
 

March 23, 2015 

Proposed Revisions to Rule 21 

The term certificate will apply to Initial, Standard and Professional (regular) certificates.  Other 
options currently designated as certificates will be designated as permits.   

Rationale – More clearly communicates that the individual has completed all requirements for a 
regular certificate.  We believe this will help administrators in the hiring process.   The exception 
to the permit/certificate designation is the Temporary certificate which is specifically titled as 
such in statute. 

 
Change fingerprint charge from $50 to $35. 

Rationale – Changes in charges by the Nebraska State Patrol and also reflects less staff time to 
accomplish the task as the result of Teacher Certification (TC) system changes. 
 

Impose a 2-year time limit for completion of deficiencies on a Provisional administrative and the 
Provisional and Provisional Commitment teaching permits.   (See below - The Provisional 
Commitment teaching certificate is proposed to become the Alternative Program teaching permit).   
Renewal will not be an option.  

Rationale – Addresses the concerns in this “age of accountability for teachers” that we are open 
to hiring people who have deficiencies but giving them a strict timeline to be fully qualified.  
Currently these ‘certificates’ allow for three or more years to complete the deficiencies. 

 
Add Special Education Masters to the list of qualifying Masters’ degree leading to a Professional 

teaching certificate. 

Rationale – Clarifies current practice. 
 

Create the Alternative Program Teaching Permit.  This permit will be issued with a time limit of two 
years with no renewal.  This will incorporate the current Provisional Commitment teaching certificate 
and a new option for individuals who have completed certain alternative programs in other states.  
The Alternative Program teaching permit may be issued to: 

1) applicants who  have 50% of the educational program, 75% of the content, a BA, an offer of 
employment in a Nebraska system, and a signed form listing deficiencies (reflects the 
current Provisional Commitment Certificate requirements),  OR 

2) applicants with a completed BA, an alternative certification pathway, an offer for 
employment from a Nebraska system, teaching employment and certification in another 
state, and an approved plan for addressing deficiencies that must be fulfilled to obtain a 
Nebraska certificate.   The requirements for a program leading to a Nebraska certificate 
would be developed in collaboration with NDE, the hiring district, and an approved teacher 
preparation program.  NDE will be responsible for monitoring the teacher’s progress toward 
full certification. 

Rationale –We currently have a Provisional administrative certificate, a Provisional Commitment 
teaching certificate, and a Provisional teaching certificate.  The Provisional Commitment will be 
folded into the Alternative Program teaching permit and will reduce confusion on the many 
‘provisional’ options. The addition of the 2nd option identified above will provide Nebraska 
systems opportunities to consider individuals they determine as excellent candidates for 
employment in their school system but who do not initially meet Nebraska requirements.



 

Career Education Teaching Certificate becomes the Career Education Teaching Permit and term is 
reduced from five years to three years, used only for career education courses at the secondary 
level of instruction. 

 Rationale 
o Improves NDE monitoring with verification from district submitted every three years.  

Renewal is based on the district signature on the verification form. 

o The Career Education permit is currently used for both secondary and dual credit career 
education courses.  Change reduces confusion for postsecondary institutions, school 
administrators, applicants and NDE. 
 

Dual Credit Teaching Certificate becomes the Postsecondary Teaching Permit and term is reduced 
from five years to three years. 

Rationale – Establishes that a persons’ eligibility is determined by the postsecondary 
institution’s faculty qualifications in compliance with the requirements of their national 
accrediting agency, the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).  The permit requires submission of a 
form to NDE documenting the school system’s agreement.   Renewal is based on teaching a dual 
credit class at least once in two different semesters or by completing a 3 hour graduate course 
in the teaching content area.  The Postsecondary permit will be used for all courses, including 
career education courses, taught by postsecondary faculty who do not hold a regular certificate.   
 

Special Services (Section 007) revised. 

o Create Special Service certificates specifically for School Nurse and Audiologist. 

o Create Special Service permit for Special Services Coaching.  Changes the renewal to one 
year of experience in last five or to repeat NSAA classes; eliminates the need for college 
hours to renew without experience.   

o Maintain Special Service provisional permit for Speech Language Technicians.  
Implements Rule 24 language allowing SLT provisional permit for one year and then a 
letter of admittance to a SLP program for next renewal and documentation of 
completing six hours each year in the SLP program for each subsequent renewal.  

Rationale – to add clarity, incorporate the permit/certificate distinction, and to reflect current 
school system needs. 

 

Required forms have been added to the appendix and additional language has been included in the 
Rule to provide information about the availability of suggested forms. 


