

NEWS RELEASE

For additional infomration, please contact David Jespersen by phone (402-471-4537) or email (<u>david.jespersen@nebraska.gov</u>)

JUNE 21, 2019

SkillsUSA NEBRASKA ANNOUNCES 2019 LEADERSHIP AND SKILLS CONFERENCE WINNERS

SkillsUSA Nebraska, a Nebraska Department of Education career and technical student organization, recently recognized award winners and elected new state officers during its 2019 State Leadership and Skills Conference at the Heartland Events Center and Fonner Park in Grand Island.

More than 2,300 people attended the conference, including over 1,700 high school and college students and advisors. Students participated in more than 100 hands–on skills and leadership contests. The skills competitions were developed and directed with the help of Nebraska industry, trade associations, and labor organizations, and tested competencies set by national industry standards. First-place winners from Nebraska competitions qualify for the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Championships Conference held June 24-28, in Louisville, Kentucky.

The SkillsUSA Nebraska State Officers for 2019-2020 are:

Max Yarnell, Louisville High School – President

Cordell Vrbka, Seward High School – Vice President

Rebecca Ady, North Platte High School – Secretary

Kainin Wilson, North Platte High School – Treasurer

Thomas Harling, Hastings High School – Parliamentarian

Rhiannon Painter, Thedford High School – Reporter

Gillian Mettenbrink, Seward High School – Historian

Chandler Cannon, Metropolitan Community College, Omaha – C/T Vice President

Outstanding High School Advisor of the Year:

Randy Stribley, Papillion La-Vista South High School

Jake Duncan Leadership Award Recipient:

Gracie Davis, Papillion La-Vista South High School

\$500 SkillsUSA Nebraska Scholarship High School Recipient:

Dillon Kolbo, Cozad High School

Luke Searle, Sandy Creek High School

SkillsUSA Week Winners:

1st Place: Bennington High School

2nd Place: Seward High School

3rd Place: Cozad High School

Incoming SkillsUSA Nebraska Board of Directors are:

Bonnie Riehle, Lincoln Northeast High School

Thomas Sibbitt, Omaha Benson High School

Keith Dubas, Central Community College – Hastings

Complete list of winners.

####

David Jespersen Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education 402-471-4537 david.jespersen@nebraska.gov @NDE_News