
HO 14* power-driven circular saws, band saws, and 
 guillotine shears 
HO 15 wrecking, demolition & ship-breaking operations 
HO 16* roofing operations 
HO 17* excavation operations 
 
 

 Hazardous Occupations Order (AHHO) 
Exemption Qualifications (29 CFR 570.50) 

 
An AHHO Exemption allows industry and schools working in 
partnership to be protected under the child labor law and 
employ students in some hazardous agricultural 
occupations.  Child labor regulations allow limited 
involvement in the six hazardous occupations starred (*) 
above if the individual is at least 14 years old, a cooperative 
education student-learner or apprentice, and all of the 
following requirements are properly met: 
 

 Individual must be 16-17 years old 

 Student Learner must be: 
 enrolled in a state-recognized course, e.g. COOP 
program. 

 employed under a written Training Agreement signed 
by the employer, school, parent, and student. 

 employed under a written Training Plan that clearly 
identifies the competencies the student is expected to 
attain in the related high school course and as a 
result of the on-the job training. 

 employed with the understanding that the hazardous 
portion of the work: 
 is incidental to training. 
 is intermittent and for short periods of time. 
 is under direct and close supervision of a qualified 

person. 
 follows safety instructions given by the school 

and/or the employer on the job. 
 

APPRENTICES must be: 
 employed in an apprenticeship program registered by 
the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training (BAT). 

  employed with the understanding that the hazardous 
portion of the work: 

 is incidental to training. 
 is intermittent and for short periods of time. 

is under direct and close supervision of a qualified 
person. 

(The following are not required by FLSA, but are recommended to 
insure the safety and well being of the student apprentices.) 

 provided with safety instructions given by the school and/or 
the employer on the job. 

 employed under a written Training Agreement signed by 
the employer, school, parent, and student.  

 employed under a written Training Plan that clearly  
identifies the competencies the student is expected to 
attain in the  related high school course and as a result of 
the on-the job training. 
 

Resources: 
The following publications are available from US Dept. of Labor:  

Child Labor Requirements in Nonagricultural Occupations Under the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. Child Labor Bulletin No. 101. 
Child Labor Requirements in Agricultural Under the Fair Labor 
Standards Act.  Child Labor Bulletin No. 102. 
Handy Reference Guide to the Fair Labor Standards Act, WH 
Publication 1282. 
Employment Relationship Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, WH 
Pub. 1297 

U.S. Department of Labor 
Employment Standards Administration, Wage/Hour Division 

200 Constitution Avenue, NW 
Washington, D.C. 20210 

202-219-4907 
www.youthrules.gov. 

 
Nebraska Work Based Learning Manual 

Nebraska Department of Education 
301 Centennial Mall South 
Lincoln, NE  68509-4987 
www.nde.state.ne.us/nce  

 
For More Information Contact: 

Greg Stahr, Work Based Learning Director 
Nebraska Department of Education 

(402) 471-0898  
greg.stahr@nebraska.gov 

 

 
This brochure is intended as a reference only, not as a legal 

interpretation, and is not a substitute for legal advice.  It is in no 
way a complete statement of the child labor laws, but a simplified 

interpretation intended for use by educators, employers, policy 
makers, and parents as they plan and implement work-based 

learning opportunities. For more complete information regarding 
state and federal law, consult the resources listed below.   
Those needing legal advice should consult an attorney. 
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Employment of Youth Under 18 Years of Age in 
Agricultural Occupations 

 
Employers, schools and students are impacted by a number 
of labor laws as they participate in work-based learning 
activities.  The degree to which coverage is mandated is 
dependent on the individual situation.  Coverage is 
principally affected by the determination of whether or not an 
employer-employee relationship exists between the 
employer and student. 
 
Child labor laws were enacted to protect minors from injury 
in the workplace and to prevent work from interfering with 
education. Students in work-based learning opportunities 
may engage in a range of types and intensities of activities 
in the workplace from gaining career awareness through job 
shadowing, to learning occupational and employability skills 
by working in internships or youth apprenticeships. 
 
 
Why Employ Youth Under Age 18? 
 
It has become increasingly apparent that structured work-
based learning enhances rather than detracts from 
education by reinforcing academic learning and highlighting 
the relevance of education to goals in later life. The 
employment of youth under age 18 is desirable in many 
instances because of the need:  
 
• To create early opportunities for youth to develop an 

awareness of new and emerging careers so they can 
more effectively plan postsecondary education pursuits.   

• To introduce youth to the modern workplace, equipment 
and actual workplace problems. 

• To give youth access to jobs that require more 
knowledge and skills than ordinary youth jobs. 

• To allow youth to experience a career field before the 
12th grade so they can adjust their academic and 
career program of study before graduation. 

• To demonstrate to youth that high performance in high 
school “counts” in students’ plans for the future. 

• To enable students to observe the interaction of all 
aspects of a company’s operations. 

Federal  Fair  Labor Standards Acts (FLSA) 
Chi ld Labor Provisions   

 
The FLSA was passed in 1938 and is a federal law enforced 
by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division.  
The law applies to all fifty states and ninety percent of 
nonagricultural businesses.  All states also have child labor 
laws.  If the FLSA and the state’s child labor laws regulate the 
same activity, the stricter labor standard is the one that 
applies, e.g., Nebraska Child Labor Law requires that all 
workers under age 16 obtain an Employment Certificate from 
the school district in which the child resides.   
 
• The FLSA applies only when an (employer/employee) 

relationship exists.  When a child reaches the age of 
eighteen, the child labor law does not apply.   

 
• Child labor law for non-agricultural occupations stipulates 

conditions of employment in three major areas: Age and 
Hour Limitations, Occupational Limitations, and Hazardous 
Occupations Order Exemption Qualifications.  

 
Age and Hour Limitations 
Under 14 Years of Age 
Youths under 14 may work only if their jobs are exempt from 
child labor standards or not covered by the Fair Labor 
Standards Act.  Exempt work includes: delivery of 
newspapers to consumers; performing in theatrical, motion 
picture, or broadcast productions; and work in a business 
owned by the parents of the minor, except in mining, 
manufacturing or hazardous occupations.  In general, minors 
under the age of 14 may not be employed in nonagricultural 
occupations.  Their activities in work-based learning 
programs must be limited to activities such as career 
awareness and exploration activities, classroom 
presentations, field trips to worksites, and job shadowing.  
 
14 and 15 Year Olds 
Students who are 14 and 15 years of age may work at jobs 
such as office work; various food service jobs; sales work and 
some other jobs in retail stores; errand and delivery work by 
foot, bicycle and public transportation; dispensing gasoline 
and oil and performing courtesy services in gas stations.  The 
hours of work cannot be during school hours; cannot exceed 
three hours on a school day with a limit of 18 hours in a 
school week; cannot exceed eight hours on a nonschool day 
with a limit of 40 hours in a nonschool week; and cannot be 
before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m., except from June 1 
through Labor Day, when the evening hour is extended to 
9:00 p.m.   

 14 and 15 Year Olds - WECEP Exception 
There are exceptions to these restricted hours and 
occupations under the Work Experience and Career 
Exploration Program (WECEP) (29 CFR 570.35(a).  Under 
WECEP, at risk students who are 14 or 15 years of age and 
enrolled in an approved program can be employed during 
school hours, for up to three hours on a school day, up to 23 
hours in a school week, and in occupations otherwise 
prohibited.  School districts that would like to implement a 
WECEP Program must apply for approval.  WECEP 
applications may be obtained from the Work-Based 
Learning Director listed on the back of this brochure 

 
16 and 17 Year Olds 
Sixteen and seventeen year old youth can work at any time 
for unlimited hours educators, employers, and parents 
should, however, control the hours to ensure that education 
remains the student’s top priority.  Unless they meet the 
criteria of a student learner or apprentice, they cannot be 
employed in the hazardous occupations listed below.  
 
Occupational Limitations 
There are seventeen Hazardous Occupations Orders (HOO) 
described in detail in the law.  Minors under age 18 may not 
be employed to work in these occupations unless they 
qualify for an exemption as a student learner or apprentice 
enrolled in a state-recognized training program.  Industry 
can hire 16 and 17 year old students to work in HOO # 5, 8, 
10, 12, 14, 16, and 17 if they work in partnership with an 
approved educational facility and an agreement has been 
signed by the employer, the school, a parent, and the 
student (see Exemption Qualifications).  There are no 
exemptions for HOO # 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15. 
 
HO 1 manufacturing and storing explosive 
HO 2 motor vehicle driving and outside helper  
HO 3  coal mining 
HO 4  logging and sawmilling 
HO 5*   power‐driven woodworking machines 
HO 6   exposure to radioactive substances 
HO 7   use of power‐driven hoisting apparatus 
HO 8*   power‐driven metal‐forming, punching and 

shearing machines 
HO 9   mining, other than coal 
HO 10*   slaughtering, or meat packing, processing, or 

rendering 
HO 11   power‐driven bakery machines 
HO 12*  power‐driven paper‐products machines 
HO 13   manufacturing brick, tile & kindred products 




