

State Board of Education

President
Patricia
Timm
District 5

Vice President John Witzel District 4

Patsy Koch Johns District 1

Lisa FrickeDistrict 2

Rachel Wise District 3

Maureen
Nickels
District 6

Molly
O'Holleran
District 7

Patrick McPherson District 8

NEBRASKA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION REPORT

JANUARY 2017

STATE ED BOARD ELECTS NEW LEADERSHIP

The State Board of Education elected Patricia Timm as the new board president and John Witzel as vice president.



Patricia Timm was first appointed to the State Board of Education in 2004. She was then elected to the board in 2014 to represent District 5. This will be the second time she has served as board president.



John Witzel was appointed to the State Board of Education in 2014 and was elected to the board in 2016 to represent District 4.

RECOGNITION OF NEWLY ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS

The State Board of Education welcomed in two new members. Patsy Koch Johns and Lisa Fricke won election to the board in November.



Patricia Koch Johns has been involved in education for more than 40 years. She was elected to represent District 1.



Lisa Fricke was a teacher in Nebraska Public Schools for 36 years. She was elected to represent District 2.

Full Bios

NDE AND NAPE/ AFSCME AGREEMENT APPROVED

The State Board of Education approved the contract agreement for Nebraska Department of Education employees for the years 2017-2018 and 2018-2019.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the State Board of Education will be held on Friday, February 3, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. at the Nebraska State Office Building.

A work session will be held on Thursday, February 2, 2017 at 2:00 p.m.

For detailed information about the work session or business meeting, visit www.education.ne.gov/StateBoard/Agendas.html.



