State Accreditation Committee Meeting Minutes December 16, 2020

The Nebraska State Accreditation Committee met via Zoom on December 16, 2020. Travis Miller, Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m., declared a quorum present, and established the legality of the meeting. Members present were the following: Mary Anderson, Elizabeth Boyle, Luke Bretscher, Wayne Brown, Brad Dirksen, Josie Floyd, Dale Fornander, Dale Hafer, Pat Hoehner, Vickie Kauffold, Mitch Kubicek, Travis Miller, Boris Moore, Marco Pedroza, Joe'l Ruybalid, Sarah Salem, Dan Schnoes, Bess Scott and Amy Shane.

Members absent: Melissa Comine and Judi gaiashkibos

NDE staff members participating in all or some of the Zoom meeting were the following: Commissioner Matt Blomstedt, Shirley Vargas, Lane Carr, Don Loseke, Todd Wolverton and Micki Charf.

Meeting Opening

Travis Miller reviewed with members the purpose of Rule 10 (equity of opportunity, quality of learning, and accountability) and the Committee's role and responsibility. After brief introductions, Travis Miller asked for approval of the December 16, 2020, Agenda. Sarah Salem moved to approve the agenda and Mary Anderson seconded the motion.

Voting yes: Mary Anderson, Elizabeth Boyle, Wayne Brown, Brad Dirksen, Josie Floyd, Dale Fornander, Dale Hafer, Pat Hoehner, Vickie Kauffold, Mitch Kubicek, Travis Miller, Boris Moore, Marco Pedroza, Joe'l Ruybalid, Sarah Salem, Dan Schnoes and Amy Shane.

Voting no: none.

Approval carried 17-0 with 4 absent.

Members were asked to approve the minutes of the May 27, 2020, meeting. Mitch Kubicek moved to accept the minutes and Dale Fornander seconded the motion.

Voting yes: Mary Anderson, Wayne Brown, Brad Dirksen, Josie Floyd, Dale Fornander, Dale Hafer, Pat Hoehner, Vickie Kauffold, Mitch Kubicek, Travis Miller, Boris Moore, Marco Pedroza, Joe'l Ruybalid, Sarah Salem, Dan Schnoes and Amy Shane.

Voting no: none.

Approval carried 16-0 with 1 abstaining and 4 absent.

State Accreditation Committee Handbook

Don Loseke asked the members to review the SAC Handbook and let members know if their terms would be expiring, they would be contacted in the spring to see if they would like to reapply.

Approval, Accreditation, and Accountability Rule Revision

Brad Dirksen gave an overview of how we got here in the revision process starting with Board input:

- link accountability with accreditation
- create a multi-level accreditation system
- update continuous improvement process
- general compliance should be moved out of Rule 10
- School Boards being more involved in accreditation and accountability

The Board's position statement was revised in October 2019. The State Board intends for AQuESTT to serve as a framework for approval, accreditation, and accountability. The tenets of AQuESTT fall within three broad domains:

- Leadership;
- Success, Access, and Support; and
- Teaching, Learning, and Serving

The intent is to create 3 separate Rules:

- Approval minimum standards to operate
- Accreditation continuous improvement
- Accountability school measures/data

Current Rule 10 and 14 will be repealed.

Breakout Activity

Committee members broke out into three groups to allow for more detailed discussion and input on Rule Revision.

Following the breakout activity, facilitators gave a summary of their individual group discussions and asked for any feedback from the full committee. Group discussions and feedback were documented for future reference.

- -Approval Rule Facilitator Don Loseke and Todd Wolverton
- -Accreditation Rule Facilitator Micki Charf
- -Accountability Rule Facilitator Shirley Vargas and Lane Carr

Commissioner Comments

Commissioner Blomstedt thanked committee members for their time and energy and the importance of the work. The Commissioner touched on the need for rules to be more accessible and the need to be ready to be responsive to address upcoming challenges and addressed questions from the group.

Closing Comments

Brad Dirksen shared the timeline for rule revision approved at the December State Board Meeting.

Travis Miller encouraged committee members to continue to be involved and email the accreditation team with any additional thoughts and comments.

The meeting adjourned at 11:50.