TO:

Roger Breed, Ed.D.


Commissioner of Education

FROM:
Joel Scherling, Administrator



Human Resources
SUBJECT:
Title 93, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapters 1-16 (93 NAC 1-16)



Nebraska Department of Education Personnel Rules

PROPOSED BOARD ACTION

It is recommended that the State Board of Education approve the proposed hearing draft of the revisions to Title 93, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapters 1-16, Nebraska Department of Education Personnel Rules, and authorize the Commissioner to set a hearing date and appoint a hearing official to conduct a hearing on behalf of the State Board.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION
NDE’s personnel policies were first adopted by the State Board in 1998 following a Supreme Court decision entitled, McAllister v. Nebraska Department of Correctional Services and Nebraska Department of Administrative Services, which required that internal agency personnel policies be promulgated as state regulations under the Administrative Procedures Act.  The personnel rules have been revised to be consistent with the 2011-2013 NDE-NAPE/AFSCME bargaining agreement provisions, which were approved by the Board in December.

Estimated Cost
The cost of the public notice, hearing, and printing of the final rule is estimated to be approximately $600.

Supporting Documentation Included:

Hearing draft of Title 93, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapters 1-16; and,

Summary of Major Changes.

For additional information on this item:  Call Joel Scherling (402) 471-4736 or e-mail joel.scherling@nebraska.gov.
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Chapter 1 — Coverage
None

Chapter 2 — Management Authority
None

Chapter 3 — Definitions
002 Adds definition for “adjusted department service date”.

003 Adds definition for “adjusted state service date”.

010 Adds definition for “department service date”.

Former 026 strikes definition for “service date”.

(To align with Article 19 of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, hereafter referred to as CBA).

Chapter 4 — Employee Selection
001 Adds “Commissioner’s designee” as an alternative to Leadership Council Member
(Also amended throughout as applicable, but not otherwise noted below).

Chapter 5 — Probationary Periods

None

Chapter 6 — Classification Plan
None

Chapter 7 — Salary Administration
001 Deletes provision for market salary adjustments (to align with §13.6 of the CBA).

001.01 Prohibits “Horizontal Movement” salary increases during July 1, 2011 — June 30, 2012 but
allow them during July 1, 2012 — june 30, 2013 (to align with 13.7 of the CBA}).

00102  Prohibits “Merit Stipends” during July 1, 2011 - June 30, 2012 but allow them during
July 1, 2012 - June 30, 2013 (to align with §13.8 of the CBA).

Chapter 8 — Overtime
004.02B Updates timeframes by which employees must be provided time off or payment for overtime

hours worked (to align with §8.28 of the CBA).
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Chapter 9 - Leave and Holidays

003.04  Clarifies that an employee must be in paid work status on both the work day immediately
preceding and immediately following the holiday in order to receive holiday pay (to align with
§15.21 of the CBA).

006 Adds a provision that when an absence for a serious health conditions cumulatively exceeds
40 hours (or equivalent for part-time emplayees) during a 12-month period, sick leave must
be used concurrently. If sick leave is exhausted, the employee will be required to used
compensatory time and vacation leave untit exhausted, except up to 40 hours {or equivatent
for part-time employees) of vacation leave may be reserved. Clarifies that if employees
request paid time off be applied along with unpaid FML then they will run concurrently.
Clarifies that when an employee is absent and receiving Worker's Compensation benefits, or
using any paid leave exceeding 40 hours (or equivalent for part-time employees) due to FMLA
reason, the absence will trigger the onset of FMLA leave.

011 Adds language to civil leave provisions (to afign with §15.7 of the CBA).

12.06 Adds language to injury leave provisions (to align with §15.3 and 15.3D of the CBA).

Chapter 10 - Performance Appraisals
None

Chapter 11 — Personnel File Information
002.02  Adds language regarding job application materials that are public records
(per Section 84-712.05(15) R.R.S.)

Chapter 12 — Lavoff, Recall and Resignation

004.01  Clarifies that the Department service date or Department adjusted service date is used to
determine order of layoff.

008 Adds language regarding sick leave payoff (to align with §16.12 of the CBA).

009 Adds language regarding personal delivery of notifications to the employee (to align with
§16.14 of the CBA).

Chapter 13 ~ Corrective and Disciplinary Actions
004.04  Revises language regarding dismissal (to align with §18.10 of the CBA).

Chapter 14 — Grievance Procedure
None

Chapter 15 - Miscellaneous
005 Adds language regarding nepotism and supervision of family members (to align with statutory
change)

Chapter 16 — Code of Ethics

002.03  Revises prohibitions against employees using their position, personnel, resources, property or
funds under their care for personal financial gain or the financial gain of a member of their
immediate family (to better align with Accountability and Disclosure statutes).
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CHAPTER 1 -- COVERAGE

001

Collective Bargaining Agreements. Employees subject to the Nebraska Association of

002

Public Employees, Local 61 of the American Tederation of State, County, and Municipal
Employees (NAPE/AFSCME) Bargaining Agreement (Agreement) with the Nebraska
Department of Education (Department) are not covered by these rules to the extent that
wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employment are provided for by the

Agreement.

Department Rules and Policies; Conflicts. These rules shall not be construed as

[==3
o

limiting, in any way, the power and authority of the Commissioner to make policies
governing the conduct of Department employees and the performance of Department
functions, provided that such Department policies shall be consistent with, and limited
by, the provisions of these rules and any collective bargaining agreements. Provisions of
the Nebraska Department of Education Personnel Rules, or the provisions of a collective
bargaining agreement, supersede all Department policies.

Availability. Each employee has the right to examine these rules. A copy is available
for examination in the Department’s Human Resources Office and on their intranet web

page.
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The Department retains all of its inherent rights, functions, and responsibilities with
the right to determine and make decisions, except where those rights may be modified,
restricted, or limited by these rules. The Department retains the right to determine the
manner in which the operations of the Department are to be conducted except where
those rights may be modified, restricted, or limited by these rules.
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It is recognized that these management rights shall include, but not be limited to, the
following:

002,01 To implement and maintain a classification system and classify employees
pursuant to Chapter 6 of this Title;

002.02 To hire, promote, demote, transfer, assign, train, or retain employees in
positions within the Department;

002.03 To establish and maintain Department missions, goals, and objectives, and
reasonable work rules and workplace expectations, the contents of which are
not inconsistent with this Title;

002.04  To suspend, demote, dismiss from employment, or take other appropriate
disciplinary action against employees for just cause;

002.05 To schedule work and promote its accomplishments through managing,
directing, and assigning duties and work schedules to employees;

002.06 To determine services to be rendered, operations to be performed, technology
to be utilized, or matters to be budgeted;

o
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To determine the overall methods, processes, means, or personnel by which
operations are to be conducted;

002.08 To determine the type and number of employees to be employed, and to lay-
off employees in the event of lack of work or funds or under conditions where
the continuation of such work would be inefficient or nonproductive;

002.09 To determine, in accordance with the Constitutional and statutory mandates,
mission, and goals of the Department, the personnel, methods, and means
necessary to efficiently fulfill that mission including, but not limited to,
implementing a budget and contracting for, altering, curtailing, or
discontinuing any goods or services;
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To dismiss an employee from employment in the event the employee is
unable to perform the essential functions of the position due to physical or
mental impairments even with reasonable accommodations;

To determine what charitable and/or social activities may be supported or
gponsored; and,

To take all reasonable and necessary steps to comply with the Americans
with Disabilities Act (ADA) and/or the Nebraska Fair Employment Practices
Act.
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CHAPTER 3 -- DEFINITIONS

001

010

Applicability. The definitions contained in the following Chapters of this Title shall be
used throughout this Title except where the context would require another definition.
All other words shall have their normal accepted meaning.

Adjusted Department Service Date shall mean a Department service date that was
revised due to employee absence per Chapter 4, Section 003 of this Title.

Adjusted State Service Date shall mean a service date that was revised due to emplovee
absence per Chapter 4, Section 003 of this Title or prior State service, and from which
an employee’s vacation and sick leave entitlement is computed,

Appointment shall mean the act of the Department filling a position,
Board shall mean the State Board of Education.

Classification shall mean a group of positions sufficiently similar as to the duties
performed, degree of supervision exercised or required, minimum requirements of
training, experience or skill; and such other characteristics that the same title and the
same minimum qualifications may be applied to each position in the group, and so that
the same salary grade may be assigned.

Classification Specification shall mean the official written description of a classification
of work, which summarizes information such as the purpose of the classification,
distinguishing characteristics, examples of duties, minimum qualifications, supervisory
and fiscal authority and physical requirements.

Commissioner shall mean the Commissioner of Education.

Department shall mean the State Department of Education, which is comprised of the
Board and the Commissioner.

Department Service Date shall Initially be that day upon which an emplovee beging
work with NDIE.

Deputy Commissioner shall mean the Deputy Commissioner of Education.

00811

0212

Discharge or Dismissal shall mean the disciplinary termination of employment

014

pursuant to Chapter 12 of this Title.

Employee shall mean any person who works for the Department and receives a state
pay warrant. This definition is subject to the limitations of Chapter 4, Section 002 of the
Nebraska Department of Education Personnel Rules.

Grievance shall be applied throughout this Title as defined in Chapter 14 of this Title.
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CHAPTER 38 -- DEFINITIONS

0125

Human Resources Office shall mean the office within the Department that is

01568

responsible for personnel administration in the Department.

Lateral Transfer shall mean changing an employee from one classification to another
position in the same or different classification at the same salary grade.

Lay Off shall mean the involuntary termination (reduction in force) of an employee or
employees because of a lack of work or lack of funds or under conditions in which the

continuation of such work would be inefficient or non-productive.

Leave Without Pay shall mean leave or time off from work for the employee’s personal

0169

reasons granted by the appointing authority for which period the employee receives no
pay.

Original Probationary Period shall mean a period of time during which an employee is

01720

required to demonstrate fitness fora particular position as a part of the selection process
for permanent appointment.

Part-time Schedule shall mean less than a forty (40) hour work week schedule.

01821

01822

Pay Grade shall mean a specified range of salary or wage, the starting and intermediate
rates within such range, and the maximum rate of such range.

Permanent Employee shall mean an employee in a regular full-time or part-time

0283

position who has completed the required probationary period or who had acquired
permanent status in accordance with this Title.

Position shall mean a group of specific duties, tasks and responsibilities to be performed
by one (1) employee. A positionmay be part-time or full-time; temporary, fixed-term, or
permanent; or occupied or vacant.

Position Description shall mean the summary of the actual duties and responsibilities

assigned to the incumbent of the position.

Reduction in Force shall mean the same as “lay off.”

Resignation shall mean the voluntary termination of employment by an employee.
Retirement shall mean the transfer of an eligible employee from active to retired status.
Series shall mean two (2) or more classifications, similar as to duties and training

required but differing primarily in difficulty, responsibility, knowledge and skills, and
supervision exercised or received.
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0279 Suspension shall mean an ordered absence for disciplinary, investigatory or other
purposes.

02830 Tuition shall mean the cost per credit hour of instruction at an accredited postsecondary

institution.

02931 Work Rules shall mean those practices, policies, and procedures established and adopted

by the Department concerning the employee’s terms and conditions of employment.
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CHAPTER 4 -- EMPLOYEE SELECTION

Hiring Process. The Board, upon the recommendation of the Commissioner, has the

final hiring authority for all professional staff. Selection of support staff shall be at the
discretion of the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee

002.01 Full-Time. Full-time employees are required to work, as a minimumn, forty
(40) hours per week on a permanent, ongoing basis.

Part-Time. Part-time employees are required to work fewer hours than full-
time employees on a permanent, ongoing basis. Work schedules may
fluctuate by week, month, or season. Part-time employees earn benefits on a
prorated basis. To be eligible for insurance benefits, employees must be
hired to work at least half-time (20 hours per week).

002.03 Temporary Employee. Temporary employees are those employees hired
through a temporary agency or via contract for a limited period of time to
perform requested job duties on either a full-time or part-time schedule.
Temporary employees may be separated, at any time, without notice or
grievance rights. Temporary employees do not receive benefits except as
provided by Neb. Rev. Stat. §84-1601 et seq. A temporary position may be a
full-time or part-time position. Employment in a temporary position shall not
count toward a Department service date or original probationary period.

002.04 Fized-Term. A fixed-term employee is an employee hired in a fixed-term
position. A fixed-term positionisa position which, due to the funding source,
has a predetermined duration of employment which is designated at the time
of hire subject to the continuation and availability of funding. Fixed-term
positions may be worked on a full-time or part-time schedule and are subject
to all the provisions of these Personnel Rules except for the provisions of
Chapter 12, Sections 003 through 009 of this Title.

002.05 Contract Employee. Contract employee means an individual with whom the
Department has entered into a contract under either Administrative
Memorandums #110 or #111 which creates an employer-employee
relationship. Terms of the employment are governed by the contract.
Contract employees do not receive benefits except as provided by Neb. Rev.
Stat. §84-1601 et seq. Contract employees do not have grievance rights.

001

who shall have the final hiring authority.
002 Employment Categories.

002.02
003

State Service Date. The State service date is the date of hire by the State of Nebraska

for a new employee. The service date must be adjusted to reflect suspensions without
pay, or periods of unpaid leave which exceed fourteen (14) calendar days (except military

leave).
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Employees who left sState service for other than disciplinary reasons, and return after
dJuly 1, 2001, following a break in services of less than five (6) years, shall be given credit
for previous sState service by having their service date reinstated minus the amount of
time absent.

Equal Opportunity Employment and Nondiscrimination. The Department prohibits the

to discriminate against any individual with respect to compensation, terms,
conditions, or privileges of employment, because of such individual’s race,

would deprive or tend to deprive any individual of employment opportunities
or otherwise adversely affect such individual’s status as an employee,
because of such individual’s race, color, religion, sex, disability, marital

individual with respect to terms, conditions, or privileges of employment,
otherwise lawful, because of such individual’s age, when the reasonable

otherwise lawful, any employment agency, placement service, training school
or center, labor organization, or any other source which so discriminates

004
following employment practices which are unlawful under Sections 48-1104 and 48-1004
RR.S.:
004.01 To fail or refuse to hire, to discharge or to harass any individual, or otherwise
color, religion, sex, disability, marital status, or national origin; or
004.02 To limit, advertise, solicit, segregate, or classify employees in any way which
status, or national origin; or
004.03 To refuse to hire, to discharge, or otherwise to discriminate against any
demands of the position do not require such an age distinction; or
004.04  To willfully utilize in the hiring or recruitment of individuals for employment
against such individuals because of their age.
005

ADA Compliance. It is the policy and practice of the Department to comply with the
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and to ensure equal opportunity in employment
for all qualified persons with disabilities. The Department is committed to ensuring
that there is no discrimination in any terms, conditions or privileges of employment.
Reasonable accommodation is available to all employees and applicants. Requests for
reasonable accommodations must be forwarded to the Department’s Human Resources
Office.
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001

Exempt Employees. Employees occupying positions which are exempt from time and

002

one-half overtime compensation shall serve a probationary period of twelve (12) months.

Such period may be extended by up to six (6) months, not to exceed a total of eighteen
(18) months, upon written notification to the affected employee by the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. Reasons for such extension
shall be made known to the employee. Upon approval of the appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, an employee may be moved to permanent
status at any time during the probationary period.

Non-Exempt Employees. Employees occupying positions for which time and one-half

003

overtime compensation is paid, shall serve a probationary period of six (6) months. Such
probationary period may be extended by up to six (6) months, not to exceed a total of
twelve (12) months, upon written notification to the affected employee by the
appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. Reasons for such
extension shall be made known to the employee. Upon approval of the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, an employee may be moved to
permanent status at any time during the probationary period.

Transfer During Probation. An employee who is transferred by demotion or lateral

004

move within the Department, while serving a probationary period, may have his/her
probationary period extended at the discretion of the appropriate Leadership Council
Member or Commissioner’s designee. When the transfer does result in a promotion, a
probationary period shall begin at the time of promotion, just as in any other promotion.

Probation Pursuant to Moving into a New Position. An employee accepting promotion,

lateral transfer, or a demotion, shall be placed on probation for a period of time as set
forth in Sections 001 and 002 of this Chapter to determine his/her ability to perform the
job. If the employee is, in the opinion of the Department, not performing satisfactorily
in the new position during the probationary period, the employee shall, if the position is
still available, be reverted to the employee’s previous position and pay rate. If the
previous position is no longer available, the Department shall make every reasonable
effort to place the employee in a vacant position of a similar classification with the same
pay rate as the employee received prior to the promotion or lateral transfer. Ifno such
vacancy is available, the Department may place the employee in a vacant position in a
lower classification according to the provisions in Chapter 6, Section 004 of this Title, or
may terminate the employee for cause. The Department shall not be required to utilize
the disciplinary process to revert an employee back to the employee’s former position or
avacant position in the same geographical area (thirty [30] miles from the current work
site) equivalent to the former position’s salary grade. The Department shall document
efforts to provide the promoted employee with performance improvement counseling
when utilizing this provision.
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Employees on a part-time schedule may have their probationary period extended
according to the provisions in this Chapter in order for the supervisor to have additional
opportunities to observe the employee. Probationary periods may also be extended to
allow for adequate observation opportunities in cases where employees have been
absent for significant periods of time.

Termination. Employees serving an original probationary period may, upon the
recommendation of the immediate supervisor, and with the approval of the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, be terminated without cause
or recourse under the rules of Title 93 at any time during the probationary period.

006.01 If at any time during the original probationary period it is determined that
the services of the employee have not been acceptable, or if the employee does
not successfully pass the Department’s background screen, the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee shall notify the
employee in writing of the date services are to be terminated.

Performance Appraisals. Performance appraisals for probationary employees shall be

008

scheduled at the discretion of the employee’s supervisor.

007.01 The appraisals may contain a description of problem areas, improvements
needed, and any positive points concerning the employee’s performance.

007.02  The absence of any appraisals under this Section shall not prohibit nor delay
the ending of a successful probationary period and the establishment of a
permanent appointment,.

Permanent Appointment. Permanent appointment of full-time or part-time original

probationary employees shall begin on the day following the day ending the original
probationary period, unless notice of extension has been given to the employee in
writing prior to such time. In the event of an extension of the original probationary
period, permanent appointment shall begin on the day following the day ending the
extension of the original probationary period.

10
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General. The Department’s Human Resources Office shall maintain a master set of all
classification specifications used by the Department. Classification specifications shall
be available to any employee for examination.

Classification Review. An employee or their supervisor may request a review of the

employee’s position for proper classification at any time providing the position has not
been reviewed within the previous six (6) months. The employee’s supervisor(s) may
waive the six (6) month requirement. An employee may make the request to the
Department’s Human Resources Office through their immediate supervisor or a
supervisor may make the request directly to the Department’s Human Resources Office.
Following such request by an employee or supervisor, the Department’s Human
Resources Office shall review the classification of such employee. Such review by the
Department’s Human Resources Office will include the review of a Position Description
Questionnaire completed by the employee and reviewed by the employee’s supervisor(sk
and the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. The
Position Description Questionnaire shall be provided to the employee by the
Department’s Human Resources Office within five (5) work days of such request.

002.01 Employees. A permanent employee shall have fifteen (15) work days to
complete the Position Description Questionnaire, obtain supervisor review,
and return it to the Department’s Human Resources Office.

002.02 Human Resources. The Department’s Human Resources Office shall have
five (5) work days from the receipt of the completed Position Description
Questionnaire to provide a copy to the Classification Panel. The
Department’s Human Resources Office and the Classification Panel shall
have thirty (30) work days from the Classification Panel’s receipt of the
completed Position Description Questionnaire to complete the review of the
reclassification request, meet, and make separate recommendations. A copy
of the Department’s Human Resources Office and the Classification Panel
recommendations shall be forwarded to the supervisor(s), the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee and the employee.
The supervisor(s), the appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee, and the employee shall then have an opportunity
to provide comments and/or documentation in response to the
recommendations from the Department’s Human Resources Office and the
Classification Panel within ten (10) work days.

11
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Request. The employee, supervisor(s) and/or the appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee have the right to request and
meet jointly with the Department’s Human Resources Office representative
and the Classification Panel. The Department’s Human Resources Office and
the Classification Panel may also request that the employee, supervisor(s), or
the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee,
meet with them to provide additional information about the request. If
additional information is submitted by the employee, supervisor(s), or
appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, orifa
meeting has been requested, the Department’s Human Resources Office and
the Classification Panel will jointly meet, and within ten (10) work days
make final recommendations to the Deputy Commissioner.

Classification Panel. The Classification Panel shall be made up of five (5)

002.05

members chosen by the Department. All members shall undergo training
provided by the Department’s Human Resources Office concerning the
classification system. The Department shall designate one alternate to serve
on the Classification Panel when a regular member is unable to attend or
when a regular member is unable to vote. Recommendations from the
Classification Panel shall be decided by a majority vote.

Deputy Commissioner. The Deputy Commissioner shall have fifteen (15)

work days after receiving the recommendations from the Department’s
Human Resources Office and the Classification Panel to make a final
decision. A copy of the action taken by the Deputy Commissioner shall be
forwarded to the Department’s Human Resources Office, the Classification
Panel, the supervisor(s), the appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee, and the employee within five (5) work days of the
decision.

If the Deputy Commissioner’s decision is made on or before the 15" of the
month, and a pay adjustment is warranted, the pay adjustment shall be
effective as of the 1" day of the current month. Ifthe Deputy Commissioner’s
decision is made after the 15" of the month, the pay adjustments shall be
effective as of the 1" day of the next month.

12
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002.05A The time requirements in this Chapter may be extended by
written agreement between the employee and the Deputy
Commissioner in cases where additional time is needed in order to
conduct the review process. Pay adjustments may be made
retroactive by order of the Deputy Commissioner.
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Promotions. In situations where the employee’s job duties have changed significantly,
the employee may be reclassified to a new classification at a higher paygrade as a result
of the classification review process.

003.01 An employee who is reclassified to another clagsification at a higher
paygrade shall receive a five percent (5%) salary increase for moving up one
paygrade, a seven and one-half percent (7.5%) salary increase for moving up
two paygrades, or a ten percent (10%) salary increase for moving up three or
more paygrades. The new salary shall be at least at the minimum rate of the
new paygrade, but no more than the maximum rate of the new paygrade.

003.01A The appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s
designee may recommend to the Deputy Commissioner a pay
increase greater than would be provided by Section 003.01 of this
Chapter. The Deputy Commissioner’s decision 'will be final:

004 Demotions. In cases in which the employee accepts a demotion to avoid being laid off,
voluntarily requests a demotion, or, is reclassified to a lower paygrade pursuant to the
review process, a non-disciplinary demotion may result. The employee shall have the
right to elect demotion as the alternate to a layoff. The right to elect shall be granted to
employees in accordance with provisions of Chapter 12 of this Title.

|

004.01 In all cases involving demotion, the employee must meet the requirements of
the position to which he/she is demoted, and except as provided in layoff
procedure, no employees in a lower level position shall be laid off by reason of
a demotion action involving another employee.

004.02 An employee who is demoted, either voluntarily or involuntarily, from a
higher paygrade to a lower paygrade, shall have his/her pay reduced by five
percent (5%) for demotions of one paygrade, seven and one-half percent
(7.5%) for demotions of two paygrades, or ten percent (10%) for demotions of
three or more paygrades. Under no circumstances would the employee’s
salary be less than the minimum rate of the new paygrade or more than the
maximum of the new paygrade.
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005

004.02A The appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commigsioner’s
designee may recommend to the Deputy Commissioner a pay
decrease less than would be provided by this Section. The Deputy
Commissioner’s decision will be final.

Salary for Vacant Pogition. Employees who apply for and are selected as the successful
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008

applicant to fill a vacant job opening that was posted, shall be subject to the same salary
range that was identified on the posting for all applicants. Employees are not entitled to
retain their current salary level if they accept the offer to fill the vacancy. The salary
provisions contained in Section 003 and Section 004 of this Chapter do not apply to such
a situation.

Loss in Pay. No employee shall, as a result of Department action, suffer a loss of pay
through a promotion or transfer to a position of the same classification or through an
involuntary, non-disciplinary transfer to a differently classified position in the same
paygrade. This provision shall not apply in layoff situations.

Service Date. Promotions, transfers, or demotions shall not change an employee’s
Department or State service date.

Pay During Temporary Transfer. When an employee performs the duties of a position in

a higher paygrade than the classification paygrade currently held by the employee, the
employee shall receive a temporary pay increase to the minimum salary of the higher
paygrade or an increase in accordance with Section 003.01 of this Chapter, whicheveris
higher but in no case shall the employee receive a pay reduction. Such temporary pay
increase shall apply only when the employee has been requested to perform the duties of
someone at a higher paygrade, and when the period of time in which the employee is
performing the duties exceeds ten (10) work days.
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Pay Plan. Employees are placed in an assigned position and paygrade of a clagsification
and pay plan approved by the Deputy Commissioner. The pay plan may provide
scheduled salary increases including, but not limited to, annual and-nrarket salary

001.01 Horizontal Movement. The Deputy Commissioner may distribute salary
increases to employees who meet established criteria as necessary to address
internal/external inequities and recognize noteworthy performance. The
salary increases will be included in the employee’s regular rate of pay and
base salary. Horizontal Movement salary increases will not be provided
during the period of July 1, 2011 — June 30, 2012, but will be provided during

001.02 Merit Stipends. Upon receiving a recommendation from the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, the Deputy
Commissioner may distribute merit stipends to recognize employees, with at
Jeast two (2) years of service with the Department, who have demonstrated
exemplary performance or who have completed temporary assignments that
required time, skill and effort beyond the normal scope of the employee’s
position. The stipend will be a one-time payment, above and beyond the
regular rate of pay. The stipend will not become part of the employee’s base
salary. Merit Stipends will not be provided during the period of July 1,2011
— June 30, 2012, but will be provided during the period July 1, 2012 — June

An employee who, on the effective date of a scheduled pay increase, is under suspension
with pay, suspension without pay, or administrative probation, shall not be provided the
pay increase until the employee satisfactorily completes the disciplinary action except
that no employee shall be paid less than the hiring rate of pay established for the
employee’s paygrade in effect on the effective date of the last pay increase.

If a suspension is for investigative purposes and the employee is subsequently
determined not to be subject to disciplinary action, the employee shall be entitled to the
appropriate pay rate increases retroactive to the date the pay rate increases would have

001
adjustment increases.
the period July 1, 2012 — June 30, 2013.
30, 2013.
002
003
been granted had not the suspension been in effect.
004

Release of Payroll/Expense Warrants. Payroll and expense warrants will be released to

employees named on the warrant or to the person designated by the employee in
writing. In case of employee illness or injury, warrants may be released to immediate
relatives who do not have a note of authorization but have proof of identification.
Immediate relatives shall be considered as: spouse; children including step, adopted,
and foster children; parents; and, parents of the spouse.
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001

Exempt and Non-Exempt Defined.

002

001.01 Exempt employees shall mean employees who, by virtue of their primary
duties and responsibilities, are professional, executive and/or administrative
under the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and are thereby
exempt from overtime compensation payment and/or time off in lieu of such
payment.

001.02  Non-exempt employees shall mean employees who are eligible to receive
compensatory payment or time off for overtime.

FLSA Status Determination. The Department’s Human Resources Office shall

003

determine whether or not each position in the Department is exempt or non-exempt
under the FLSA, When a new position is created, or an existing position changes, the
appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee shall contact the
Department’s Human Resources Office to request a review of the exempt or non-exempt
status. The Department’s Human Resources Office shall determine whether or not the
position is exempt.

Overtime Approval. No overtime shall be worked by non-exempt employees without the

004

prior approval in writing of the appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee and the immediate supervisor.

Overtime Compensation Qptions for Non-Exempt Employees. Non-exempt employees

who accumulate more than forty (40) hours of compensable work time in a work week,
shall be eligible for overtime compensation. The method of compensation shall be at the
discretion of the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee
and the immediate supervisor. The two (2) options for such compensation are:

004.01 Payment of a sum equivalent to one and one-half (1-1/2) times the hourly
rate of pay for time actually worked in excess of forty (40) hours. Payment
for overtime hours shall be calculated at the hourly rate that was in effect for
overtime at the time excess hours were actually worked.

004.01A The hourly rate of pay shall be computed by dividing the annual
rate of pay by the number of hours the employee is normally
responsible for per year. Such payment shall be made at the end
of the pay period in which it was earned, if administratively
feasible, or at the end of the following pay period.
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004.02 Compensatory time off when taken in lieu of pay shall be calculated at time
and one-half (1-1/2) unless the employee has actually worked less than forty
(40) hours during the work week. If the employee has actually worked less
than forty (40) hours during the work week, compensatory time off shall be
calculated at straight time. Paid vacation, sick, or bereavement leave shall
not be counted as work hours for overtime purposes.

004.02A Compensatory time off shall be used in the subsequent sixty (60)
calendar day period following the date the hours were worked,
unless such period is extended by the Department (within limits
established in Section 004,028 of this Chapter).

004,028 Employees who worked overtime hours between July 1, 200911
and June 30, 20102, shall either be provided time off by June 30,
20162 or be paid by July 31, 20162 at the June 20162 pay rate.
Employees who worked overtime hours between July 1, 20162 and
June 30, 20133, shall either be provided time off by June 30,
20143 or be paid by July 31, 20113 at the June 2013 pay rate.

005.01 Schedule Deviation. Exempt employees who, in fulfilling their job
responsibilities (which may include travel time) extend their accountable
work hours beyond the expected eight (8) hour work day or approved work
schedule, may deviate from their usual work hours upon advance approval
and agreement between the employee and immediate supervisor as to when
the schedule deviation will take place. Schedule deviation is defined as an

005.02 Hours worked on a holiday by an exempt employee shall be compensated at

005 Exempt Employees.
adjustment of work hours or length of the work day.
straight time.

006 Non-Exempt Employees — Overtime Calculation.

006.01 Overtime shall include all compensable work time in excess of forty (40)
hours either at time and one-half (1-1/2) or at straight time.

Holidays shall be considered as work hours for overtime purposes. Hours
worked by an overtime eligible employee on a holiday shall be compensated
at one and one-half (1-1/2) times their normal hourly rate of pay. All hours

=
>
>
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]
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worked on a holiday in excess of the employee’s normally scheduled work day
shall be compensated at two (2) times the employee’s normal hourly rate of

pay.

006.03 Paid sick, vacation, or bereavement leave shall not be considered as work
hours for overtime purposes.
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The following provisions apply to paid and unpaid leave:

001.01 Unauthorized Leave. An absence by an employee which does not meet the
requirements specified in this Chapter and is not authorized by the
employee’s supervisor shall be considered as unauthorized leave.
Unauthorized leave may be grounds for corrective or disciplinary action
under the provisions of Chapter 13 of this Title.

001.02 Authorized Leave. An absence by an employee which meets the
requirements specified in this Chapter and that is authorized by the
employee’s supervisor shall be considered as authorized leave.

State/Department Service Date Adjustments. Employees returning to work on or after
July 1, 2001, after a break in service of less than five (5) calendar years, shall have their
accumulated unpaid sick leave balance reinstated. The employee’s service date(s) shall
be adjusted for the period of absence. The employee’s vacation and sick leave earning
rate will also be adjusted, and the new rate of earning will be based on the adjusted
service date(s). Employees returning to work after a break in service of more than five
(5) calendar years shall start with a zero (0) sick and vacation leave balance and shall be
considered to be new employees for service date purposes, and shall earn vacation and
sick leave at the beginning earning rate of a newly hired employee.

Employees may apply available, accumulated paid leave on their monthly timesheet in
order to prevent & service date adjustment(g). The leave time taken shall be no less
than one (1) work day for purposes of this Section. One (1) work day shall be eight (8)
hours for a full-time employee or the corresponding percentage of full-time equivalent
(FTE) for part-time employees.

The employee’s service dates shall be adjusted when an unpaid absence exceeds
fourteen (14) consecutive calendar days. The adjustment will correspond to the number
of days the employee is on unpaid leave. See also Chapter 4 - Section 003 of this Title.

Holidays. The following holidays, and others when declared by law or proclaimed by the
Governor or President of the United States as provided in Nebraska Section 84-1001(3)
R.R.S., shall be compensated holidays for full-time and part-time employees and are
scheduled on the dates indicated. When a holiday falls on Saturday, it shall be observed
on the preceding Friday. When a holiday falls on Sunday, it shall be observed on the
following Monday.

19




[image: image24.jpg]TITLE 93 -~ NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PERSONNEL RULES
CHAPTER 9 -- LEAVE AND HOLIDAYS
DAY DATE
New Year’s Day January 1
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day  Third Monday in January
President’s Day Third Monday in February
Arbor Day Last Friday in April
Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Independence Day dJuly 4
Labor Day First Monday in September
Columbus Day Second Monday in October
Veteran’s Day November 11
Thanksgiving Day Fourth Thursday in November
Day after Thanksgiving Friday following Thanksgiving
Christmas Day December 25

003.01  Full-Time Employees. Compensation for a holiday is based on an eight (8)
hour work day for full-time employees.

003.02  Part-Time Employees. Part-time employees shall receive paid time off for
holidays on a prorated basis according to the time they work each pay period.

003.03 Temporary and Contract Employees. Temporary and contract employees are
not eligible for holiday leave, and if required to work on a holiday or observed
holiday, are paid for the time worked at their normal rate of pay.

003.04  Eligibility for Holiday Pay. Pursuant to Section. 84-1001 R.R.S. in order to
receive pay for such holiday an employee, whether part-time or full-time,
must net-have-been-absent-without-pay be in paid work status on both the
work day immediately preceding ex and immediately following the holiday
unless excused by his or her supervisor.

003.05 Working on Holidays. An employee may be directed to work on a holiday or
may request advance approval from the immediate supervisor to voluntarily
work on a holiday.

004  Vacation Leave. All employees, excluding temporary and contract employees, earn paid

vacation leave. Hours accrue on a monthly basis but are not available to the employee
prior to the start of the following month, except as provided by Section 004.04 of this
Chapter. Full-time employees earn vacation leave according to the following schedule:

20




[image: image25.jpg]TITLE 93 .. NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PERSONNEL RULES
CHAPTER 9 - LEAVE AND HOLIDAYS
Years of Service Hours Per Year/Month Accumulated (Rounded)

1st year through 5th year 96/8

6th year 120/10

Tth year 128/10.67

8th year 136/11.34

9th year 144/12

10th year 152/12.67

11th year 160/13.34

12th year 168/14

13th year 176/14.67

14th year 184/15.34

15th year 192/16

16th year and following years 200/16.67

004.01 Vacation Leave for Part-Time Employees. Part-time employees shall earn
paid time off for vacation on a prorated basis according to the time they work
each pay period.

004.02 Using Vacation Leave. Vacation leave must be requested in advance by the
employee. Vacation leave may be used when approved by the employee’s
supervisor. Denial of vacation leave requests must not be arbitrary and the
taking of vacation leave by employees may not be unreasonably deferred.

004.03 Vacation leave shall not accrue to any employee on leave of absence without
pay, leave without pay, suspension without pay, layoff, or during time off of
work that is compensated under Workers’ Compensation.

004.04 Advancing Vacation Leave. The appropriate Leadership Council Member or

Commissioner’s designee may at his/her discretion advance vacation leave to
employees with six (6) months of service with the Department in an amount
not to exceed that which the employee would earn in the succeeding six (6)
month period. For employees with more than five (5) continuous years
service and with no record of leave abuse, request for vacation leave
advancement of forty (40) hours or less will not unreasonably be denied.
Employees shall reimburse the Department for all used unearned vacation
leave upon termination either by a deduction in their final check or by
separate payment. Employees may not request more than one advancement
in a six () month period. Written notice of advancement must be provided to
the Department’s Human Resources Office.
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Balancing of Vacation Leave During Employment. Up to two hundred and

004.06

eighty (280) hours of an employee’s vacation leave may be carried over from
one (1) calendar year to the next. Accumulated vacation time in excess of two
hundred and eighty (280) hours shall be forfeited as of December 31 of each
calendar year. In the event an unforeseen work-related emergency prevents
an employee from taking planned vacation leave before December 31 and
causes that vacation leave to be lost, additional carryover vacation leave may
be requested of and approved in advance of the calendar-year-end by the
Deputy Commissioner. In such cases, the hours above two hundred and
eighty (280) that are carried over must be used within the next six (6)
months.

Balancing of Vacation Leave Upon Separation. Employees who leave state

004.07

government employment for any reason shall be paid for any unused
accumulated vacation leave earned, calculated at the hourly rate in effect at
the time of termination. However, vacation leave, both as to earned unused
hours and as to years of service for accumulation purposes, may be
transferred when employees transfer between another Nebraska State
agency, Nebraska State university or college and the Department without a
break in service, upon mutual agreement of the employers.

004.06A A retiree returning to sState service will begin earning vacation
leave at the beginning rate of a newly hired employee. A retiree
shall mean an employee who is qualified to receive retirement
allowance under the state or the school retirement system,

Leave Without Pay. All earned, accumulated vacation leave shall be used by

an employee before being granted leave without pay, except when a qualified
employee is granted Family and Medical Leave (FMLA), which is leave
without pay. Employees may request leave without pay in writing from the
appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee;
however, granting leave without pay is discouraged and should not be done
on aregular basis. Written notice of leave without pay must be provided to
the Department’s Human Resources Office,

Holidays falling within a period of vacation leave shall not be counted as
work hours for purposes of overtime.
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005 Sick Leave. All employees, excluding temporary and contract employees, as defined by
Chapter 4 of this Title, earn paid sick leave. Hours accrue on a monthly basis but are
not available to the employee prior to the start of the following month except as provided
by Section 005.08 of this Chapter. No sick leave is earned by an employee on leave-
without-pay status.

Full-time employees accumulate sick leave according to the following schedule:

Years of Service Sick Leave Hours Earned Per Year/Month (Rounded)
1st through 5th year 96/8
6th through 15th year 112/9.34
16th and following years 144/12

005.01 Sick Leave for Part-Time Employees. Part-time employees shall accurnulate
paid time off for sick leave on a prorated basis according to the time they

work each pay period.

005.02 Conditions for Using Sick Leave. Sick leave may be used only under the
following conditions:

005.02A Employee. When an employee is unable o perform his/her duties
because of:

005.02A1 Hlness,

005.02A2 Absence due to psychological treatment or counseling,

005.02A3 Disability,

005.02A4 Injury,

005.02A5 Employee’s presence at work jeopardizes the health of
others by exposing them to a contagious disease,

005.02A6 Pregnancy complications, post-natal recovery, and
miscarriage,

005.02A7 Absence due to treatment for alcoholism or drug
addiction, if medically diagnosed by a licensed
physician, and if the employee is receiving assistance
or has agreed to an approved course of treatment,

005.02A8 Medical, surgical, dental, audiological or optical
examination or treatment, or

005.02A9 Emergency medical treatment.
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005.02B Employee’s immediate family member(s). When the illness,
disability, injury, surgery, medical examination, procedure, or
treatment of an immediate family member requires the
employee’s presence. The seriousness of the illness, disability,
injury, or surgery should be considered when determining the
number of days of sick leave to be granted. The immediate family
shall mean: spouse; children including step, adopted, and foster
children; children-in-law; parents; and parents of the spouse.

At the discretion of the appropriate Leadership Council Member,
or Commissioner’s designee sick leave benefits may be extended
for the care of other individuals with a similar personal
relationship (e.g., acted as a mother, father, etc.) to the employee
as that of an immediate family member.

005.02C  After the birth of a baby, the employee who is the father of the
baby may use up to five (5) days of sick leave. If more than five 5)
days of sick leave is necessary and required, for medical reasons,
to care for the new baby or the mother, a note from the medical
provider may be required to establish the medical necessity.

005.02D  After the birth of a baby, an employee, other than the father, may
use sick leave ifhis or her presence is necessary and required, for
medical reasons, to care for the new baby or the mother (if the
mother meets the definition of immediate family). A note from
the medical provider may be required to establish the medical
necessity.

005.02E  Under this Section, employees may use sick leave to attend school
appointments for an immediate family member with a disability.

005.03 Sick Leave Not to be Used as Vacation Leave. Sick leave shall niot be used as
vacation leave.

005.04  Sick leave shall be taken and reported on a 1/10" work hour basis. Holidays
falling within a period of sick leave shall not be counted as hours worked for
overtime purposes.

005.05 Sick leave shall not accrue during leaves without pay, suspensions, layoffs or
when leave is compensated under Workers’ Compensation.
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Probationary employees shall be entitled to sick leave at the same rate as
permanent employees. Sick leave may be granted during the probationary
period up to the number of accrued hours available to the employee. When a
probationary employee takes sick leave in excess of accrued hours available,
the provisions of Section 005.08 of this Chapter shall apply.

Requesting Sick Leave. Sick leave shall be requested by the employee in

writing and in advance whenever possible (e.g., for medical appointments
and physical examinations). In cases of sickness, injury, emergencies, or any
other absence not approved in advance, the employee shall advise
appropriate Department personnel of the circumstances as soon as possible
and shall submit a written request regarding such absence within one (1)
work day after returning to work. An employee may be required to submit
substantiating evidence and/or documentation when the reason for the leave
request was a medical or dental appointment or when the immediate
supervisor suspects sick leave abuse.

005.07A If an employee has been absent on sick leave exceeding five (5)
consecutive work days, the employee may be required to produce
written verification from a medical provider to document fitness to
return to work, incliding mnotice “of any necessary work
restrictions.

005.07B Independent of an employee’s use of sick leave and exceeding the
five (5) consecutive work day requirement noted above, if an
immediate supervisor has reason to believe that an employee’s
presence at work poses a significant health or safety risk, the
employee may be required to produce medical verification
regarding fitness for work.

Advancing Sick Leave. Sick leave may, at the discretion of the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, be advanced to
employees who are ill, with six (6) months of service with the Department, in
an amount not to exceed that which the employee would earn in the following
six (6) month period. Employees shall reimburse the Department for all
used, unearned sick leave upon termination, either from a deduction in their
final check or by separate payment. Employees may not request more than
one advancement in a six (6) month period. Written notice of advancement
must be provided to the Department’s Human Resources Office.
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005.09  Should an employee require medical treatment while on vacation, vacation
leave may be changed to sick leave under the following circumstances:

005.09A For the period of time medical treatment was required and for
reasonable periods of bed-rest thereafter that were required and
that occurred within the otherwise normally scheduled work
hours of the employee;

005.09B Upon submission of a physician’s statement substantiating
treatment and probable duration of illness; and

005.09C Upon approval of the immediate supervisor and appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. Denial
by the supervisor or Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee shall not be arbitrary.

005.10 Balancing Sick Leave During Employment. There shall be no maximum
limit on sick leave balances carried from year to year.

005.11 Sick leave, both as to earned unused hours and_ as to years of service for
accumulation purposes, may be transferred when the employee transfers
between another Nebraska State agency, Nebraska State university or
college and the Department without a break in service by mutual agreement
between employers.

005.12  Balancing Sick Leave Upon Separation. Upon separation of employment all
sick leave shall be forfeited. However, all accumulated unused sick leave
may be transferred when the employee transfers between another Nebraska
State agency, Nebraska State university or college and the Department
without a break in service, by mutual agreement between employers. In the
event of the death of an employee, the employee’s beneficiary shall be paid
one-fourth (1/4) of the accumulated unused sick leave computed at the rate of
pay earned by the employee at the time of death and shall not exceed four
hundred and eighty (480) hours. Upon separation of employment, if the
employee is at least fifty-five (55) years of age, the employee shall be paid
one-fourth (1/4) of the accumulated unused sick leave paid at the hourly rate
in effect upon separation. An employee may only receive this payout once, no
matter how many times they are re-employed with the State of Nebraska,
Payment for one-fourth (1/4) of the accumulated unused sick leave balance in
the case of separation or death shall not exceed four hundred and eighty
(480) hours.

005.12A Employees who are at least fifty-five (55) years of age, who are
laid off, shall have the option to defer the payment of one-quarter
(1/4) of their sick leave account for up to twelve (12) months.
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006

Should the laid off employee return to Department employment
within twelve (12) months, the employee’s sick leave balance and
service dates shall be reinstated (minus time in a non-pay status).
Should the laid off employee not obtain further Department
employment at the end of the twelve (12) month period, the
Department shall pay the employee one-quarter (1/4) of their sick
leave account, not to exceed four hundred and eighty (480) hours.

005.13 If an absence extends beyond the sick leave accrued to the credit of the
employee, such employee may be required to utilize (1) accumulated unused
compensatory time off and (2) accrued vacation leave, in that order. After all
accrued sick leave, compensatory time off, and vacation leave have been
exhausted, the employee, upon written request, may be granted leave
without pay (outside FMLA in Section 006 of this Chapter) at the discretion
of the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee.
However, granting such leave without pay is discouraged and should not be
done on a regular basis. Written notice regarding the leave without pay
must be provided to the Department’s Human Resources Office.

Family and Medical Leave Aet(FML). Family and Medical Leave (FML) is unpaid time

off from work and is subject to the provisions of 29 CFR 825. An employee must have at
least twelve (12) total months of State service and have worked at least 1250 hours of
Stabe-serviee in the previous twelve (12) month period to be eligible for Family-aad
Medieal-Leave(FML). Employees may request that accrued paid leave (e.g., vacation,
sick) and compensatory time. if the employee is subject to Chapter 8, Section 004 of this
Title. be applied along with the unpaid Eamily-and-Medieat-beave (FML) entitlement.
In this case, any paid leave will run concurrently with the FML entitlement. Asy-paie
Jeave

Employees who are absent and receiving Worker’s Compensation benefits, or using any
paid leave exceeding five-(b-eonseeuts erlsdeays 40 hours for full-time employees or
exceeding the number of hours proportionate to the percentage of FTE for part-time
employees taken for any of the reasons listed in Section 006.03 of this Chapter will be
have such leave credited against the twelve (12) week Family-andMedieal-beave FML
entitlement. Unpaid Pamily-endMediealheave FMLnot charged to sick or vacation is
subject to service date adjustments under Section 88669 014 of this Chapter.

If FML exceeds forty (40) hours during a twelve month period starting with the date
FML is first used for full-time employees, or exceeds the number of hours proportionate
to the percentage of FTE for part-time employees, sick leave must be used concurrently
if the reason for the FML is also a reason sick leave may be used under Section 15.2. If
the reason for FML is not_also a reason sick leave may be used, or if and when
accumulated sick leave is exhausted, such employee shall be required to utilize (1)
accumulated unused compensatory time off if the employee is subject to Chapter 8

Section 004 of this Title and (2) acerued vacation leave, in that order until exhausted;

however. vacation leave may be reserved in an amount up to forty (40) hours for full-
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time employees, or proportionate to the percentage of FTE for part-time employees,

unless Catastrophic Leave is requested per Section 013 of this Chapter.

006.01

Notice of Intent to Use Family and Medical Leave. An employee must

006.02

provide a minimum of thirty (30) calendar days notice to the Department
before he/she may use Family and Medical Leave. Where thirty (30) calendar
days notice is not foreseeable, notice must be given as early as possible. If
certification of a serious health condition is required, FMLA forms should be
obtained from the Department’s Human Resources Office.

Family and Medical Leave Duration. Total unpaid leave time taken for

006.03

Family and Medical Leave is limited to twelve (12) weeks within a twelve
(12) month period, starting with the date the Family and Medical Leave is
first credited against the twelve (12) week entitlement pursuant to Section
006 of this Chapter. Employees may use accrued sick leave beyond the
twelve (12) week Family and Medical Leave limitation for appropriate sick
leave reasons as defined in Section 005.02 of this Chapter, with proper
certification from a health care provider. Family and Medical Leave cannot
be carried forward beyond the twelve (12) month period and banked for
future use.

Incremental Use. With the approval of the Department, Family and Medical
Leave may be taken in increments with proper medical certification. Federal
law allows employees not eligible for overtime to make incremental use of
unpaid Family and Medical Leave without affecting their “salaried” status.

Conditions for Using Family and Medical Leave. An employee may use

Family and Medical Leave for the following reasons:
006.03A  Birth of a child of the employee and care for that newborn child;
006.03B  Placement of a child with the employee for adoption or foster care;

006.03C  In order to care for the employee’s spouse, child, or parent, if such
spouse, child, or parent has a serious health condition.

006.03C1 Spouse means a husband or wife as defined or
recognized under state law for purposes of marriage in
the state where the employee resides, including
common law marriage in states where it is recognized.
Child may include a biological, adopted, or foster child,
a stepchild, a legal ward, or a child of a person
standing in loco parentis, who is under eighteen (18)
years of age or is eighteen (18) years of age or older
and incapable of self-care because of a mental or
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006.03D

physical disability. Care for mother-in-law or father-
in-law is not included. However, parent may include
individuals other than natural or adoptive parents who
served in a long-term parental role for the employee.

A serious health condition that makes the employee unable to
perform the functions of the employee’s job.

Definition of Serious Health Condition. Serious health condition shall mean

006.05

illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental conditions that involve:

006.04A

006,048

006.04C

In-patient care in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical care
facility including any period of incapacity or any subsequent
treatment in connection with such in-patient care; or

Continuing treatment by a health care provider as provided for in
29 C.F.R. §825.115.

Examples of serious health conditions include: heart attack, heart
by-pass or valve operations, most cancers, back conditions
requiring extensive therapy or surgery, strokes, severe respiratory
conditions, spinal conditions, severe arthritis, severe nervous
disorders, mental illness, need for prenatal care, severe morning
sickness, childbirth, and recovery from childbirth. This does not
include voluntary or cosmetic treatments, unless inpatient
hospitalization is required.

Certification of Serious Health Conditions. When requesting Family and

Medical Leave for a serious health condition, an employee must provide
certification from a health care provider, which includes:

006.05A
006.05B

006.05C

006.05D

The date on which the serious health condition commenced;
The probable duration of the condition;

The appropriate medical facts within the knowledge of the health
care provider regarding the condition;

A statement that the employee is needed to care for the child,
spouse, or parent, and an estimate of the amount of time that
such employee is needed to care for the child, spouse, or parent; or
a statement that the employee is unable to perform the functions
of the job; and
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006.05E In the case of certification for intermittent leave, or leave on a
reduced leave schedule, a statement of the medical necessity for
the intermittent leave or leave on a reduced leave schedule, and
the expected duration of the intermittent leave or reduced leave
schedule; or a statement that the employee’s intermittent leave or
leave on a reduced leave schedule is necessary for the care of the
child, parent, or spouse who has a serious health condition, or will
assist in their recovery, and the expected duration and schedule of
the intermittent leave or reduced leave schedule. In the case of
certification for intermittent leave, or leave on a reduced leave
schedule, for planned medical treatment, the dates on which such
treatment is expected to be given and the duration of such
treatment should be included.

Medical Second Opinions. The Department may require a second opinion,

(the Department’s choice of health care provider), and must pay for the cost
of the second opinion. If the second opinion differs from the first, a third
opinion may be sought, from a mutually agreed upon health care provider,
again, at the Department’s expense. The results of the third opinion are
final.

Multiple Health Conditions. In the event the employee Is requesting leave

due to more than one serious health condition, the certification must
specifically address each individual condition. Separate forms shall be
submitted as appropriate. Regardless of whether a single or multiple health
condition(s) is/are involved, the limits in Section 006 of this Chapter apply.

Health Insurance While on Family and Medical Leave. Employer health

insurance contributions shall continue during an employee’s unpaid Family
and Medical Leave absence, provided the employee makes histher required
contribution. Employer contributions shall be based as if the employee had
continued to work his/her normal schedule.

Workers’ Compensation and Family and Medical Leave. If an employee

requests Family and Medical Leave due to an injury or illness qualifying for
Workers’ Compensation, the Department will contact the Division of
Administrative Services - Risk Management, for coordination of Workers’
Compensation and Family and Medical Leave benefits.

Family Military Leave. Family Military Leave is available to employees in accordance
with the terms and conditions of the Nebraska Family Military Leave Act, Sections 55-
501 through 55-507 R.R.S. and the amendments to the Family Medical Leave Act made
by the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) of 2008 (29 U.S.C. $2612 et.seq.).

007.01A Requesting employees shall provide the Department with certification from

the proper military authority to verify eligibility for the leave taken under
Sections 55-501 through 55-507 R.R.S..
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007.01B Requesting employees shall provide the Department with certification by the
covered service member’s health care provider for leave requested to care for
that service member under the provisions of the National Defense
Authorization Act amendments to the Family Medical Leave Act.

007.01C Requesting employees shall provide the Department with such certification
as may be provided for through regulations issued by the United States
Secretary of Labor for leave requested for a “qualifying exigency” arising out
of the fact that an employee’s spouse, son, daughter or parent is on active
duty, or has been notified of impending call for active duty, in the Armed
Forces in support of a contingency operation under the provisions of the
National Defense Authorization Act amendments to the Family Medical
Leave Act.

Bereavement Leave. Up to forty (40) hours paid bereavement leave may be granted to
employees for a death in the immediate family. For a death not in the immediate
family, up to eight (8) hours leave with pay may be granted. For purposes of this
Section, immediate family shall mean spouse, parents, grandparents, siblings, children
including foster children, grandchildren, spouse of any of these, or someone who bears a
similar relationship to the spouse of the employee. Step-persons bearing these
relationships are included. At the discretion of the appropriate Leadership Council
Member or Commissioner’s designee, bereavement leave benefits may be extended for
other individuals with a similar personal relationship (e.g., acted as a mother, father,
etc.) to the employee as that of an immediate family member. The hours of bereavement
leave that may be granted to part-time employees shall be proportionate to the
percentage of FTE that they work. Bereavement leave shall not be charged to sick leave
or vacation leave.

008.01 Bereavement leave shall be available for a period of thirty (30) calendar days
after the death, or first notice of the death, of an immediate family member,
and for a period of fifteen (15) calendar days after the death or first notice of
the death of persons not immediate family members. Exceptions due to
extenuating circumstances may be approved by the appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee.

008.02 No employee shall be unreasonably denied the granting or advancement of
up to an additional eighty (80) hours of vacation leave (prorated for less than
full-time employees) when such additional time is available and necessary to
settle personal matters related to a death in the immediate family. The
granting of leave under this Chapter ghall not prohibit or interfere with the
granting of leave under any other Chapter or provision of this Title.

Administrative Leave. Administrative leave, with pay, may be granted due to natural

disasters, public health emergencies, inclement weather or other local work-related
emergencies. Administrative leave due to natural disasters or public health emergencies
may be authorized only by the direction of the Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner.
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Administrative leave with pay due to inclement weather or other local, work-related
emergencies shall be granted in the following manner:

009.01 Lincoln area: (Nebraska State Office Building and other Lincoln offices) by
direction of the Deputy Commissioner.

009.02 VR Area administrators are delegated the responsibility for closing offices
due to work-related emergencies, or inclement weather based on the closing
of city offices in the pertinent location. Department employees officed at
another agency’s or entity’s offices are subject to the closing decision of these
agencies or entities unless otherwise directed. Information on closings shall
be forwarded to the Deputy Commissioner and the Department’s Human
Resources Office.

009.03 If state offices remain open during inclement weather or other work-related
emergencies, employees are expected to make a reasonable effort to report for
work. Employees who fail to report for work shall be charged compensatory
time, vacation leave, or leave without pay. The appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, or the immediate supervisor, if
authorized by the appropriate Leadership = Council = Member or
Commissioner’s designee, may grant permission to both exempt and non-
exempt employees to make up missed hours during the same week rather
than requiring them to use compensatory time, vacation leave or leave
without pay.

009.04 Employees who report for and remain at work in periods during which
administrative leave was authorized shall be granted compensatory time off,
to be used at a later date.

Military Leave. Employees shall be eligible for Military Leave in accordance with

011

applicable federal and state laws. This leave is limited to one hundred and twenty (120)
hours a year, with no accumulation of unused leave carried over to the following
calendar year. Such military leave may be taken in hourly increments.

Civil Leave. The employee shall provide the Department with documentation to verify

eligibility for civil leave. _Civil leave does not include leave for military duty in
connection with national defense, national disaster or civil disturbances. Al
eEmployees (including temporary) shall be eligible for paid civil leave under the
following conditions:

011,01 Jury Duty. When an employee is called to serve as a juror, civil leave
without loss of pay shall be granted during the time when the employee’s
physical presence is required by the court. Employees will return to work
when the employee’s physical presence is not required by the court.

1,
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must-vebebyuse-of-an-absentee-ballot: An employee who is a registered
voter and does not have two (2) consecutive hours in the period between the
time of the opening and closing of the polls during which he or she is not
required to be present at work for the Department is entitled on election day
to be absent from employment for such a period of time as will, in addition
the employee’s nonworking time, total two (2) consecutive hours between the
time of the opening and closing of the polls. If the employee applies for such
leave of absence prior to or on election day., paid civil leave of two {2) hours
will be granted. The Department may specify the hours during which the
employee may be absent. The two (2) hours authorized for voting does not
apply to those employees who choose to vote by the use of an absentee ballot
or who by reason of their employment must vote by use of an absentee ballot.
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Court/Hearing Appearances. While serving as a witness under a work-

related subpoena or voluntarily at the request of the Department, the
employee shall be excused from work with pay during the time that the
employee's presence is required by the court or administrative body which
issued the subpoena, or as required to testify when requested by the
Department. At all other times during the employee's regular work day, the
employee who is subject to a work-related subpoena shall be on the job and
working. Any witness fee received under such subpoena shall be remitted to
the funding source from which the employee’s salary is paid.

Employees attending court or an administrative hearing as a plaintiff,
defendant, or witness on non-work related matters, shall use vacation leave
or earned compensatory time, if available. If the employee does not have
vacation leave or compensatory time available, the appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee shaltmay grant leave without
pay. In the event the employee is subpoenaed for non-work related matters
and does not have vacation leave or compensatory fime the appropriate
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Miscellaneous Leave. Employees shall be eligible for the following types of leave:

|

012.01 Interviews. Interviews with employees for positions within the Department
shall be performed during work hours. Time spent for interviews, and travel
to attend such interviews which occur during the employee’s regular work
day shall be compensable.

012.02 Leave of Absence. Employees with at least three (8) years of Department
service are eligible for a leave of absence without pay. Aleave of absence of
three (3) months or less for professional advancement, special training, or
other good and sufficient reasons may be granted by the Commissioner. A
leave of absence of more than three (3) months is subject to approval by the
State Board of Education, which will review the request and the
recommendation of the Commissioner of Education. Such leave of absence
shall be requested in writing to the Commissioner through the appropriate
member of the Leadership Council. Leaves of absence may be with or
without pay, or a combination thereof, at the determination of the
Department.

012.028 At the expiration of an approved leave of absence, employees shall
return to a position of a similar classification or paygrade as the
position the employee held prior to leave, if available. Ifno such
position is available, the employee shall be considered “laid off”
under the provisions of Chapter 12 of this Title. Failure on the
part of an employee to return to work on the agreed upon date,
except for satisfactory reasons submitted to and approved by the
Commissioner prior to the agreed upon return date, may be cause
for dismissal.

012.02B  Vacation and sick leave shall not accrue while on leave of absence
without pay. However, vacation and sick leave earned but not
used prior to leave of absence shall be carried forward upon
employee’s return to duty.

Ifthe State or Federal program from which the employee was paid
prior to the leave is terminated during the leave, the Department
may choose to pay the employee on leave for his/her unused
vacation leave balance.

012.03 Leave to Donate Blood. With the advance approval of their immediate
supervisor, employees may be allowed paid time away from the job to donate
blood in state-sponsored drives held in state offices, or to donate blood at the
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request of blood banks or centers facing a blood supply emergency. The
amount of leave time granted shall be at the discretion of the immediate
supervisor.

Donating blood under circumstances unrelated to state-sponsored drives or

supply emergencies shall require employees to obtain advance approval to
use vacation leave or to adjust their work hours to complete a full work day.

Employee Assistance Program. Employees attending Employee Assistance

012.05

Program (EAP) sessions at the Department’s direction shall do so at the
Department’s expense and may attend during work time. If an employee
wishes to voluntarily attend EAP sessions in order to address personal issues
that are affecting work performance, supervisors may authorize the employee
to do so during work time without being charged sick or vacation leave.
Employees attending EAP sessions on their own initiative shall do so at their
own expense and shall use approved sick or vacation leave, compensatory
time, or leave without pay.

Retirement Seminars. Leave with pay shall be provided to eligible

012.06

employees to attend up to two (2) planning seminars and two (2) pre-
retirement planning programs presented by the Nebraska Public Employees
Retirement Systems.

Injury Leave. Employees who are subject to the provisions of the Workers’

Compensation Act are entitled to the benefits of that law due to injury or
occupational disease arising out of and in the course of their employment.
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Gompensation:

012.06A Injury or occupational disease arising out of and in the course of
employment shall be reported to the Department’s Human
Resources Office as soon as possible. See Chapter 15, Section 008
of this Title for additional information on Worker’s Compensation.

Emplovees entitled to be paid Workers’ Compensation shall be
granted injury leave with full pay for the first five (5) work days
they are unable to work due to injury or due to treatments for
such injury, including the day of injury (if inability to work began
on that day). At the expiration of injury leave, provisions of the
Workers’ Compensation Act shall apply. Injuryleave shall not be
charged to vacation or sick leave.
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012.06C Employees who are receiving Workers’ Compensation for injury or
occupational disease occurring out of and in the course of
employment, shall have the option of electing to use accumulated
unused sick and/or vacation leave and accumulated unused
compensatory time (if applicable) to supplement Workers’
Compensation up to but not exceeding the regular rate of pay.
Employees electing this option shall be charged sick or vacation
leave or compensatory time, and earn sick and vacation leave in
proportion fo the percentage of gross wages paid by the
Department. The Department’s share of the health insurance
premium will be paid during an absence under Workers
Compensation after all accrued leave and compensatory time have
been depleted. Sick and vacation leave shall accrue during a
period of absence that is being paid for by Workers’ Compensation
only in proportion to the amount of sick or vacation leave used
during the period, if any.

012.068D Holidays occurring during a pay period during which Workers’
Compensation benefits are received shall be paid at a rate
propertionate to the number of hours worked and/or acerued leave
time hours used during the pay period.

Disaster Relief Leave. Employees who provide proof of their disaster relief

volunteer certification with the American Red Cross may, with appropriate
supervisory authorization, be granted paid civil leave, not to exceed fifteen
(15) work days in each calendar year, to participate in specialized disaster
relief services in Nebraska for the American Red Cross, upon the request of

TITLE 93 -
CHAPTER 9 -- LEAVE AND HOLIDAYS
012.07
the American Red Cross.
012.08

Adoption Leave. The mother of a newly adopted child shall, upon request,

receive the same leave allowances as an employee who is a new mother by
natural birth. This leave is six (6) weeks, which is the generally accepted
medical standard leave period for new mothers by natural birth. The leave
shall be taken first as sick leave, and if and when sick leave is exhausted,
then as vacation leave, or compensatory time, if available. FMLA leave is
also available in accordance with provisions of Section 006 of this Chapter. A
father of a newly adopted child shall receive leave on the same terms as a
father by natural birth per Section 005.02D of this Chapter.

An employee is not eligible for adoption leave if the child being adopted is a
special needs child over eighteen (18) years of age, a child who is over eight
(8) years of age and is not a special needs child, a stepchild being adopted by
his or her stepparent, a foster child being adopted by his or her foster parent,
or a child who was originally under a voluntary placement for purposes other
than adoption without assistance from an attorney, physician, or other
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individual or agency which later results in a petition for the adoption of the
child by the person with whom the voluntary placement was made.

012.09  Attendance at Legislative Hearings. Employees may be allowed to utilize
vacation leave or compensatory time off (or modified work schedule for those
employees who do not earn compensatory time) for the purpose of attending
legislative hearings of their own choosing. Upon notification to the
employee’s supervisor of the purpose of such request for time off, said request
may not be unreasonably denied. Such employee’s supervisor shall be given
as much prior notice as possible under the circumstances as to when such
leave is proposed.

Catastrophic Illness Donation. The provisions of this Section are non-grievable.

Employees may contribute accrued vacation leave to benefit another employee in the
Department who is personally experiencing a catastrophic illness. The recipient must
initiate a request by completing and signing a donation request form provided by the
Department. Leave shall be donated in no less than four (4) hour increments. The
contributing employee must complete and sign a donation authorization form provided
by the Department and identify the number of hours of vacation leave being donated
and the recipient. Vacation leave donated to, and used by, another employee pursuant
to this provision cannot be returned to the credit of the donor’s vacation leave account.
Catastrophic Leave will be available only to employees who have exhausted their own
paid leave through bona fide serious iliness or accident.

013.01 Recipient Eligibility. In order to receive a leave donation employees must:

013.01A Be experiencing a serious illness or injury that requires a
prolonged absence of at least thirty (30) consecutive calendar days
during the past six (6) months;

013.01B Produce satisfactory medical verification of the requirements of
Section 013.01A of this Chapter;

013.01C Have one (1) year of service to the Department;
018.01D Have exhausted all earned paid leave time including
compensatory time, sick leave, and vacation leave through bona

fide serious illness or accident; and,

013.01E Not have offered anything of value in exchange for the donation.

013.02 Donor Eligibility. In order to make a leave donation employees must:

013.02A Not have solicited nor accepted anything of value in exchange for
the donation; or,
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013.02B Have remaining to his/her credit at least forty (40) hours of
acerued vacation leave after the donation has been made.

013.08 Donation Value Conversion. Leave donated will be converted to a dollar
value and then converted to hours based on the recipient’s hourly rate. No
more than 800 converted hours of donated leave may be received by an
employee during a twelve (12) month period.

013.04 Donation Period. Donations cannot be retroactively applied to the thirty (30)
consecutive calendar day qualifying period required in Section 013.01A of
this Chapter.

Service Date Adjustments. The employee’s Sgervice Bdates shall be adjusted when an

unpaid absence exceeds fourteen (14) consecutive calendar days. The adjustment will
correspond to the number of days the employee is on unpaid leave. Employees may
apply available, accumulated paid leave on their monthly timesheet in order to prevent
a service date adjustment, to qualify for paid holiday leave, or for other reasons, in 1o
less than eight (8) hour increments for purposes of this Section. One (1) work day shall
be eight (8) hours for a full-time employee or the corresponding percentage of FTE for
part-time employees.
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Conducting Appraisals. Employees shall be appraised on their job performance at

002

regular intervals as determined appropriate by Department supervisors. Performance
appraisals shall be completed on forms developed and/or approved by the Deputy
Comumissioner.

Special Performance Appraisal. A special performance appraisal may be submitted

003

whenever the supervisor desires to record instances of performance worthy of
recognition, either favorable or unfavorable. Reasons for submission of a special
performance appraisal shall be explained in the comments section of the appraisal.

Signing the Appraisal. The signatures on the appraisal indicate that the appraisal has

<
S
=

|

been discussed. The employee’s signature does not imply agreement with the appraisal.
Within five {(5) work days of receipt of the appraisal, employees may submit a written
statement that shall be attached to the appraisal and become a permanent part thereof.
No additional written observation shall be made on the appraisal after the employee
has signed the appraisal without notification to the employee. Employees shall be
provided with a copy of the completed performance appraisal immediately after the
Reviewer’s signing of the appraisal.

Grievance. Employees shall not grieve the subjective content of a performance appraisal
under the provisions of Chapter 14 of this Title. They may, however, grieve the validity
of the appraisal as provided below:

004.01 A grievance may be filed if the evaluated employee can establish
discrimination by reason of sex, race, color, age, national origin, marital
status, religion, or disability; the evaluator maliciously misrepresented an
employee’s manner of performance; the evaluator provided false information
on the appraisal instrument; or the evaluator was not in a direct supervisory
or management position covering the daily work of the employee being
evaluated.
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Home Address. All employees are required to provide a current physical home address
to the Department’s Human Resources Office.

Content. Personnel records shall include all information stored in any form by the
Department’s Human Resources Office which is personally identifiable with an
individual employee or former employee. The Department agrees to maintain one
official Department personnel file per individual for the provisions of this Chapter. The
one official Department personnel file will be maintained at the State Office Building in
the Department’s Human Resources Office. Copies of materials from the official
personnel file on an employee may be maintained at the work site of the particular
employee.

002.01 Public Information. Public information contained in personnel records shall
consist only of the full name of the employee; the employee’s job title and
date(s) of employment; a statement as to whether the individual is or was an
employee of the Department; the employee’s work location and work phone
number; and the gross salary of the employee. Public personnel information
shall be provided to any party requesting it. Additionally, pursuant to
Section 84-712.05(15) R.R.S., all “job application materials”, as defined in
that subsection, that are submitted by persons who are hired and become
employees of the Department, are public records and are required to be
provided upon proper request under the state public records laws.

002.02  Confidential Information. Confidential information contained in personnel
records shall include all information which is not considered public
information. Confidential information shall be released only to the employee;
the Board; any Department administrator or supervisor in the line of
authority to the employee; staff from the Department’s Human Resources
Office or the Department’s General Counsel’s Office; any governmental law
enforcement, or investigative agency or representative upon presentation of
proper identification to the Department’s Human Resources Office; a
subpoena or court order; anyone who presents a notarized document signed
by the employee granting access to confidential information, or as reasonably
needed for the Department to defend itself in any legal or administrative
proceeding brought against the Department or any of its officials or
employees in their professional capacities, or as reasonably needed by the
Department to prosecute legal or administrative actions brought by the
Department.

Inspection and Copies. An employee of the Department shall be allowed to inspect
and/or obtain a copy of their own personnel file at any time during working hours. It is
understood that such original files cannot be removed from the premises. Upon the
specific request to the Department’s Human Resources Office by an employee, the
Department will, within ten (10) work days, provide either the specific documents
requested or copies thereof or the original personnel file or a copy thereof for the
employee’s review at the worksite.
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Cost. The cost of any copies of the files will be assumed by the Department unless said
copies are of material which had been provided the employee, in which case the cost of
such copies shall be assessed to the employee at the rate per copy charged for public
records per the Department’s Administrative Memorandum #606.

Notice. Employees shall be notified by the Department in writing within ten (10) work
days of any information being placed in their personnel file by persons other than the
employee which information bears upon the character of the employee or the employee’s
job performance. The Department will be required to reproduce the information for the
employee in accordance with Section 003 of this Chapter.

Release of Information. All third party inquiries requesting information regarding the

007

employment record of an employee shall be directed to the Department’s Human
Resources Office. The Department’s Human Resources Office shall forward an
Authorization for Release of Employment Records form to the requestor who shall be
responsible for securing a written authorization from the former employee and
returning the form to the Department’s Human Resources Office. Upon receipt of a
completed and notarized release form, the Department’s Human Resources Office shall
provide the information to the requestor. Ifno written authorization is received, the
Department’s Human Resources Office shall release only public information. The
release form shall be retained in the employee’s personnel file.

Medical Records. Employee records of medical examination and other miscellaneous

008

medical records will be maintained in the Department’s Human Resources Office in a
separate locked filing cabinet. Appropriate steps will be taken to safeguard the
confidentiality of medical records to assure their access only to personnel who require
them to carry out an assigned responsibility.

Post-Employment. This Chapter does not cover the inclusion of information in any

employee’s personnel file following termination of the employee. Former employees
have reasonable rights of access to their Department personnel file, subject to the

provisions in this Title.
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Effective. A resignation is effective when accepted in writing or orally by a supervisor or
any member of the Department’s Human Resources Office or the Department’s General

001.01 Absent extenuating circumstances, an employee will be considered as
abandoning his/her job if absent from their designated work site more than
two (2) consecutive work days without giving notice. Abandonment is

Payment for Vacation Leave. Vacation leave not used prior to the last day of

employment shall be paid to the employee in one lump sum, to be mailed to the
employee after termination except as provided for in Chapter 9, Section 004.05 of this

Determining Authority. The Commissioner, after providing written notification to the
Board, may separate any employee without prejudice after thirty (30) calendar days
written notice, because of reduction in funds or in work load. It shall be left to the
discretion of the Commissioner to determine whether the layoff shall be geographical,
organizational, program, by classification, or any combination thereof,

Layoff General Rules. When a layoff of employees occurs, the following general rules

004.01 Layoffs shall be identified by the budget and program areas within a specific
locality. The Department shall identify the classification(s) and affected
positions within classification(s) for layoff to provide the most officient and
productive operation of the Department. Within the identified
classification(s), the order of layoff will be based on seniority (based on the
employees—adjusted-service—dote—with—the Department service d-ate or
Department adjusted service date as opposed to any adjusted service date
that is calculated due to prior State service at another State Agency).

001

Counsel’s Office.

considered a voluntary resignation.

002

Title.
003
004

shall apply:
005

Transfer Rights — Vacant Positions. Employees who have received written notice of

layoff shall have the right to exercise transfer rights under this Section. If there is a
vacant position in the Department for which the employee satisfies the qualification
requirements as determined by the Department, the employee may elect to transfer to
such vacant position.

005.01 Within eight (8) calendar days of a laid off employee being provided such
notice, the employee must notify the Department in writing of any intentions
to transfer in accordance with this Section.

005.02 If more than one laid off employee elects to transfer into a vacant position,
the selection will be made based on seniority.
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In determining the priority of transfers identified in this Section, transfers to
vacant positions in the same geographical area (i.e., within sixty [60] miles)
shall be given priority over transfers to positions in a different geographical
area.

An employee who transfers to another position in the same classification
shall be transferred so as to effectuate no loss in pay.

Recall and Re-employment. This Section specifies how laid off employees shall be either

recalled or given re-employment opportunities for vacancies created following a layoff.

006.01

Recall to Previously Eliminated Position. Following a layoff, when a

006.02

previously eliminated position is restored, the employee occupying the
position at the time of reduction in force shall have recall priority subject to
Sections 006.02A through 006.02C of this Chapter.

Recall to Vacancy in the Same Classification Series. Followinga layoff, when

006.03

a vacancy is created in the same classification series, employees who satisfy
the required qualifications as determined by the Department shall be
recalled in reverse order of a layoff or transfer in lieu of layoff as follows:

006.02A At the time the vacancy occurs, the Department shall notify the
first five (5) qualified employees in line for recall of the vacancy.

006.02B Such employee(s) shall then have ten (10) work days following
date of notification to accept or refuse the recall by providing
written notice to the Department. The recall vacancy will be
offered to the employee with the most seniority who provides
written acceptance within ten (10) work days.

006.02C Failure to Respond, Employees who fail to respond by either
accepting or refusing the recall vacancy on two (2) successive
notifications shall forfeit further recall rights.

Re-employment Opportunities. In the event that a vacancy occurs as

provided in Section 006.02 of this Chapter and there are no persons laid off or
transferred in lieu of layoff who held a position in the classification series at
the time layoff began, the Department shall notify all laid off employees of
the vacancy and the qualifications required to hold the position. Such
employees shall then have ten (10) calendar days following receipt of such
notice to apply for said position. The Department has the right to hire the
most qualified applicant.
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006.04  The pay rate of an employee who occupies a position of a lower classification
as a result of recall from layoff or re-employment shall be set in accordance
with Chapter 6, Section 004 of this Title.

006.05 Financia] Assistance for Relocating. In cases in which employees have
received state financial assistance, per Chapter 15, Section 017 of this Title,
in geographically relocating to avoid layoff, there shall be no requirement for
such assistance if recalled to their previous position.

007  Time Period for Recall and Re-employment. During the twelve (12) month period
following layoff or transfer in lieu of layoff of the employee, no new employees will be
bired to fill vacant positions until all employees on layoff or transfer in lieu of layoff who
desire to return to work and who are qualified for the vacant position(s) have had the
opportunity to be recalled or re-employed per Section 006 of this Chapter. It shall be the
responsibility of the employee who was laid off or transferred in lieu of layoff to be
available for recall or re-employment during such time, and such employee shall be
responsible for providing the Department with a current address. It shall be the
responsibility of the employee who was laid off or transferred in lieu of layoff to update
and/or supplement the written documentation in their personnel file regarding their
employment qualifications so as to allow the Department to evaluate their eligibility for
recall or re-employment under Section 006 of this Chapter.

007.01 During the twelve (12) month period, employees may waive their rights to
receive recall and re-employment notice rights contained in this Chapter by
providing a written statement to the Department’s Human Resources Office.

008  Accumulat Employees who are laid off shall be paid at the time of
layoff for all accumulated and unused vacation leave, sick leave if eligible under
Chapter 9, Section 005.12A of this Title compensatory time off, and overtime. Statutory
provisions for the retention of vacation and sick leave shall not be modified by this
Chapter.

009 on. "Notification," as used in this Chapter, shall mean Certified Mail to the

's last known address, or personal delivery, or deposit at last known residence.
In the event of personal delivery, a receipt, acknowledging delivery will be signed by the

laid off employee,
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Grounds. Grounds for corrective, disciplinary action, and/or dismissal include, but are
not limited to:

001.01

o
=1
=
o
S

[
(=3
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=)
Y

Violation of, or failure to comply with, the State Constitution, any statute; an
executive order; published rules and regulations of the Department;
Department policies or procedures including work rules, this Chapter, or
administrative memoranda.

Failure or refusal to comply with a lawful order or to accept a reasonable or
proper assignment from an authorized supervisor.

Inefficiency, incompetence, or negligence in the performance of duties.

Careless, negligent, improper, or unsafe use of state property, equipment, or
funds; or, conversion of state property. This includes transmitting
threatening, obscene, or harassing material through the State’s
communication systems.

Use of bribery or undue influence to gain or attempt to gain promotion, leave,
favorable assignment, or other individual benefit or advantage.

Falsification, fraud, or willful omission of information when applying for a
position, applying for or renewing required credentials, performing the duties
of a position, or completing records or reports relevant for the Department.

Unauthorized or improper use of any type of leave, repeated tardiness,
repeated failure to comply with scheduled work hours, including meal or rest
periods, or absence without approved leave.

Failure to maintain satisfactory working relationships with the public, other
Department employees, supervisors or managers, or with persons placed
under the direct care and responsibility of the employee.

Failure to obtain and maintain a current license or certificate required by
law or Department standards as a condition of employment.

Violation of any provision of the Department’s Code of BEthics under the
provisions of Chapter 16 of this Title.

Conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor when the conviction involves any act
or conduct that also meets the grounds of Section 001.12 of this Chapter.
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Conduct which brings discredit to the Department, the State, or which
impairs an employee’s services and/or the Department’s performance or
function.

Unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensation, possession, or use of a
controlled substance or alcoholic beverage in the workplace or reporting for
duty under the influence of alcohol and/or unlawful drugs.

Insubordinate acts of language which seriously hamper the Department’s
ability to control, manage, or function.

Acts or conduct (on or off the job) which adversely affects the employee’s
performance and/or the successful completion of the Department’s
performance or function.

Unlawful work place discrimination (harassment) based in whole or in part,
on race, color, sex, sexual orientation, religion, age, disability, or national
origin, which manifests itself in the form of unwelcome comments, jokes,
printed material, and/or unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual
favors, or other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature,

Display of obscene materials and/or the utterance of offensive comments in
the workplace that are derogatory toward a group or individual based upon
race, sex, sexual orientation, color, religion, disability, age, or national origin.

Possession of any type of firearm during the course of performing their job.
The prohibition includes transporting firearms into any work site or in a
state vehicle.

Suspension With Pay. A suspension with pay is an ordered absence from duty while on

full pay status for a prescribed period of time. A suspension with pay may be ordered
only upon approval of the Deputy Commissioner. This action allows for: an immediate
response to a suspected but not fully substantiated offense; a period in which an
investigation can be thoroughly pursued as expediently as possible; or, for other reasons
at the discretion of the Deputy Commissioner. Suspensions with pay are not grievable.

002.01A The ordered suspension with pay shall be in writing, signed by the Deputy

Commissioner, and shall become part of the employee’s official personnel file.
If the employee is absent when a suspension with pay is ordered, the Deputy
Commissioner shall direct written notice to the employee by Certified Mail
with instructions to “Deliver to Addressee Only, Return Receipt Requested”
or by personal delivery, or deposit to the employee’s last known address.
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If a suspension with pay is ordered to allow for an investigation of a
suspected offense, and if the offense is not substantiated, then the ordered
suspension shall be removed from the employee’s personnel file.

In the absence of the Deputy Commissioner, the appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee may order an employee’s
suspension with pay for up to ten (10) calendar days. Upon the Deputy
Commissioner’s return, the Deputy Commissioner will affirm or modify the
suspension with pay within five (5) calendar days.

Corrective Action.

003.01

Oral Counseling. This is an informal level of corrective action. It is a

003.02

warning given by an immediate supervisor in conference with an employee in
which the matter that caused the corrective action to be taken is discussed
and the employee is advised what action is expected of him/her to correct the
problem. A written record of the oral counseling may be prepared if a copy is
provided to the employee; however, no record of it shall be placed in the
employee's personnel file.

Written Warning. When, in the opinion of the supervisor, oral counseling is

not an adequate measure to correct the deficiency, a written warning, which
shall be considered a corrective action, may be imposed. The written warning
must be fully documented and must include an oral conference between the
supervisor and the employee at the time the written warning is presented or
as otherwise agreed to by both parties. The written narrative shall be
consistent with the oral conference. The written warning shall be dated, shall
explain the reason for the warning, and shall explain the action expected of
the employee to correct the cause or problem. Both the supervisor and the
employee shall sign the written warning, and the employee shall be given a
copy of the completed and signed warning. The employee's signature thereon
does not imply agreement with the contents of the written warning, but only
that he/she has seen it and understands it. The written warning shall be
considered effective on the date that it is issued to and received by the

employee.

003.02A Written warnings shall be issued on official forms the Department
may designate for this purpose.

003.02B The employee has the opportunity to attach written rebuttal,
clarification, or objection to the written warning within five (5)
work days of receipt by the employee.
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003.02C The written warning shall become inactive ninety (90) calendar
days after having been issued to the employee unless the
originating supervisor shall renew it by additional written
commentary on the original form explaining the renewal.

003.02C1 When the written warning is renewed, the employee
shall again have the opportunity to offer written
commentary in response to the renewal and shall be
provided with a copy of the annotated (renewed) form.

003.02C2 A written warning may be renewed no more than one
(1) time.

003.02C3 All record of the written warning shall be removed
from the employee’s personnel file ninety (90) calendar
days after it shall become inactive. It may only be
retained by the Department in a separate file for
warnings and may be referenced by the Department or
employee in the event of litigation, personnel action,
audit, or other administrative proceeding or complaint,
if relevant,.

004  Forms of Discipline. Four (4) forms of disciplinary action are available for supervisory
use by the Department. The seriousness and/or nature of the situation will determine
the form of discipline to be used. These are:

004.01 Suspension Without Pay. A suspension without pay is an ordered suspension
from duty for a prescribed period of time for which no pay, vacation, sick, or
holiday leave is granted, nor is vacation, sick, or holiday leave accrued. A
suspension without pay may be ordered only upon written approval of the
Deputy Commissioner.

004.01A The length of the suspension shall be determined by the Deputy
Commissioner in view of the seriousness of the violation and/or
continued violation after the employee has been duly warned.

004.01B  An ordered suspension without pay shall be in writing and signed
by the Deputy Commissioner, and shall become part of the
employee’s official personnel file. If the employee is absent when
a suspension without pay is ordered, the Deputy Commissioner
shall direct written notice to that employee by Certified Mail with
instructions to “Deliver to Addressee Only, Return Receipt
Requested” or personal delivery, or deposit to the employee’s last
known address.
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Disciplinary Demotion. The movement of an employee from the present

004.03

position to one of lesser responsibility and/or authority and to alower salary,
may be ordered only upon the written approval of the Deputy Commissioner,
a copy of which is provided to the employee.

004.02A A request for disciplinary demotion shall be in writing with full
documentation, signed by the supervisor and the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. The
disciplinary demotion shall be signed by the Deputy
Commissioner and shall become a part of the employee’s official
personnel file.

Administrative Probation. An administrative probation is a period of time,

not more than six (6) calendar months, imposed by the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee, for disciplinary
reasons during which the employee must rectify the performance or behavior
which led to the imposition of the disciplinary action. The notice of
administrative probation shall be in writing, dated, and shall inform the
employee of the reason for the probation, the action required for
improvement, and state that failure to improve may result in further action.
The employee shall acknowledge receipt of the probation notice by signing
the document. The employee’s signature on the notice of administrative
probation does not imply agreement with the notice of administrative
probation.

004.03A Employees placed in an administrative probationary status shall
not be promoted or granted pay increases during the
administrative probationary period.

004.03B Employees granted vacation, sick, holiday, bereavement, civil,
administrative, or military leave while on administrative
probation may have their probation extended by the number of
days absent on leave.

004.03C The administrative probation may be extended by the Deputy
Commissioner for a period not to exceed a cumulative total of one
(1) calendar year. Reasons for such extension shall be made
known to the employee in writing.

004.03D The termination of a permanent employee on administrative
probation does not preclude the filing of a grievance by the
employee.

004.03E An employee may be placed on administrative probation, upon
return to work, following a suspension.
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004.03F An employee may be removed from administrative probation at
any time,

004.04  Dismissal. Dismissalisremovalfrom employment-with-the Departmentfor-failure

to-respond-te-previous-diseiplinary-aetions-or-when-extreme eiresmstanees-render
any-preceding-steps-unnecessary-orinappropriate: An employvee may be dismissed
from employment with the Department for failure to respond to previous disciplinary
actions or when extreme circumstances render any preceding steps unnecessary or

inappropriate.

004.04A The Commissioner shall recommend dismissal to the State Board
of Education, and the decision to dismiss shall be made by the
State Board of Education.

004.04B  Prior to the Board making a final decision, the Commissioner may
elect to take whatever action he/she chooses which affects the
employee.
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Commissioner shall inform the employee in writing of a time at
which the employee may present any additional facts, material, or
evidence yegarding his/her dismissal to the Commissioner,
Failure by the employee to appear before the Conunissioner shall
act as a waiver by the employee to the aforementioned meeting
prior to action by the State Board,
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daterandfor-place: The employee may be represented by a third
party in the meeting with the Commissioner, but the time, date
and/or place of said meeting shall not be postponed or rescheduled
because the representative of the employee is unable to attend
unless both the Commissioner and the employee mutually agree
to another time, date and/or place.
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Within three (3) work days following the scheduled date of the
meeting with the Commigsioner, the Commissioner shall provide
the employee a copy of his/her recommendations and the action
which the Commissioner has decided to impose. A copy of the
Commissioner's dismissal recommendation shall be forwarded to
the Board. This written recommendation will be hand delivered
or sent by Certified Mail to the employee. If an attempt to deliver
is not successful, then delivery may be accomplished by personal
delivery or deposit to the emplovee’s last known address. The
{hree (3) work day period may be extended upon sgreement
between the Commis@ioner and the employee Thig-tettershall
state-thedecicionand-thereasens-for-dismissek The letter shall
also contain the following facts:

§®) ]
Boare:

004.04E1 The employee may obtain a hearing before the
Board or, at the Board’s option, its designated
hearing officer, by delivering a written request to
the Commissioner within ten (10) work days of
receipt of the Commissioner’s letter of notice; and

004.04E2 The date, time, and place of the hearing will be
communicated in writing to the employee.

004.04E3 When a hearing is held, the employee may be
present and be heard, be represented by counsel,
examine documentary evidence presented, cross-
examine witnesses, offer documentary evidence,
and present witnesses. Hearings shall be conducted
in accordance with Title 92, Nebraska
Administrative Code, Chapter 61.
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004.04F

004.04G

004.04FE3a  The Hearing Officer’s findings of fact and
recommendation to the State Board and the
State Board’s order in a contested case shall be
considered public records.

If no timely written request of a hearing is received by the
Commissioner, the recommendation for dismissal shall appear
in the Commissioner’s Report (Consent Agenda), for the next
regularly scheduled State Board of Education meeting.

When the Department determines that immediate disciplinary
action is required for an employee not officed in Lincoln, the
Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner may designate an
individual to sign and deliver the notice of disciplinary action
to the employee for the Commissioner or Deputy
Commissioner. The disciplinary action will be effective
immediately upon the receipt of such notice by the employee.
The Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner will subsequently
sign and forward a copy of such notice to the disciplined
employee.
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001 Eligibility. All employees occupying a permanent position have grievance rights.
Applicants, temporary employees, contract employees, and employees on original
probation have no grievance rights within this Chapter. An employee who has
successfully completed an original probation period shall retain grievance rights during
subsequent probation periods per Chapter 5, Section 004 of this Title.

002 Definition. A grievanceis definedasa contention of misapplication or violation of any of
the following: Department policies, rules or regulations including these Personnel
Rules, written administrative policies, other written operating procedures, laws, or
written instructions pertaining to employees.

02.01 Effective Dates of Management Actions. Filing of a grievance does not delay
the effective date of any management action. Initiation ofa grievance related
to suspension without pay or demotion shall not stay the effective date. In
the event that a suspension without pay or demotion is not supported
through the grievance procedures, the employee shall be returned to his or
her position as though said suspension without pay or demotion had not
taken place.

[end

003 Non-Grievable Matters. The following issues, when done in compliance with established
law, rule or Department policy, are examples of non-grievable matters. The list below is
not to be considered all-inclusive:

003.01 Performance appraisals;

003.02 Department appointments, including promotions to positions;

003.03 Involuntary transfers not requiring the employee to relocate;

003.04 Leave of absence decisions;

003.05 Payment of moving expenditures;

003.06 Merit increase allocations;

003.07 Position classification, including, but not limited to, reclassification per
Chapter 6 of this Title;

003.08 Investigatory suspensions with pay;

003.09 Pay adjustments pursuant to Chapter 7 of this Title; and

003.10 Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) status determinations;

003.11 Regardless of compliance with laws, rules, regulations, or Department

policies, an employee may not grieve actions or inactions that were alleged to
have been done to or concern another employee.

004  Anemployee may grieve layoffs (and/or transfer, recall and re-employment rights) only
on the grounds of unlawful discrimination or failure to follow the provisions of the
Personnel Rules in regard to the layoff.

005 Disciplinary Dismissals. Employees may contest disciplinary dismissals according to

the provisions in Chapter 13, Section 004.04 of this Title.
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Grievance Procedure. The employee may be accompanied at any step of the grievance

procedure by a representative of the employee’s selection. The Department may also be
accompanied by a representative at any step. A grievance form shall be provided by the
Department and made available to each and every employee upon request. This form is
reproduced in Appendix A of this Title. No employee shall be denied the right to a
grievance hearing by reason of the employee’s failure to properly fill out or fully
complete the grievance form. However, a signed grievance form must be utilized in
order to file a grievance. The Grievance Procedure shall be as follows:

006.01

Step One. Within fifteen (15) work days of the employee’s knowledge of the
event or condition which caused the grievance, the grievant shall first
request a meeting with the immediate supervisor and the next level of
supervision. In cases where the next level of supervision is the Deputy
Commissioner, then the Director of Human Resources shall attend the
meeting as the Deputy Commissioner’s designee. At the time the request is
made, the employee shall notify the supervisor(s) in writing that the meeting
will constitute Step One in the grievance procedure. Within five (5) work
days of the request, the immediate supervisor, next level supervisor, or
designee if applicable, and grievant shall meet. The supervisors shall arrive
at aresponse and communicate the same to the grievant, in writing, within
four (4) work days of the meeting. If the response is not satisfactory to the
grievant, Step One of the grievance shall be reduced to writing by the
employee on the approved form within three (3) work days of receipt of the
supervisors’ response and the supervisors shall have five (5) work days upon
receipt of the written grievance to provide the grievant with a written
answer. The grievant shall specifically identify the rules, procedures, or
policies, as defined in Section 002 of this Chapter, that are contended to be
misapplied.

006.01A 1In cases of disciplinary demotion or disciplinary suspension
without pay the grievant shall proceed as specified in Step Four of
this procedure without having to convene the meeting described in
Section 006.01 of this Chapter. The appeal to the State Board
referred to in Step Four below must be filed with the
Commissioner, in writing on the appropriate form, within fifteen
(18) work days of the grievant’s receipt of the Deputy
Commissioner’s suspension order or disciplinary demotion
approval.

006.01B In cases of administrative probation, the grievant shall submit
the grievance to the Deputy Commissioner in writing on the
appropriate form within ten (10) work days of the date of the
receipt of the notice described in Chapter 13, Section 004.03 of
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this Title without having to convene the meeting described in Step
One. The Deputy Commissioner shall give a written answer
within ten (10) work days of receipt of the grievance. If a
resolution to the grievance is not reached, the employee may
proceed as specified in Step Four of this procedure within fifteen
(15) work days of the receipt of the Deputy Commissioner’s
answer.

006.01C In cases where a Leadership Council Member or Commigsioner’s
designee other than the Director of Human Resources was one of
the supervisors that was party to the meeting at Step One,
Section 006.01 of this Chapter, then the grievant shall skip Step
Two below and proceed directly to Step Three within five (5) work
days of the employee’s receipt of the written answer to the
employee’s written grievance described in Section 006.01 of this
Chapter.

Step Two. When the written answer in the preceding step is not satisfactory
to the grievant, the grievant may, within five (5) work days of the receipt of
the supervisor’s written answer, present the completed grievance form to the
appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee who
shall give a written response to the grievant within five (5) work days
thereafter. If the next level of supervision above the grievant’s supervisor is
the Deputy Commissioner, Step Two shall be skipped and the grievant may
proceed directly to Step Three by presenting the completed grievance form to
the Deputy Commissioner within five (5) work days of the employee’s receipt
of the supervisors’ writben answer in Step One above.

Step Three. When the response in the preceding step is not satisfactory to
the grievant, the grievant may, within five (5) work days of receiving the
response from the appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee, present the grievance to the Deputy Commissioner
by submitting the completed grievance form. The Deputy Commissioner
shall give a written answer to the grievant within five (5) work days,

thereafter.

Step Four. If a resolution to the grievance is not reached, the grievant may,
within fifteen (15) work days after receipt of the Deputy Commissioner’s
decision, appeal the grievance to the State Board of Education. The appeal at
this level shall be directed to the Commissioner as Secretary of the State
Board of Education. This appeal shall include the filing of the grievance form
as described in Section 006.01 of this Chapter.
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Within ninety (90) calendar days after receiving the appeal, the
Commissioner shall place the matter on the agenda of a meeting
of the State Board of Education for a determination on if the State
Board or a hearing officer will conduct the hearing in accordance
with Section 006.04B of this Chapter.

The State Board of Education may elect to conduct the hearing or
may designate that a hearing officer, not an employee of the
Department, conduct a hearing and recommend a decision to the
Board. The employee shall be notified of the Board’s
determination of who will conduct the hearing and the time and
place of the hearing. In cases in which the Board elects to have a
hearing officer conduct the hearing, the hearing officer shall cause
a complete record to be made of all evidence offered at the time of
the hearing. The hearing officer shall prepare written findings of
fact and recommend a decision to the Board. The hearing officer
shall deliver these findings of fact and recommendation to the
State Board of Education together with a complete transcript of
all evidence offered at the time of the hearing. Hearings will be
conducted in accordance with Title 92, Nebraska Administrative
Code, Chapter 61. The hearing shall take place within ninety (90)
calendar days of the State Board meeting at which the matter
appeared on the agenda under Section 006.04A of this Chapter.

Both parties in a hearing pursuant to Step Four may present
witnesses, and these witnesses shall be subject to cross
examination. If the witness is an employee of the Department,
he/she shall be paid for those hours outside his/her normal hours
of work.

The Board may affirm, modify, or reverse the decision of the
Deputy Commissioner. The State Board of Education shall notify,
in writing, the aggrieved employee of the Board’s decision within
a reasonable time period.

Arbitration. At the time said appeal is filed pursuant to Step Four, the employee and/or
representative and the Commissioner may mutually agree to submit the dispute to
voluntary binding arbitration. Otherwise, the dispute shall be submitted to the State
Board of Education in accordance with this Chapter.

007.01 If both parties choose to submit the appeal to voluntary binding arbitration,
they shall sign a waiver within ten (10) work days indicating they
acknowledge that the decision of the arbitrator is final, except as provided in
the Uniform Arbitration Act, and cannot be appealed.
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The arbitrator’s scope of review shall be to determine whether or not term(s)
of these Personnel Rules hasfhave been violated, and whether the
Department’s action was taken in good faith and for cause. Arbitration
hearings shall be informal and the rules of evidence shall not apply. The
parties may be represented by attorneys in arbitration hearings. In cases
involving discipline, the Department shall present its case first, and in all
other cases the employee shall present his/her case first. The decision of the
arbitrator shall be final and may not be appealed. The arbitrator shall decide
the grievance in question based upon the issues presented in the written
grievance filed pursuant to the grievance procedure. The arbitrator may
interpret relevant provisions of the Personnel Rules and apply them to the
particular case presented to him/her, but the arbitrator shall have no
authority to add to, subtract from, or in any way modify the terms of the
Personnel Rules. The foe and expenses of an arbitrator shall be borne
equally by all parties. Arbitrators shallbe selected from lists developed and
mutually agreed upon by the parties. If the parties cannot agree upon an
arbitrator, a method of alternate striking of names shall be employed.

The Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner shall have the authority to set
time limitations for: the length of time within which an arbitrator must be
chosen; the amount of time the parties will have to present their case (each
party will receive the same amount of time); the time within which a case
must be heard after an arbitrator is appointed; the length of time that will be
allowed for the parties to submit post-hearing briefs; and the period of time
after a hearing within which the arbitrator must enter his/her decision. Post-
hearing briefs shall not be allowed in any case unless the parties and the
arbitrator are all in agreement as to the need for such briefs.

The decision of the arbitrator shall be made in writing within sixty (60)
calendar days of the hearing and shall include findings of fact and
conclusions of law. The findings of fact shall consist of a concise statement of
the conclusions upon each contested issue of fact. Parties to the proceeding
and the Department’s Human Resources Office shall receive a copy of the
decigion by first class U.S. mail. The arbitrator’s decision will become public
record upon submittal to the parties. If the arbitrator does not render a
decision within ninety (90) calendar days from the date the arbitration
hearing was held, a penalty of fifty dollars ($50) per day will be imposed and
deducted from the arbitrator’s fee for each day over ninety (90) calendar
days the decision is late, until the decision is received. This penalty may
only be waived upon mutual agreement of the parties.

Both parties must provide the other party and the arbitrator with a listing of

all exhibits to be introduced at the hearing, a copy of each exhibit, and a
listing of individuals that the party plans to call as witness(es) in the
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arbitration/hearing, at least five (5) calendar days prior to the hearing. Such
requests and/or notice shall be addressed to the party from which the
discovery is sought. Only discovery requests which are relevant or would
lead to relevant evidence for the grievance will be granted; however, in no
case will discovery be granted which seeks evidence which is recognized as
privileged by the Courts of this State. Discovery requests must be provided
within ten (10) work days of the receipt of the request, unless objections are
entered. Objections to discovery shall be made to the arbitrator, and the
arbitrator shall consider the matter and issue a decision.

Number of Days. The number of days indicated in each step of the procedure shall be

009

the maximum. Failure of the grievant to proceed to the next step within the maximum
time limit shall be considered as termination of the grievance. Failure of the
Department in any step to render a decision to the aggrieved employee(s) within the
maximum time limits shall automatically allow the aggrieved person(s) to proceed to the
next step.

“Days” shall mean regularly scheduled work days when the Nebraska Department of
Education, Nebraska State Office Building offices, are open, excluding, however, such
regularly scheduled work days during which employees involved in the procedure are
absent from the work site on approved leave or travel status. For all employees who are
permanently located at work sites other than 801 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln,
Nebraska, days as defined above shall be counted from the date of receipt. The day in
which an item is received is not counted as a day for the receiving party.

Any time period established herein may be extended upon the written consent of the
employee and the Deputy Commissioner.

Grievance Statement. The original Employee Grievance Statement shall remain

unchanged throughout the grievance procedure. Copies of the grievance statement and
response at each step shall be filed with the Department’s Human Resources Office by
the grievant.
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requirements, shall be determined by the appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee and the immediate supervisor.

Change in Work Schedule. Supervisors shall provide ten (10) work days

written notice to the affected employees prior to making changes in their
permanent work schedules. The supervisor may temporarily change an
employee’s work schedule for cause without the ten (10) work day

notification.

Lunch. Each day, employees shall have an unpaid lunch break of at least
thirty (30) minutes and no more than sixty (60) minutes unless they are
scheduled to work six (6) hours or less that day. If an employee is working
six (6) hours or less and would like to forgo the lunch break, the supervisor
can approve the request. Scheduling the time of the lunch break is subject to
the approval of the immediate supervisor. Schedule requests shall not be
unreasonably denied by the supervisor. Employees may not take a lunch
break for a shorter period of time than one-half (1/2) hour. A lunch break
may not be saved for use in shortening the work day.

Breaks. A rest break of fifteen (15) minutes may be taken during each four
(4) hours an employee is on the job. Break time may not be saved for use in
shortening the work day or in extending the lunch break. Rest breaks are
considered work time.

Overtime. Nothing contained in this Chapter shall be construed as limiting
the Department’s right to require overtime work by employees, subject to the
provisions of Chapter 8 of this Title.

Job Sharing. Job sharing may be allowed by mutual agreement of the

Deputy Commissioner, the appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee and the immediate supervisor. The Department
will attempt to maintain job sharing arrangements in effect as of the effective
date of this Chapter for as long as is practical and both involved employees
remain employed in their current positions.

Drug-Free Work Place. The unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession, or use of

any illicit drugs or of alcohol is prohibited in the work place. Employees who violate the
standards of conduct are subject to referral for prosecution.

002.01

Employees, who are convicted of a criminal-drug-statute violation occurring
in the work place, shall be subject to disciplinary action up to and including
termination; or shall be required to satisfactorily participate in an approved
drug/alcohol abuse or drug/alcohol rehabilitation program approved for such
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purposes by a federal, state, or local health law enforcement or other
appropriate agency.

002.02 Temporary employees or contractors who are convicted of a criminal-drug-
statute violation occurring in the work place shall be subject to termination
of employment/contract; or shall be required to participate satisfactorily in an
approved drug/alcohol abuse or drug/aleohol rehabilitation program.

002.03 Conviction for any criminal-drug-statute violation occurring in the work
place must be reported by the employee or contractor to the Department’s
Human Resources Office no later than five (5) calendar days after the
conviction.

jol
[
o

Harassment. Unlawful work place diserimination (harassment), based in whole or in
part on sex, race, color, religion, marital status, national origin, age, disability or
protected activity (such as an employee’s opposition to discrimination or participation in
complaint proceedings) constitutes unlawful work place discrimination (harassment).
Employees who commit unlawful work place discrimination (harassment) while
performing duties for the Department may be subject to disciplinary action, up to and
including dismissal from employment. Employees who make complaints or assist in
investigations of unlawful work place discrimination (harassment) will be protected
against retaliation.

|

003,01 Sexual Harassment. Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors,
and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature constitute sexual
harassment when:

003.01A Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly
a term or condition of an individual’s employment;

003.01B Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used
as the basis for employment decisions affecting such individual; or

003.01C  Such conduct has the purpose or effect of unreasonably interfering
with an individual's work performance or creating an
intimidating, hostile, or offensive working environment.

003.01D Sexual harassment does not include personal compliments
welcomed by the recipient or social interaction, or relationships
freely entered into by employees or prospective employees.

003.01E Behavior Constituting Sexual Harassment. In determining
whether alleged conduct constitutes sexual harassment, the
Department will look at the record as a whole and at the totality
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of the circumstances, such as the nature of the sexual behavior
and the context in which the behavior occurred. The
determination of the legality of a particular action will be made
from the facts on a case-by-case basis. Sexual harassment will not
be permitted during the work day, nor will acts of sexual
harassment be condoned outside the work environment if such are
construed to encroach on the normal working relationship.

Political Activities. Unless specifically restricted by federal or state law, employees may
participate in political activities except during office hours or when otherwise engaged
in the performance of their official duties. Employees may not, however, participate in
political activity using their status as a state employee to influence others.

Nepotism and Supervision of Relatives Family Members. Employvees shall not engage in

006

nepotism. Nepotism means the act of hiring, promoting, or advancing a family member
in state government or recommending the hiring, promotion, or advancement of a family
member in state government. This includes within the Department and with other
State Agencies, “Family Member” means an individual who is the spouse, child, parent,
brother. sister, grandchild, or grandparent, by blood, marriage, or adoption, of an official
or emplovee of the Department.

Employees shall not be assigned to positionsin which they directly supervise, evaluate,
or review the appraisal of an—immediate-relative g family member or to positions in
which they are directly supervised, evaluated, or reviewed by sinrmediaterelative 2

T
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Postsecondary Coursework During Work Time. Employees may request approval to

take up to seven (7) credit hours each calendar year from postsecondary institutions on
the semester schedule or up to nine (9) credit hours each calendar year from
postsecondary institutions on the quarter schedule, but no more than four (4) credit
hours may be taken in any one (1) semester or quarter during work time without loss of
pay. Employees may attend courses as part of regular work time. Depending on the
distance and location, travel time may also be considered regular work time. Prior
approval of course work and/or related travel time during work hours must be obtained
from the Deputy Commissioner. Requests and subsequent documentation must be
submitted on a form provided by the Department. Requests shall be directed through
the employee’s immediate supervisor to the Department’s Human Resources Office. Any
additional credit hours may be scheduled outside the normal working day. Approval
under this Section shall not be unreasonably denied.

For purposes of this Chapter, the term “postsecondary institution” means an institution
of higher learning accredited by an accrediting body that is recognized by the United
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States Secretary of Education and is authorized to grant associate, baccalaureate or
post-baccalaureate degrees.

006.01

Reimbursement for Postsecondary Coursework Expenses. As an alternative

006.02

to the above, employees may be eligible to receive not more than seven (7N
credit hours each calendar year of tuition reimbursement for courses from
postsecondary institutions on the semester schedule or not more than nine
(9) credit hours each calendar year of tuition reimbursement for courses from
postsecondary institutions on the quarter schedule for job-related courses.
Job relatedness shall be determined by the Deputy Commissioner, whose
decision shall be final. Reimbursement may be for any portion of the tuition
cost, required course fees, and books, with the employee being notified of the
amount of reimbursement prior to the beginning of the course. Eligibility for
reimbursement requires:

006.01A A course grade of “C” or better for undergraduate courses; or
006.01B A “pass” for pass/fail courses; or
006.01C A course grade of “B” or better for graduate courses.

006.01D Requests for reimbursement and substantiating documentation
must be made in writing prior to the beginning of the course on a
form provided by the Department. Requests shall be directed
through the employee’s immediate supervisor to the Department’s
Human Resources Office. Employees who receive tuition
reimbursement shall be required to reimburse the Department if
they voluntarily leave their employment with the Department
within one (1) year of the course completion date. The Department
requires written documentation to verify enrollment including
course dates and times, course completion and the grade earned.

Employees Directed to take Postsecondary Coursework. If an employee is

directed by the Department to take a job-related course at a postsecondary
institution, the Department shall pay for all costs of said course including
tuition, books, other required instructional materials, and fees. Job
relatedness shall be determined by the Deputy Commissioner whose decision
shall be final. The employee so directed shall be considered to be working for
the Department during classroom time, and any travel incurred to attend
such courses shall be treated as travel for the Department. The Department
shall require written documentation to verify the employee’s enrollment,
course completion and the grade earned.
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006.02A Employees may use Department computers for on-line courses
or homework if the employee has been directed to take a job-
related course for professional development per Section 006.02
of this Chapter.

Conference or Meeting Participation. In addition to the assigned activities of each

008

employee, the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee
shall maintain and carry out a policy of approving a reasonable request of each
employee to participate in meetings, conferences, or in-service activities related to the
employee’s job. Determination of reasonable requests and job relatedness shall rest
with the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. Upon
approval of such a request, the employee may attend such meeting, conference, or in-
service activity without loss of pay and at the expense of the Department. Additionally,
an employee may be permitted to participate in at least one (1) meeting, conference, or
in-service activity per year relating to the employee’s job consisting of a total of not more
than five (5) work days at the expense of said staff member without loss of pay. All
decisions made by management pursuant to the application of this Chapter are final.

Solicitation Policy. Soliciting employees during work hours is not authorized.

009

008.01 Vendors offering non work-related products for sale to employees are not
authorized to contact employees during the employee’s duty hours nor to sell,
promote, or distribute information on state property.

008.02 Employees who sell products for a secondary income may only contact other
employees during non-duty hours.

008.03 Employees located at all other work sites may, upont the approval of the local
administrator, post information on products for sale, and non-duty contact
times in locations provided for that purpose.

Worker's Compensation. All injuries, no matter how slight, occurring in the course of

010

employment, are to be reported immediately to the supervisor and the Department’s
Human Resources Office. An Employee Report of Alleged Occupational Injury Form
(available from the Department’s Human Resources Office) must be completed and
forwarded to the Department’s Human Resources Office by the employee as soon as
reasenably possible. In the event that the employee is incapable of completing and
signing the report, the employee’s immediate supervisor shall complete the report to the
best of his/her knowledge. The Employee Report of Alleged Occupational Injury shall be
completed and signed by the employee at the earliest possible date.

Usage of State Telephone/Telecommunications Resources. Employees should exercise

professional judgment in their use of business phones. The State telephone network is
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provided for official State business only. Long distance personal calls are not authorized
and must be charged to one’s resident telephone or personal credit card. Such calls may
also be placed from a toll phone.

Non-Exempt Employvee Travel Time. All required travel time, except as provided in

012

Section 011.01 of this Chapter, between a non-exempt employee’s permanent duty
station or personal residence and an alternative work site, (whichever of the two is the
shorter) to attend meetings, conferences, seminars, or training courses shall be
considered hours worked for pay purposes provided that an employee does not exceed
normal travel time for the approved mode of transportation from point to point.

011.01  Anon-exempt employee traveling by common carrier on overnight business
shall be paid for all travel time. However, only hours of travel which are
within the employee’s normal scheduled work hours are counted when
computing hours worked for overtime purposes (this includes travel hours on
weekends or holidays). The non-exempt employee’s time spent traveling
shall be paid at their normal straight time rate when the employee’s travel
meets all of the following conditions:

011.01A Outside of normal scheduled work hours;

011.01B  On overnight business;

011.01C By common carrier; and

011.01D Employee is not doing actual work while traveling.

Personal Vehicles. When reasonably requested by the Department, or when requested

013

by the employee and approved by the Department, employees may use their own
automobile for work-related travel at a rate of reimbursement per the Department’s
Administrative Memorandum #205.

Lodging and Meal Reimbursement. The Department shall reimburse lodging and meal

=]
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015

expenses per the Department’s Administrative Memorandum #205.

Lodging Arrangements. Single occupancy lodging shall be made available to any
employee traveling on Department business unless the employee: waives the option,
prefers multiple accommodation lodging, or lodging availability in the town precludes
single occupancy.

Transportation. Employees including full-time, part-time, contract, temporary and

fixed-term, as defined in Chapter 4 of this Title, may be authorized to use a State vehicle
on official State business. State vehicles are not to be used for personal use,

015.01  Valid Driver’s License Requirement. All persons who operate State or
personal vehicles while on Department business are required to have a valid
driver’s license and to successfully complete a defensive driving course as
offered by the State. Should persons who drive on Department business have
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their driver’s license revoked or suspended for any reason, the employee must
report such revocation or suspension to their immediate supervisor.

015.02 Supervisor Responsibility. It shall be the responsibility of each Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee to ascertain that each person
who drives on Department business possess a current valid driver’s license
and has satisfactorily completed a Defensive Driving Course, as prescribed.
This responsibility may be delegated to the section head or person in a
division who has the responsibility to authorize/permit use of a vehicle on
Department business.

Employment Outside of Working Hours. Employees may engage in employment outside

017

of working hours in a private business interest. Such employment outside of
Department work or in a private business interest shall not interfere with the efficient
performance of duties or conflict with the interests of the Department of Education or
with State statutes. The Department may require disclosure of outside employment.

Moving Allowance. Employees transferring to or relocating in another geographical

section of the State for the benefit of the Department shall be eligible for reimbursement
of moving expenses pursuant to Department of Administrative Services’ guidelines,
upon approval of the Commissioner. For purposes of this Section, a relocation to
another geographical section of the state is when the employee is directed to work at a
primary work site that is at least thirty (30) miles from both the present work site and
the employee’s current residence, whichever is the shorter distance.

017.01 Payment. No payment of moving expense shall be made until an invoice is
received and approved by the Commissioner or his or her designee.

017.02 Leave. Employees who are transferred fo or relocating in another
geographical location of the State shall be allowed sixteen (16) hours with
pay to attend to their personal affairs in their present location and to
establish their personal affairs in their new location. Additional required
time off shall be vacation leave, compensatory time, or leave without pay at
the employee’s discretion.

017.03 Reimbursement, The Department may reimburse newly appointed employees
for reasonable expenses incurred in relocating to their place of employment
provided that the employee agrees, in writing, to remain in the employment
of the State for a period of one (1) year. Termination within the one (1) year
period for any reason within their control may be cause to require them to
reimburse the Department for moving expenses.

017.04 Commuting Costs. Commuting costs related to transfers and relocations
are not reimbursable by the Department.
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Severability. If any section or portion of the Chapters in this Title, or the applicability
thereof, to any person or circumstance is held to be invalid by a court, the remainder of
these Chapters shall not be affected thereby.

Recognition Programs. The Commissioner may implement an Employee Recognition
Program, which may include items such as Employee-of-the-Year/Manager-of-the-Year
meals; framed certificates; clocks; bookends; platters; desk accessories; pens; letter
openers; gift certificates; food and refreshments; trophies; shirts; plaques, pins, and/or
monetary recognition.

Business Attire. All employees are expected to dress in attire that is appropriate for
conducting his or her work responsibilities. Leadership Council Members or
Commissioner’s designee and supervisors may identify specific attire requirements
depending on the nature of the employee’s work.

Retiree Health Insurance. In addition to the provisions outlined in Sections 84-1601

022

through 84-1615 R.R.S., employees who are eligible for retirement and do retire, shall be
afforded the opportunity to continue health insurance coverage in the group plan until
they become Medicare eligible. The employee shall be responsible for the entire cost of
the premium for the plan chosen, which includes the normal employee contribution and
the normal State contribution.

Insurance Coverage Consistency with Master Contract. The Department agrees to

provide employees with the same health, dental and vision insurance plans at the same
cost sharing ratio as the Department will provide to its employees who are subject to the
206911-20143 NDE-NAPE/AFSCME Collective Bargaining Agreement and asidentified
in the Master Contract between the Employee Relations Division of the N ebraska
Department of Administrative Services (DAS) and NAPE/AFSCME. In the event that
such insurance programs grant to the employee various options, the Department’s
obligation will apply only to the mandatory portion to be paid by the Department under
the program. The Department further agrees to provide all employees all other
insurance plans that are made available in the Master Contract at the same cost.
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General. Employees shall comply with the Code of Ethics as provided in this Chapter.

Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act. Employees shall comply with the

Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act, which provides that:

002.01 No person shall offer or give to the following persons anything of value,
including a gift, loan, contribution, reward, or promise of future employment,
based on an agreement that the vote, official action, or judgment of any
public official, public employee, or candidate would be influenced thereby.sto

002.01A A public official, public employee, or candidate;

002.01B A member of the immediate family of an individual listed in
Section 002.01A of this Chapter; or

002.01C A business with which an individual listed under Sections
002.01A or 002.01B of this Chapter is associated.

002.02 No person listed in Section 002.01A of this Chapter shall solicit or accept
anything of value, including a gift, loan, contribution, reward, or promise of
future employment, based on an agreement that the vote, official action, or
judgment of the public official, public employee, or candidate would be
influenced thereby.

002.03 An employee shall not use or authorize the use of his or her public office or
any confidential information received through the holding of a public office to
obtain financial gain, other than compensation provided by law, for himself
or herself, a member of his or her immediate family, ora business with which
the individual is associated.

002.084 Ne An employee shall not use or authorize the use of personnel, resources
property, or funds under that person’s official care and control other than in
accordance with prescribed constitutional, statutor and regulatory
procedures or use such items, other than compensation provided by law. any
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003

Impairing Independent Judgment. Employees are additionally prohibited from

004

accepting other employment or entering into contractual arrangements which will
impair independence of judgment in the exercise of official duties.

Securing Unwarranted Privileges. Employees are additionally prohibited from using, or

005

attempting to use their position in the Department to secure unwarranted privileges or
exemptions for themselves or others.

Conflict of Interest. Employees are additionally prohibited from engaging in any

006

transaction as representatives or agents of the Department with any entity in which
direct or indirect financial interests might reasonably tend to conflict with the proper
discharge of official duties.

Personal Investments. Employees are additionally prohibited from making personal

007

investments in enterprises which might be directly involved in decisions to be made by
them as employees of the Department.

Selling Goods or Services. Employees are additionally prohibited from selling goods or

009

services to any persons, firms, corporations, public or government entities, or
associations which are licensed or whose rates are fixed by the Department, or from
having any substantial interest in persons, firms, corporations, or agsociations which
sell goods or services to other persons, firms, corporations, or associations which are
licensed by the Department.

Partnerships. Employees are additionally prohibited from accepting, or agreeing to
accept, or being in partnership with any persons who accept or agree to accept any
employment, fees, gifts, or services for taking any action on behalf of the other persons
regarding licensing or regulatory matters before the Board.

Business Transactions. Employees are additionally prohibited from entering into any

010

private business transactions with any persons or entities that have matters pending or
to be pending, upon which such employees are, or will be, called upon to render decisions
or pass judgments in an official capacity as representatives of the Department. If any
such employees are already engaged in the business transactions at the time the
matters arise, they shall be disqualified from rendering any decisions or passing any
Jjudgments upon the same.

Vested Interest in Contracts. Employees are additionally prohibited from influencing

the making of any contracts, or courses of action leading to the making of contracts,
between the Department and persons, firms, corporations, or associations in which they
may have a direct or indirect vested interest.
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011

Gifts or Loans. Employees are additionally prohibited from accepting any gifts of value
or loans from any person doing business with the Department. Gifts or favors are to be
courteously refused or returned if they are the kind that might influence the conduct of

employees.

Employee Consulting, Presentations and Speeches. Periodically, employees are asked to

{o)
ot
[V~

|

014

consult or to make presentations or speeches in their area of expertise. When such a
request is received, the employee involved shall discuss the request with the appropriate
Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee through their immediate
supervisor. If it is determined that providing the consultation or making the
presentation or speech will relate to the service, leadership, or regulatory functions of
the Department, then any expenses incurred should be reimbursed from the program’s

budget.

Honorariums. If an honorarium is received for consulting or making a presentation or
speech, while on Department time and/oron a (work-related) subject area for which the
employee has responsibility in the Department, the honorarium shall be submitted to
Central Accounting for deposit against the employee’s line of coding. In this instance,
the Department shall be responsible for employee expenses.

Private Consulting. The following restrictions apply to employees providing private

consultation services on personal time:

014.01 Employees may not provide outside consulting services for compensation
(monetary or non-monetary) to any entity coming under the supervision or
regulation of the Department.

014.02 Employees may not provide outside consulting services for compensation
(monetary or non-monetary) to any agency within the state for which the
service is available from the Department without charge.

014.03 All consulting activities shall require the use of personal vacation time with
prior approval of the immediate supervisor and appropriate Leadership
Council Member or Commissioner’s designee. Approval of the use of vacation
time will be based on the extent to which regular duties are not
compromised. Approved consulting may not be done in conjunction with any
Department related activity and/or travel.

014.04 Employees may not solicit or invite consultative service opportunities for
private or personal gain during the discharge of duties as a State employee.

014.05 Employees may not use State resources or products for private consulting
even if the cost of such are paid to the State from outside sources.
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Teaching.
are met:

NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PERSONNEL RULES
CODE OF ETHICS

College or university teaching is allowed whenever the following conditions

The employee has received approval of their immediate supervisor and the
appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee; and

Such teaching, preparation, and other activities associated with the teaching
duties, shall take place totally outside the regular duty hours of the
employee, unless vacation leave is used; and,

No Department equipment or resources are used for the teaching activities:

015.066

and,

The employee has received advance approval of vacation time for such
teaching including duty hours spent in travel, preparation, and other
activities associated with the teaching duties. Whenever vacation time is
used, the outside teaching responsibilities must not interfere or limit the
performance of the duties and responsibilities required by the Department;
and,

There is a written agreement between the institution of higher education and
the employee outlining the terms and conditions of their teaching and such
agreement has been approved by the immediate Department supervisor and
is on file in that supervisor’s office and in the Department’s Human
Resources Office; and/or,

Teaching assignments may be approved or assigned as part of the employee’s
regular duties. Additional compensation may not be accepted when teaching
duties are part of the employee’s regular work day.

Professional Organization Participation. Employees may be granted time during work

hours to participate in the activities of professional organizations which, in the
estimation of the appropriate Leadership Council Member or Commissioner’s designee,
are considered to be job-related. The appropriate Leadership Council Member or
Commissioner’s designee shall determine whether or not travel expenses shall be

reimbursed.
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NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
NDE PERSONNEL RULES GRIEVANCE FORM

All employees occupying a permanent position have grievance rights. The purpose of this process is to reduce potential areas of
conflict and to secure, at the lowest possible administrative level, equitable and timely resolutions to problems which may arise.
A grievance is defined as a contention of misapplication or violation of any of the following: Department policies, rules or
regulations including Title 93, NDE Personnel Rules, written administrative policies, other written operating procedures, laws,
or written instructions pertaining to employees.

Name of Employee (Grievant)

Home Address City, State & Zip Home Phone
Classification Work Location Work Phone
Immediate Supervisor Work Phone

INSTRUCTIONS: Employees must follow all of the steps described in the NDE Personnel Rules, Chapter 14. “Days” shall
mean regularly scheduled work days when the Nebraska Department of Education, Nebraska State Office Building offices, are
open, excluding, however, such regularly scheduled work days during which employees involved in the procedure are absent
from the work site on approved leave or travel status. For all employees who are permanently located at work sites other than
301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska, days as defined above shall be counted from the date of receipt. The day in
which an item is received is not counted as a day for the receiving party.

STEP 1: The grievant has fifteen (15) days from his or her knowledge of the event or condition causing the grievance to request a
meeting with the immediate supervisor and next level of supervision. 1f the supervisors’ answer is not satisfactory to the grievant,
the grievant may proceed according to the steps and timelines in Chapter 14, Grievance Procedure, using this form and completing
the Statement of Grievance and Relief Requested (page 2). Responses at all steps must be attached to this form. The grievant must
submit this completed form to the IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR AND NEXT LEVEL SUPERVISOR within three (3) work days
after receiving the supervisors’ response.

Immediate Supervisor’s Signature Date Received Date Answered

Next Level Supervisor’s Signature Date Received Date Answered

STEP 2: This completed form and attachments to the LEADERSHIP COUNCIL MEMBER (I.CM) ot Commissioner’s
designee within five (5) work days after the supervisors’ response in Step 1.

LCM Signature Date Received Date Answered

STEP 3: This completed form and attachments to the DEPUTY COMMISSIONER within five (5) work days after the written
response in Step 2.

Deputy Commissioner Signature Date Received Date Answered

STEP 4: Grievance to the STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION within fifteen (15) work days after the written response in Step 3.
Date Received:

Date of Decision; ¢ Yo e
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STATEMENT OF GRIEVANCE

A.  Identify the management action that you believe involved a misinterpretation or misapplication of Department policics, rules or
regulations including Title 93, NDE Personnel Rules, written adminisirative policies,

other written operating procedures, laws, or written
instructions pertaining to employees.

B. Describe the event or condition which caused the grievance.

C. Describe the relief you are requesting.

Employee/Grievant Signature (required) Date
Revised 349
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