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Proposed Revisions to Rule 21 

1-The term certificate will apply to initial, standard and professional (regular certificates).  Other 
options currently designated as certificates will be designated as permits.   

Rationale – More clearly communicates that the individual has completed all requirements for a 
regular certificate.  We believe this will help administrators in the hiring process.   The exception 
to the permit/certificate designation is the Temporary Certificate which is specifically titled as 
such in statute. 

 
2-Imposes a 2-year time limit for completion of deficiencies on a Provisional administrative and the 

Provisional and Provisional Commitment permits.   (See below - The Provisional Commitment 
teaching certificate is proposed to become the Alternative Program Permit).   Renewal will not be an 
option.  

Rationale – Addresses the concerns in this “age of accountability for teachers” that we are open 
to hiring people who have deficiencies but giving them a strict timeline to be fully qualified. 

 
3-Create the Alternative Teaching Permit.  This permit will be issued with a time limit of two years with 

no renewal.  This will incorporate the current Provisional Commitment Certificate and a new option 
for individuals who have completed certain alternative programs in other states as described below: 

a) those who have 50% of the educational program, 75% of the content, BA, job offer in 
Nebraska and a signed form listing deficiencies,  OR 

b) a person with a completed BA, and alternative certification path, job offer in Nebraska, past 
teaching employment and certificate in another state, and completed form listing 
deficiencies.  The alternative program would be set up by the college and NDE with NDE 
responsible for monitoring a student’s progress toward full certification. 

Rationale – By eliminating the Provisional Commitment title, we will have less confusion.   Gives 
a person from another state where multiple educational programs exist to gain a Nebraska 
certificate.  Nebraska districts can expand the available pool of quality applicants. 

 
4-Changes fingerprint charge from $50 to $35. 

Rationale – Changes in charges by the Nebraska State Patrol and also reflects less staff time to 
accomplish the task as the result of TC system changes. 
 

5-Add Special Education Masters to the list of qualifying Masters’ degree leading to a Professional 
certificate. 

Rationale – Clarifies current practice. 
 

6-Career Education Permit Changes-Term reduced to 3 years, used only for career education courses 
at the secondary level of instruction. 

 Rationale 
o Improves NDE monitoring with verification from district submitted every three years.  

Renewal is based on the district signature on the verification form. 

o The Career Education Permit is currently used for both secondary and dual credit career 
education courses.  Change reduces confusion for postsecondary institutions, school 
administrators, applicants and NDE. 
 



7-Dual Credit Certificate becomes the Postsecondary Permit and term is reduced from five years to 
three year term. 

Rationale – Establishes that a persons’ eligibility is determined by the postsecondary 
institution’s faculty qualifications.  Submission of a form to NDE, which documents district 
agreement, is also required.  Renewal based  on teaching a dual credit class at least once in two 
different semesters or by completing a 3 hour graduate course in the teaching content area.  
The Postsecondary Permit will be used for all courses, including career education courses, 
taught by postsecondary faculty who do not hold a regular certificate.   
 

8-As a result of changes in the proposed Rule, practice will be that endorsements on a permit will only 
be good for the duration of the permit.  Permits designate that the holder of the permit has not met 
all qualifications for a full Nebraska certificate.  Earned full/regular endorsements will be placed on 
a regular certificate.   

 Rationale – Eliminate confusion.  After September 1, 2015, endorsements will be placed on 
certificates only with the passing of the appropriate Praxis II test.  Many of these permits are 
given to individuals who have not completed all of the required content coursework. 

 
9-Endorsements will no longer be placed on a state substitute or local substitute permit. 

Rationale – These permits will not require an endorsement in recognition that we do not want 
to require the content test in order to place the endorsement on the permit.  Information 
regarding endorsements once held on an individual’s regular (but expired) certificate will be 
maintained in the Teacher Certification (TC) system.  If a regular certificate is renewed, the 
endorsements previously held will appear on the certificate. 
 

10-Special Services (Section 007) revised. 

Rationale – to add clarity, incorporate the permit/certificate distinction, and to reflect current 
school system needs. 

o Create special service certificates specifically for Nurse and Audiologist. 

o Create special service permit for Special Services Coaching.  Changes the renewal to one 
year of experience in last five or to repeat NSAA classes; eliminates the need for college 
hours to renew without experience.   

o Maintain special service provisional permit for Speech Language Technicians.  
Implements Rule 24 language allowing SLT Provisional Permit for one year and then a 
letter of admittance to a SLP program for next renewal. 


