
(School Safety Standards) 

 Suggested       

Conduct annual 
safety audits using 
external people 
(Rule 10) 

Annually        

Active Supervision 
(School Safety Standards) 

 Suggested   Suggested    

Visitor 
management 
(School Safety Standards) 

 Suggested   Suggested    

Visitor 
Management for 
specialized areas 
e.g. pools, gyms 
(School Safety Standards) 

 Suggested   Suggested    

EOP 
(§ 79-2,144) 

    Required    

NIMS & ICS 
(HSPD-5) 

    Required    

 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,137
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,144
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-538
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,141
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-866
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-879
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://www.education.ne.gov/apac/accreditation-rule-10/#:%7E:text=Accreditation%2C%20Rule%2010%20%E2%80%93%20Nebraska%20Department%20of%20Education,Regulations%20and%20Procedures%20for%20the%20Accreditation%20of%20Schools.
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,144
https://www.dhs.gov/publication/homeland-security-presidential-directive-5
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COOP 
(§ 79-2,144) 

    Required    

SRP or Emerg. Resp. 
(School Safety Standards) 

    Required    

Evacuation/fire                 
(§ 81 -527 Drills)    (§ 79 -
706 Instruction) 

10/yr     Required: 
Instruction in 
fire dangers & 
methods of 

fire prevention 

  

Shelter/tornado 
(§ 79 -2,144) 

2/yr        

Bus Evacuation 
(§ 79 -609) 

2/yr        

Secure 
(School Safety Standards) 

(Guidance) 

 Suggested       

Lockdown 
(School Safety Standards) 

 Suggested       

SRM or 
Reunification 
(School Safety Standards) 

 Suggested   Required    

PFA or Recovery     Required    

Suicide Prevention 
(§ 79-2,144-146) 

Certified 
Employees 
Required 

Non-certified 
Employees 
Suggested 

   Suggested for 
Students 

  

Blood-borne 
pathogens 
OSHA (29CFR1910.1030 
(g)(2) 

Best 
Practices 

Suggested 

       

Use of PPE 
OSHA (29CFR1910.132) 

Best 
Practices 

Suggested 

       

Asthma/ 
Anaphylaxis 

Required        

 § 79-224) 

CPR & First Aid 
Suggest 3 staff trained 
per building 
OSHA (29CFR1910.151) 

Best 
Practices 

       Suggested 

Suggested       

Concussion Protocol 
(§ 71-9104) 

Required for 
coaches 

   Return to learn 
protocol 

Concussion 
and brain 
injury info 

 Concussion 
and brain 
injury info 

Multi-hazard for 
specified employees 
(Safety Standards) 

Required        

Staff         
Asthma/Anaphylaxis 
(§ 79-224) and Rule 59 

Required        

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,144
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-527
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-706
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-706
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,144
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-609
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://iloveuguys.org/programs/standard-response-protocol-for-k-12/
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED..pdf
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-2,146
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/interlinking/standards/1910.1030(g)(2)
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/interlinking/standards/1910.1030(g)(2)
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/interlinking/standards/1910.1030(g)(2)
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.132
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-224
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910.151
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=71-9104
https://www.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Safety_and_Security_Standards_ADOPTED.pdf
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-224
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Rule59_2006.pdf


1st Aid & Med Admin 
Suggest 3 staff trained 
per building 
 Rule 59 

Required every 
3 yrs. for 

trained staff 

       

Coaches         
CPR Rule 59  Suggested       
1st Aid Required        

Asthma/Anaphylaxis Required        
Concussion Protocol 
(§ 71-9104 -9105) 

Required        

Heat related issues Required        

Alcohol/Drug Abuse 
(§ 79-712) 

     Required for 
Students 

  

Child Abuse 
reporting 
(§ 79-2,157) 

Poster in 
school 

required 

       

Fire Arms on school 
property 
(§ 79-263) 

  Required      

SRO/Administrator 
(§79 -2704) 

Required 
Initially 20 hrs. 

 MOU Required      

 
School system maintains immunization records for all students. 

https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Rule59_2006.pdf
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/regulations/standardnumber/1910/1910SubpartK
https://cdn.education.ne.gov/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Rule59_2006.pdf
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=71-9105
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-712
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-712
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-712
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-712
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-263
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/FloorDocs/106/PDF/Final/LB390.pdf

