Updated 7/1/15

FMCSA Requirements for passenger vehicles 16 or more (including the driver) - Pre-Primary, Primary, and Secondary Students

Public Schools

Private Schools

For-Hire Contractors

Routes Activities Routes Activities Routes Activities
Part 382*
Drugand All of Part 382 applies | All of Part 382 applies All of Part 382 applies Al of Pa.rt 382 All of Part 382 applies | All of Part 382 applies
Alcohol applies
Testing
Part 383>
Drivers applies
License
Operating Authority required if
y required i
Authority N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A cross state lines
Part 387° Applies unless
Financial organized, sponsored,
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Responsibility / / / / / or paid for by the
school district
USDOT number, USDOT number,
D N/A N/A N/A markings, accident N/A markings, accident
General . .
register, etc. register, etc.
N/A except 391.15(f) N/A except 391.15(f) N/A except 391.15(f) N/A except 391.15(f)
. e . . o . . - . See 391.68 for . o .
disqualified for using disqualified for using disqualified for using cell - . disqualified for using
Part 391 . L . . . . limited exceptions. . -
. cell phone while driving | cell phone while driving phone while driving . e cell phone while driving .
Driver . - . . . . Medical certificate . - All of Part 391 applies
L Medical certificate Medical certificate Medical certificate . Medical certificate
Qualification . . . required by State of .
required by State of required by State of required by State of Nebraska required by State of
Nebraska. Nebraska. Nebraska. ’ Nebraska.
Part 392 N/A except 392.80and | N/A except 392.80 and N/A except 392.80 and All of Part 392 N/A except 392.80 and
.. 392.82 prohibition of 392.82 prohibition of 392.82 prohibition of . 392.82 prohibition of All of Part 392 applies
Driving . . . applies .
using cell phone using cell phone using cell phone using cell phone
Subject to hours
Part 395 limits but not
Hours of N/A N/A N/A required to prepare N/A All of Part 395 applies
Service records of duty
status
Part393/396 A IPeriod
Maintenance N/A N/A N/A nhuatreriodic N/A All of Parts 393 and

Inspections only

396 applies




Effective 7/8/15, driver is also required:
e To hold a Commercial Learner’s Permit for 14 days before taking the CDL Skills Test

e Show proof of US Citizenship or lawful status.

'part 382 - Types of tests required (CDL operators only):

Pre-employment
Random Testing
Post-accident
Return-to-duty

vk e

Follow-up
’part 383 — P & S Endorsements

1. Route Transportation: P endorsement required; S endorsement required except private schools transporting post-secondary students
2. Activities Transportation: P endorsement required; S endorsement required only if it is a school sponsored event. S endorsement is not required for private

schools transporting post-secondary students.

3part 387 — Financial Responsibility (For-Hire Contractors Only)

1. Seating capacity of 16 or more requires $5,000,000
2. Seating capacity of 9-15 requires $1,500,000

*Part 387 does not apply if the activity is sponsored and paid by the School District

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrguide.aspx?section_type=A




