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Early Childhood Provider,

During the 2014 legislative session, the passage of LB 967 created some changes regarding the duties of the Early
Childhood Training Center which is part of the Nebraska Department of Education. The bill amended 79-1102 to read, in
part, ...” The (Early Childhood Training) Center, in consultation with the Department of Health and Human Services, shall
approve training that is used to satisfy child care licensing criteria for required training, annual in-service training, and
training needed for participation or advancement in the quality rating and improvement system established pursuant to
the Step Up to Quality Child Care Act”.

What this means to you.

Beginning August 1, 2014, If you work in a licensed child care center, a family child care home, a licensed preschool, or a
school-age care program, the Early Childhood Training Center must approve the training you take satisfy annual in-
service clock hour requirements, the training required by licensing, or training that you might need to participate or
advance in the Step Up to Quality program.

The Early Childhood Training Center (ECTC) has created several ways that training will be approved.

1. Automatically Accepted Training - ECTC, in consultation with representatives from the Nebraska Department of
Health and Human Services, Child Care Licensing unit, have developed a list of “Automatically Accepted” trainings
offered by these organizations. The list of Automatically Accepted trainings can be found at
www.education.ne.gov/oec/trainingapproval.html.

2. Training Approval - Training events - Trainings that are not on the Automatically Accepted list, can be approved by
completing the Nebraska Training Approval Form. This form can be found at
www.education.ne.gov/oec/trainingapproval.html. After completing the form, you will need to send it to the Early
Childhood Training Center. Please allow 30 days for ECTC staff to approve the form. Child care support groups or
child care center directors will want to use this form in order to get approval for trainings that they provide their
members or staff. Training approval will not be granted for staff meetings in which routine management
information is conveyed.

3. Training Approval - Independent Study - In rare cases, you may find that you want to learn about something for
which there is no upcoming training scheduled in your area. In that case, you may get credit for training that is done
independently. If you want to get credit for any independent study training, you will complete an Independent
Study Documentation Form. Found at www.education.ne.gov/oec/trainingapproval.html. After completing the
form you will send it to the Early Childhood Training Center. Please allow 30 days for staff at the ECTC to look over
and approve the form. ECTC staff will then send you a certificate that you will put in your training file. This will be
the proof that child care licensing staff will need to see when they come to do their licensing visits. Plan Ahead! It
will not be possible to get independent study training approved on short notice!

For questions, please call the Early Childhood Training Center at 1-800-89-Child, or email Michelle Freed at
michelle.freed@nebraska.gov or Melody Hobson at melody.hobson@nebraska.gov.

Sincerely,
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Administrator, Office of Early Childhood

To lead and support the preparation of all Nebraskans for learning, earning, and living.





