Chief Standing Bear

The Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, Governor Pete Ricketts, Senator Deb Fischer, Congressman Jeff Fortenberry, and other House and Senate leaders joined the Chairman of the Ponca Tribe of Nebraska this week in a historic statue dedication of Chief standing Bear at the U.S. Capitol. This was the first time Nebraska Changed a statue in National Statuary Hall since 1937. The statue of Chief Standing Bear and a statue of writer Willa Cather, which is still being created, will replace statues depiction Nebraska politicians J. Sterling Morton and William Jennings Bryan. Those will be returned to Nebraska for display. Teachers across the state were invited to watch the dedication online with their students and take the once in a lifetime opportunity to share the story of Chief standing Bear with their classes.