
 
  
 
 

 
 

Nebraska Department of Education 
Nebraska GED® Testing Information, Effective April 27, 2016 

 
 
1. Title of State Credential:  State of Nebraska Department of Education High School Diploma 
 
2. Requirements for Issuance of Diploma: 
 
 a. Passing test scores:  The minimum individual and battery passing scores are as determined by 
  the GED® Testing Service and in effect at the time of taking the test. Currently, the passing  
  score on each of the four content modules is set at 145. The minimum cumulative score of  
  580 is required to be eligible for a high school equivalency credential. 
 b. Minimum age:  18 and is unable to secure a diploma from the high school he/she last  
  attended; or the class of which he/she was a member at the time of withdrawal from   
  school has been graduated for at least one year; and 
 c. Residence:  An individual must have been a resident of Nebraska for at least the 30 days  
  immediately preceding diploma issuance. An individual is also eligible for a State of Nebraska 
  High School Diploma if the GED® scoring requirements have been met and the final period of 
  high school attendance which credit was earned towards graduation was in a Nebraska high 
  school. 
 
3. Minimum Age and Conditions for Testing:  16 years of age and officially withdrawn from 
 school.  Special conditions of testing apply to 16 & 17 year olds.  See item 4.b., # 1-4 below. 
 
4. Testing Procedures: 
 
 a. Persons age 18 and older:   
  (1)   Create an account on https://ged.com; 
  (2)   Schedule and pay for the test modules on-line; 
  (3)   Bring a photo-bearing ID to the testing center at time of testing. 
 
 b. Persons 16 and 17 years of age:  Submit the following to the GED Administrator, Nebraska  
  Department of Education: 
  (1)  a copy of NDE Form 10—005 (Withdrawal From Mandatory Attendance) from the last high   

school attended; or if home schooled, a copy of Form C Acknowledgement Letter from NDE 
(Discontinue Enrollment) or Form D Acknowledgement Letter from NDE (Completion) as 
noted in Section 005 of Nebraska Chapter 12 – Rules and Regulations for Exempt Schools 
(other than religious).  This also applies to 16 & 17 year olds who move to Nebraska from 
another state or move out of Nebraska and return. The individual and the person who has 
legal or actual charge or control of the child must meet with the Superintendent or his/her 
designee in the school district in which the student resides to determine if the student 
meets the requirements for withdrawal.  If the individual is not eligible to withdraw, then 
the Nebraska Compulsory Attendance laws require that he/she be enrolled and attending 
school; 

  (2)   a completed NDE Form # 12-003 (Application for Nebraska GED® Testing), revised  
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    April 2014, available from the Nebraska Department of Education, official GED® Testing 
    centers, or http://www.education.ne.gov/ADED. 
   
  (3)   a copy of the applicant's transcript from the last high school attended, indicating   
    the official date of withdrawal.  To verify date of birth, public school transcripts   
    with the birth date shown will be accepted. A copy of Form C Acknowledgement Letter from 
    NDE (Discontinue Enrollment) or Form D Acknowledgement Letter from NDE (Completion) 
    will be accepted to verify the birth date of a homeschooled individual. 
      An applicant’s age may also be verified by providing a copy of his or her birth certificate, 
    baptismal certificate, or a valid official state driver’s license, photo bearing identification 
    card or passport; 
  (4)   upon submission and approval of items 1-3, the individual is referred to an Adult   
    Education program for study and can test upon approval of instructor. 
 
5. Requirements for Retesting:  Examinees must wait 30 days to retest a failed module or to retest 
 to  raise a passing score. 
 
6. Official Transcripts: Test scores are accepted as official only when reported directly by: 
 a. Official GED® Testing Centers;  
 b.  Transcript Service of the Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support (DANTES);  
 c. Veterans Administration hospitals/centers; and  
 d.  The GED® Testing Service. 
 
7. Fees: 
 a. Testing at official GED Testing centers is $120.00 
 b. Issuance of diploma from the Nebraska Department of Education:  $5.00 
 c. Issuance of duplicate diploma from the Nebraska Department of Education: $2.00 
 d. Issuance of transcript from the Nebraska Department of Education: $2.00 
 
8. GED Administrator - State of Nebraska:  
 Vicki Bauer, Director  
 Adult Education  
 Nebraska Department of Education  
 301 Centennial Mall South  
 P. O. Box 94987  
 Lincoln, NE  68509-4987  
 
 Telephone:  (402) 471-4807 
 Fax: (402) 471-8127 
 E-mail: vicki.l.bauer@nebraska.gov 
 
 For copy of diploma or transcript, contact: 
 
 Shirley Gruntorad 
 Adult Education 
 Nebraska Department of Education 
 301 Centennial Mall South 
 P. O. Box 94987 
 Lincoln, NE  68509-4987 
  
 Telephone:  (402) 471-2475 
 E-mail: shirley.gruntorad@nebraska.gov 
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