Driver Training

Pupil Transportation

Driver Training

Level I Instructional Training

  • Drivers of pupil transportation vehicles must receive Level I instructional training in the operation of vehicles that transport school children.
  • A “refresher” Level II course must be taken every five years after the Level I course.

Courses for Level I and Level II instructional training are offered throughout the year at various sites in Nebraska. The Nebraska Safety Center in Kearney coordinates these courses. Click here for a schedule of classes.

Level I & II Waiver Process

A “waiver” exam for the Level I & II instructional training course is available. Successful completion of this online exam allows an individual to apply to the Department of Motor Vehicles for a School Bus Operator’s Permit in case the individual has not had enough time to complete the Level I & II course. The waivers are good for 60 calendars days during which time the driver must take the Level I or II course.

For more information, contact the Nebraska Safety Center

  • (308) 865-8270 -or- (800) 854-7867 ext. 4
Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bryce Wilson: (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 05/22/2014

Driver Training 2017-09-12T15:41:40+00:00

Requirements to Drive a Pupil Transportation Vehicle

Pupil Transportation

Requirements to Drive a Pupil Transportation Vehicle

Federal and State Requirement Matrices:

A school bus permit is required for the driver of all vehicles that transport one or more school children for routes.

 

To become a pupil transportation vehicle driver, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Hold a valid CDL or Class O (whichever is appropriate for the class of bus permit)
  • Complete Level I or Level II instructional training or proof of waiver for the Level I or II Instruction Course.
  • Have a current DOT physical (dated within the last 90 days)

A school bus permit is not required when operating a small vehicle (i.e. car, van) used for activity purposes. 

Contact the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles for more information to obtain a Nebraska School Bus Permit or a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).

Click here for more information about driver training.

Types of Permits Required
for Nebraska Pupil Transportation Vehicles

Permit
Type of Vehicle
Passenger Capacity
Type of Activity
A
Small Vehicle
Up to 10 passengers
B
School Bus
Up to 14 passengers
C
School Bus
Up to 14 passengers
Activity travel only
D
School Bus
15 or more passengers
E
School Bus
15 or more passengers
Activity travel only

Program Contacts

  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bryce Wilson: (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 06/29/2017

Requirements to Drive a Pupil Transportation Vehicle 2017-09-12T15:41:40+00:00

Child Passenger Safety

Pupil Transportation

Child Passenger Safety Law

All children up to age 6 riding in any motor vehicle must ride correctly secured in an appropriate child restraint system that meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS 213).  This means that the child restraint systems must be appropriate for the child’s size, age and weight.

What’s the effect of this law on pupil transportation vehicles?

Pupil transportation vehicle fitted with seat belts must also be equipped with the appropriate child restraint systems when transporting children up to age six.  School buses (except Type A buses) are not required to be equipped with seat belts.  However, if a bus is fitted with seat belts, appropriate child restraint systems must be provided for children up to age six.

Resource for Choosing & Using Child Safety Restraint Systems

Visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s web site to get detailed information about transporting children in buses.  For additional information on child restraint systems and which would work best in school vans or school buses, contact the following retailers of child restraint systems:

Seating in Small Vehicles
There is no Nebraska statute stating a minimum age for children sitting in the front seat of a vehicle, but best practice recommendations are to not seat children under age 13 in the front seat. However, if the situation occurs that a child younger than 13 needs to ride in the front seat, please follow these steps:

  • Seat the tallest/biggest child in the front seat.
  • Make sure the seat belt fits properly – lap belt low on lap, not on stomach; shoulder belt is centered on shoulder.
  • Slide the seat as far back as possible.

Keep in mind that in the event of an air bag discharge, the most intense contact would be with head and face of a shorter person. 

For more details, contact:

  • Jason Kerkman, Nebraska SAFE KIDS Coordinator
    • Nebraska Health and Human Services System
    • jason.kerkman@nebraska.gov
    • (402) 471-8749
Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bryce Wilson: (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 10/08/2015

Child Passenger Safety 2017-09-12T15:41:39+00:00

Certified MedicalExaminer Requirement / Obstructed Sleep Apnea Studies

Pupil Transportation

“Certified Medical Examiner” Requirement / Obstructed Sleep Apnea Studies

Pupil Transportation Annual Physical Requirement:

  • On May 21, 2014, a new federal regulation becomes effective which will impact annual physicals for pupil transportation vehicle drivers.
  • This new requirement states that physical exams for drivers holding a CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) must be performed by a health professional that is a “Certified Medical Examiner “ and who is also listed on the FMCSA’s (Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration) National Registry.   (The health professional has to complete a specialized training to become a “Certified Medical Examiner.”)
  • Since this is a new regulation, there may be a lack of “Certified Medical Examiners” available in certain areas of the state.   It may be wise for drivers to schedule their physicals prior to the start date of this regulation – May 21.
  • For more information:  https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.gov/NRPublicUI/home.seam
  • Download flyers for more information:

Obstructive Sleep Apnea Studies

  • There has been a lot of concern about sleep studies being required for CDL drivers for various reasons – weight, neck size, etc.  According to Diane Podany, State Program Manager of FMSCA (Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration), this requirement was retracted.  However, Diane said FMCSA is aware that some physicians have continued to include it as part of the CDL physicals they conduct even though it is not a requirement of the process.
  • For more information:  http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/notices/2012-10176
Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bryce Wilson: (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 04/21/2014

Certified MedicalExaminer Requirement / Obstructed Sleep Apnea Studies 2017-09-12T15:41:39+00:00

Additional enrollment(s) during the 2017/18 school year (subsequent to the initial filing).

Exempt (Home) School Program

Additional Enrollment(s) During the 2017/18 School Year

We have discontinued accepting exemption election add-on filings for the 2016/17 school year.

Information for the 2017/18 school year will be posted on this page in the near future.

 

 

Program Contacts
  • Beth Bolte: (402) 471-2795 or beth.bolte@nebraska.gov
  • Micki Iverson: (402) 471-1894 or micki.iverson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 05/08/2017

Additional enrollment(s) during the 2017/18 school year (subsequent to the initial filing). 2017-09-12T15:41:38+00:00

Reporting changes subsequent to the initial filing.

Exempt (Home) School Program

Reporting Changes Subsequent to the Initial Filing

It is the responsibility of the Parent Representative to promptly report changes that occur subsequent to the initial filing:

Additional enrollment(s) during the school year: 

Submit a Form A from each parent or legal guardian and the documentation specified in Section 004 of Rule 13 prior to the student’s enrollment (Rule 13, Section 003.02B). (See additional enrollment information.)

Discontinuation of enrollment during the school year:

Notify NDE in writing by mail or by Email to beth.bolte@nebraska.gov (Rule 13, Section 003.02C). Include in the notice the student’s enrollment status (i.e. student is attending a Nebraska approved or accredited school, family has moved out of state, etc.). See also Rule 13, Section 010.

Change of parent representative during the school year: 

The parents or legal guardians shall designate a new parent representative who shall promptly submit a new Form B (Rule 13, Section 003.02D).

Address change(s) during the school year:

Notify NDE in writing by mail or by Email to beth.bolte@nebraska.gov (Rule 13, Section 003.02E). Include in the notice the new resident school district (if it changes) so that the Department can notify your new resident school district of your exempt status (Rule 13, Section 005). Also include your new county of residence (if it changes).

Change in program of instruction or curriculum:

Notify NDE in writing by mail or by Email to beth.bolte@nebraska.gov.

Change of instructional monitor:

For new monitors added, provide the name, age and highest grade completed for each designated monitor (Item 3 of the Information Summary) and submit by mail or by Email to beth.bolte@nebraska.gov. If any monitors leave during the school year, notify NDE in writing by mail or be Email to beth.bolte@nebraska.gov.

Program Contacts
  • Beth Bolte: (402) 471-2795 or beth.bolte@nebraska.gov
  • Micki Iverson: (402) 471-1894 or micki.iverson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 05/08/2017

Reporting changes subsequent to the initial filing. 2017-09-12T15:41:38+00:00

Reminders & Information

School District Budgeting

Reminders & Information

DUE DATES FOR FILING THE BUDGET AND LC-2
The due date for filing the School District Budget Form, LC-2 and Special Grant Fund List is September 20. The documents must be filed with the Auditor of Public Accounts, the County Clerk, and the Nebraska Department of Education. The School District Budget Form and attachments must be filed as a pdf document and uploaded through the LC-2 in the NDE Portal. Mailed and emailed budgets will not be accepted.

Reminder:  Any time the budget is amended, Page 2 of the amended budget, Board Minutes, and affidavit of publication must be filed with all entities mentioned in the preceding paragraph. Amendment documentation must also be uploaded through the LC-2 in the NDE Portal.

For assistance, contact Janice Eret at (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov or Bill Biven at (402) 471-0526 or bill.biven@nebraska.gov.

EARLY PAYMENT OF STATE AID FOR DISTRICTS DEMONSTRATING FINANCIAL HARDSHIP
State Statute allows school districts that receive federal funds in excess of 25% of their general fund budget of disbursements and transfers to apply for early payment of State Aid if the federal funds are not received in a timely manner. The request for early payment may be made at any time and the early payment may be for as much as 50% of the remaining amount of State Aid that the school district is entitled to for the fiscal year.

The early payment of State Aid may be approved by the State Board of Education if the Board finds that a financial hardship exists within the school district. For purposes of the early payment process, financial hardship is defined as a situation in which income to the school district is exceeded by the liabilities of the school district to such a degree that if early payment is not received, the school district will have to discontinue vital services or functions. For assistance, contact Jen Utemark at (402) 471-3323 or jen.utemark@nebraska.gov; or Bryce Wilson at (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov.

EARLY PAYMENT FOR POSTPONED STATE AID
A school district whose State Aid is postponed due to a clerical error in adjusted valuation used in the State Aid calculation may apply to the State Board of Education for a lump-sum payment of the postponed State Aid. The State Board may grant the entire amount applied for or any portion of such amount. For assistance, contact Jen Utemark at (402) 471-3323 or jen.utemark@nebraska.gov; or Bryce Wilson at (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov.

LUMP-SUM PAYMENT FOR A POSITIVE PRIOR YEAR CORRECTION
A school district whose prior year correction is positive may apply to the Department of Education for a lump-sum payment for any amount up to 100% of the positive prior year correction. Information regarding the application process for the lump-sum payment of a positive prior year correction will be e-mailed to applicable school district superintendents in July. If a positive prior year correction is less than $1,000, the Department of Educations will automatically make a lump-sum payment to the district without application.  For assistance, contact Jen Utemark at (402) 471-3323 or jen.utemark@nebraska.gov; or Bryce Wilson at (402) 471-4320 or bryce.wilson@nebraska.gov.

Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bill Biven: (402) 471-0526 or bill.biven@nebraska.gov

Updated on 06/09/2017

Reminders & Information 2017-09-12T15:41:41+00:00

Resources (private parent support organizations)

Exempt (Home) School Program

Resources

The following organizations help parents obtain curriculum information and provide support for exempt school families.  These are private organizations and are not affiliated with the Nebraska Department of Education (NDE).

Name of Organization:
Nebraska Homeschool – The Home Educators Network, Inc. (NH-HEN)
Area Served:
Statewide
Contact Name:

Debbie Nordstrom -or-

Tricia Croushorn

Phone Number:

(402) 573-5432 (Debbie)

(402) 895-1862 (Tricia)

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 323, Boystown, NE 68010
Email Address:

info@nebraskahomeschool.org

Website:

 

Name of Organization:
Nebraska Christian Home Educators Association
Area Served:
Statewide
Contact Name:

Kathleen Lenzen

Phone Number:

(402) 423-4297

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 57041, Lincoln, NE 68505-7041
Email Address:

nchea@nchea.org

Website:

 

 
Program Contacts
  • Beth Bolte: (402) 471-2795 or beth.bolte@nebraska.gov
  • Micki Iverson: (402) 471-1894 or micki.iverson@nebraska.gov

Updated on 06/08/2016

Resources (private parent support organizations) 2017-09-12T15:41:38+00:00

Checklist/What to File

School District Budgeting

Checklist of Information to File

Due by September 20

  • Online submission of LC-2 (includes the Special Grant Fund List) to NDE
  • Printed copy of online LC-2 and Special Grant Fund List mailed to the Auditor of Public Accounts and the County Clerk
  • Sample Ballot and Certification of Election Results – if a successful Special Election was held to exceed the expenditure limitation and/or levy limitation
  • School District Budget Form – Pages 1-5 (Do not file the Worksheet Pages)
  • Proof of Publication for Notice of Budget Hearing
  • Notice of Budget Hearing and Budget Summary
  • Schedules A, B, D of the School District Budget Form
  • Copy of Certification of Taxable Value
  • Sample Ballot and Certification of Election Results – if a successful Special Election was held to override the levy limitation
  • Board Minutes showing approval of District Budget

All documents must be filed with:

  • Auditor of Public Accounts
  • County Clerk/Headquarter County
  • Nebraska Department of Education
Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bill Biven: (402) 471-0526 or bill.biven@nebraska.gov

Updated on 06/09/2017

Checklist/What to File 2017-09-12T15:41:37+00:00

Process for Amending a Budget

School District Budgeting

Process for Amending a Budget

The process to amend a budget is similar to the process used to adopt a budget.  The specific requirements necessary to amend a budget are found in State Statute Section 13-511.  The steps to amend a budget are listed below. Additional information on the process to amend a budget may also be found from the Auditor of Public Accounts website.

1.  Publication of a Notice of Amended Budget Hearing

A Notice of Amended Budget Hearing should be published in a newspaper of general circulation within the school district five days prior to the hearing.  The Notice of Amended Budget Hearing must include the following:

  • The time, day and place of the hearing.
  • The amount in dollars of additional or reduced money required and its purpose.
  • A statement setting forth the nature of the unanticipated circumstances and, if the budget is increased, why the previously adopted budget cannot be reduced during the remainder of the year.
  • A copy of the summary of the originally adopted budget previously published.
  • A copy of the summary of the proposed revised budget.

The fund (or funds) being amended must balance.  This means Total Requirements must equal Total Resources Available.  The amount of property taxes requested cannot be changed after levies are finalized.  There is no Notice of Amended Budget Hearing form provided by the Auditor of Public Accounts or the Department of Education. 

2.  Hold the Hearing to Adopt the Amended Budget

The hearing to amend the budget may be scheduled before a regular board meeting.  A majority of the board of education is necessary to adopt the amended budget.  The vote to adopt the amended budget should occur during the board meeting following the hearing.

3.  File the Amended Budget
The Cover Page of the budget, Page 2 of the budget, board minutes showing approval, and proof of publication of the hearing to amend the budget should be filed with the following:

  • Auditor of Public Accounts
  • County Board c/o County Clerk
  • Nebraska Department of Education

Generally the only pages that are filed when a budget is amended are the Cover Page and Page 2.

An amended LC-2 must be submitted to the Department of Education, through the NDE Portal, when the budget amendment affects any of the following:

  • Total General Fund Budget of Expenditures
  • Special Grant Funds
  • Total Requirements of the Depreciation Fund and/or the Necessary Cash Reserve in the Employee Benefit Fund

Paper copies of the amended LC-2 should be filed with the Auditor of Public Accounts and the County Clerk.

Program Contacts
  • Janice Eret: (402) 471-2248 or janice.eret@nebraska.gov
  • Bill Biven: (402) 471-0526 or bill.biven@nebraska.gov

Updated on 06/09/2017

Process for Amending a Budget 2017-09-12T15:41:39+00:00
Go to Top