
TO:  Roger Breed, Ed.D. 
  Commissioner of Education 

FROM: Sharon Katt, Administrator Adult Program Services 
Kevin Peters,  Certification Director

SUBJECT: Discuss proposed changes to Rule 21 Issuance of Certificates to Teach, Provide Special Services, and 
Administer in Nebraska Schools

Proposed Board Action:

Discuss the proposed hearing draft of Rule 21 (92 NAC 21) Issuance of Certificates and Permits to Teach, Provide Special 
Services, and Administer in Nebraska Schools.

Background Information:

Rule 21 (92 NAC 21) addresses the certification of individuals to teach, administer or provide special services in Nebraska.    
Proposed changes to Rule 21 will update the current version of Rule 21 which became effective in May, 2010.  Some of the 
changes in this revision have been made to enhance clarity and consistency through the rule; however, changes are also 
proposed which will change procedures related to certification of educators, including:  changing expiration dates for most 
certificates to August 31 (as opposed to birth date); limiting the number of renewals that will be granted to an applicant for 
provisional and temporary certificates (which are issued to individuals needing to complete basic skills; special education, 
or the human relations requirements); increasing the validity of the Substitute Teaching Certificate to 45 days (from 40 
days); providing that employment experience for counselors, school psychologists and administrators will qualify an 
applicant for an administrative certificate after completion of the Educational Administration program (currently only 
teaching experience is recognized); replacing college credit requirements for renewal of School Nurse and Coaching 
endorsements on Special Services Certificates with appropriate training requirements; and providing the option for 
postsecondary institutions to request issuance of a Career Education certificate for instructors teaching in Career Academy 
arrangements.  A more detailed list of proposed changes is provided in the support documentation. 
 
As this revision was developed, the Nebraska Council on Teacher Education (NCTE) membership and other education 
representatives have been provided an opportunity to review this draft and provide input.   

Estimated Cost:

$600.00 for costs associated with the Public Hearing and for print copies for distribution upon approval of the revised rule.

Supporting Documentation Included:

Proposed revised Rule 21 
List of proposed changes to Rule 21

For Additional Information on this item:
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Dr. Kevin Peters, kevin.peters@nebraska.gov, 402.471.0738 
Sharon Katt, sharon.katt@nebraska.gov, 402.471.2405
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001 Scope and Authority  
  

001.01  Statutory Authority.  This Chapter is adopted pursuant to Sections 79-318, 
and 79-806 through 79-815 of the Revised Statutes of Nebraska (R.R.S.). 
 
001.02  Scope and Application.  This Chapter provides procedures for the issuance 
of tTeaching, aAdministrative, and sSpecial sServices certificates and permits for 
use in accredited or approved Nebraska school systems.  
 
001.03  Related Chapters.  Throughout this Chapter, reference is made to other 
Nebraska Department of Education regulations that relate to certification.  Title 92, 
Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapter 20 (92 NAC 20), contains regulations for 
teacher education program approval.  Title 92, Nebraska Administrative Code, 
Chapter 22 (92 NAC 22), contains regulations for the approval of credentialing 
organizations for teachers.  Title 92, Nebraska Administrative Code, Chapter 23 (92 
NAC 23), contains regulations relating to basic skills testing. Title 92, Nebraska 
Administrative Code, Chapter 24 (92 NAC 24), contains regulations relating to 
endorsements.   

 
002 Definitions.  As used in this Chapter:  
 

002.01 Administered Administer shall mean to manage or direct one or more of the 
offices, departments, or services of a Nebraska school system, or a comparable 
school system in another state.  
 
002.02 Application shall mean the appropriate form as prescribed by the 
Commissioner, is properly signed by the applicant, all professional conduct and 
professional fitness questions are completed with answers that permit the issuance 
of a Nebraska certificate under this Chapter, is accompanied by the payment of the 
certification fee, and is filed and recorded by the Department. 
 
002.03  Approved  Educator Preparation program for the preparation of teachers or 
Approved Teacher Education program shall mean a program approved pursuant to 
92 NAC 20, a program approved in another state or country pursuant to standards 
which are comparable and equivalent to 92 NAC 20, or a program capable of 
meeting such standards. 
 
002.04  Basic skills competency shall mean either (a) proficiency in (i) the written 
use of the English language, (ii) reading, comprehending, and interpreting 
professional writing and other written materials, and (iii) working with fundamental 
mathematical computations as demonstrated by successful completion of an 
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examination designated by the Board in 92 NAC 23; and taken by teacher 
education students at a standard institution of higher education; or (b) successful 
employment experiences of three (3) or more consecutive years in an approved,  
accredited, or otherwise legally operated school in another state (i) while holding or 
qualifying to hold a regular Initial, Standard, or Professional certificate issued by 
another state or a comparable certificate based on the basis of completion of an 
approved teacher education educator preparation program, or (ii) holding current 
credentials from a credentialing organization approved pursuant to 92 NAC 22 
(Master Teacher Program) as referenced in this Chapter. 
 
002.05  Board shall mean the Nebraska State Board of Education.  
 
002.06 Certificate shall mean authorization issued by the Commissioner to an 
individual who meets the qualifications to engage in teaching, administration, or 
providing of special services as required by law. 
 
002.07 Certification oOfficer shall mean one full-time an employee staff member 
designated by the chief academic officer or head of the education unit 
administrator of each standard institution of higher education with an approved 
educator preparation program to receive correspondence regarding this Chapter 
from the Department and to provide  certified records, transcripts, reports, and/or 
recommendations to the Department, as requested required, for the purpose of 
certification and/or endorsement.  
 
002.08  Commissioner shall mean the Nebraska State Commissioner of Education.  
 
002.09 Comparable and equivalent certificate shall mean a certificate issued by 
another state, by the U. S. Department of Defense, or by a foreign country 
pursuant to standards comparable and equivalent to those in 92 NAC 21.  The 
certificate, for the purpose of supporting or justifying the initial issuance of a 
Nebraska certificate, will be given the same consideration as if it were a Nebraska 
certificate. 
 
002.10 Content area shall mean college coursework taken by an individual for the 
purpose of gaining a college recommended endorsement on their Administrative, 
Teaching or Special Services certificate. 
 
002.1011 Department shall mean the Nebraska State Department of Education, 
which is comprised of the Board and the Commissioner. 
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002.1112 Dual Credit Course shall mean a course taught to students for credit at 
both a high school and a Nebraska postsecondary educational entity. 
 
002.1213 Education-related coursework shall mean any education preparation 
course(s) in teacher education from a standard institution of higher education, or 
coursework in an applicant’s content area.   
 
002.1314 Employment experiences shall mean work by an individual as an 
employee (a) in an approved, accredited, or otherwise legally operated school while 
holding or qualifying to hold a regular certificate issued by another state, by the U. 
S. Department of Defense, or by a foreign country based upon the successful 
completion of an approved teacher education educator preparation program,; (b) in 
post-secondary education,; or (c) in a community organization or agency that 
provides services to children students. 
 
002.1415 Entry Level Certificate shall mean the first regular certificate acquired in 
Nebraska by an applicant. 
 
002.16 [Moved from 002.21] Faculty member shall mean a person who is employed 
half-time or more to teach professional education courses in an approved educator 
preparation program. 
 
002.1517 Governing body shall mean the school board of a public school district, a 
board elected or appointed to provide direction to a nonpublic school, or an 
individual or corporate owner of a nonpublic school. 
 
002.1618 Human relations training shall mean course work coursework or 
employment experiences that lead to (a) an awareness and understanding of the 
values, lifestyles, contributions, and history of a pluralistic society,; (b) the ability to 
recognize and deal with dehumanizing biases, including, but not limited to, sexism, 
racism, prejudice, and discrimination, and an awareness of the impact such biases 
have on interpersonal relations,; (c) the ability to translate knowledge of human 
relations into attitudes, skills, and techniques which result in favorable experiences 
for students,; (d) the ability to recognize the ways in which dehumanizing biases 
may be reflected in instructional materials,; (e) respect for human dignity and 
individual rights,; and (f) the ability to relate effectively to other individuals and to 
groups in a pluralistic society other than the applicant’s own. 
 
002.1719 Local Substitute Teaching Certificate Consortium shall mean a group of 
school systems that have an agreement for the purpose of managing the 
placement of a group of Local Substitute Teaching Certificate holders. A list of the 
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school systems included in the consortium shall be provided to the Teacher 
Certification office when applications for lLocal sSubstitute tTeaching certificates 
are submitted for use in the consortium. 
 
002.1820 Nebraska school system shall mean an institution organized to provide 
elementary or secondary instruction that is accredited or approved by the 
Department to provide instruction at any grade level prekindergarten through 
grade twelve (12), an educational service unit accredited by the Department, or a 
special education service agency approved by the Department. 
 
002.1921 Postsecondary educational entity shall mean a community college, a state 
college or university, or a regionally accredited nonprofit private postsecondary 
educational institution. 
 
002.2022 Regular certificate shall mean an iInitial, sStandard, or pProfessional 
Nebraska certificate, or a comparable and equivalent certificate from another state.  
 
[Moved to 002.16 Faculty member] 002.21 Regular faculty member shall mean a 
faculty member who is employed by the teacher or administrator program and is 
teaching courses in that program, but is not considered a visiting professor, adjunct 
faculty, or other designation that implies no continuing responsibility for the 
program. 
 
002.2223 Resident shall mean an individual who has established a home where the 
individual is habitually present and to which having departed there from, intends to 
return. 
 
002.2324 Special education training shall mean course work coursework or 
employment experiences that provide an individual with the knowledge of (a) the 
exceptional needs of the disabilities defined under the Special Education Act,; (b) 
the major characteristics of each disability in order to recognize its existence in 
children,; (c) the various alternatives for providing the least restrictive environment 
for children with disabilities,; (d) methods of teaching children with disabilities in 
the regular classroom,; and (e) prereferral pre-referral alternatives, referral 
systems, multidisciplinary team responsibilities, the individualized education plan 
process, and the placement process. 
 
002.2425 Standard institution of higher education shall mean any college or 
university whose teacher education educator preparation program is fully approved 
by the Board, or by a comparable agency in any other state or country.  
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002.2526 Teaching shall mean and include, but not be limited to, the following 
responsibilities: (a) The organization and management of the classroom or the 
physical area in which the learning experiences of pupils take place; (b) the 
assessment and diagnosis of the individual educational needs of the pupils; (c) the 
planning, selecting, organizing, prescribing, and directing of the learning 
experiences of pupils; (d) the planning of teaching strategies and the selection of 
available materials and equipment to be used; and (e) the evaluation and reporting 
of student progress. 
 
002.2627 Teaching Day shall mean any day during which more than three (3) 
hours is spent teaching. 
 
002.2728 Teaching Half Day shall mean any day during which three (3) hours or 
less is spent teaching.  For computation under this Chapter, two (2) teaching half 
days equal one (1) teaching day. 
 

003 General Provisions  
 
003.01 Transcripts.  All transcripts submitted pursuant to certification or renewal 
requirements shall be sufficiently legible so that microfilm copies of them are readable. 
 

003.02 Armed Forces Extension.  Upon application, the Commissioner may extend 
the term of any certificate of any person who has served in the armed forces of the 
United States and whose certificate was in force on the day of induction or the 
spouse of such person.  This extension shall be equal in length of time to the total 
number of months which intervene between the date of entrance into military 
service and the date of discharge there from.  Each person applying for an 
extension of the term of a certificate shall furnish the Commissioner with proper 
evidence of service in the armed forces and of sound physical and mental health at 
the time the person applies for such extension. 
 
003.03 False Information.  Failure by an applicant to submit accurate information in 
support of an application for certification or renewal shall be cause for denial or 
revocation of such certificate. 
 
003.04 Conversion of Certificates.  Any person holding a certificate valid only in 
Nebraska nonpublic school systems may convert such certificate to one valid in all 
Nebraska school systems, both public and nonpublic, upon request and payment of 
a fifty-five (55) dollar fee to the Department. Alternately, a certificate valid in both 
public and nonpublic Nebraska school systems may be converted to a certificate 
valid only in Nebraska nonpublic school systems upon request and payment of a 
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forty (40) dollar fee to the Department.  In either case, the expiration date of the 
converted certificate shall be the same as that of the original certificate. 
 
003.05 Fees.  Applicants for a certificate valid only in nonpublic schools shall pay a 
forty (40) dollar fee.  Applicants for a certificate valid in all schools, public and 
nonpublic, shall pay a fifty-five (55) dollar fee.  Applicants requesting to add an 
endorsement to a valid certificate shall pay a forty (40) dollar fee.  Applicants 
requesting a duplicate of their certificate shall pay a thirty (30) dollar fee.  Changes 
to a certificate that are the result of errors by the Department, and written 
requests by an applicant to change a name or address on a certificate shall be 
made at no charge to an applicant. 
 
003.06 Statement Signed by Certification Officer.  A statement signed by a 
certification officer on forms provided by the Department may be accepted as 
evidence of completion of the academic requirements for issuance of a certificate 
pursuant to 92 NAC 21 or of an endorsement pursuant to 92 NAC 24. 
 
003.07 Certificates Issued on The Basis of Equivalency.  The Commissioner may 
issue any certificate provided for herein to an applicant who files with the office of 
the Commissioner evidence of possession of the required qualifications or of 
education and experience equivalent to the required qualifications. 
 
003.08 Life or Permanent Certificates. For purposes of Nebraska certification, Life 
or Permanent certificates issued in another state will be considered to have expired 
five (5) years after the date of the applicant’s last regular employment as a teacher 
or administrator under that certificate.  The holder of a permanent or life Life or 
Permanent certificate issued by the Department that submits an application seeking 
additional endorsement(s) shall have the permanent or life Life or Permanent 
certificate converted to a pProfessional certificate with an expiration date on the 
applicant’s date of birth of August 31 in the tenth year following the issuance of the 
converted certificate. 
 
003.09 Master of Arts in Teaching. The Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) will be 
accorded equivalence with a baccalaureate degree when used for initial certification 
purposes in this Chapter.  
 
003.10 Mental Fitness. All applicants shall not have an emotional or mental 
incapacity to practice the profession as evidenced by a legal adjudication or 
determination thereof by other lawful means. Such evidence shall be any of the 
following: 
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003.10A Such person is, at the time of the consideration of the person’s 
fitness to hold a certificate, a mentally ill dangerous person under Section 
83-1009 R.R.S. as evidenced by a declaration or order to that effect by a 
mental health board of this state, or as evidenced by a similar finding by a 
similar body of another state. 
 
003.10B Such person is, at the time of the consideration of the person’s 
fitness to hold a certificate, a mentally ill individual as defined in Section 20-
164 R.R.S., (“an individual who has a significant mental illness or emotional 
impairment as determined by a mental health professional qualified under 
the laws, rules and regulations of this state and who is an inpatient or 
resident in a facility for mentally ill individuals.”), or a similar determination 
has been made by similarly qualified mental health professional(s) of 
another state. 
 
003.10C Such person has been declared by a court as mentally incompetent 
in relation to standing trial for a criminal charge pursuant to Sections 29-
1822 or 29-1823 R.R.S., or similar laws of another state, and has not been 
found by a court to have recovered from such incompetency. 
 
003.10D Such person has been acquitted of a criminal charge on the basis of 
a finding of insanity under Section 29-2203 R.R.S. or similar laws of another 
state, unless a court, subsequent to such an acquittal, has found that such 
person is not dangerous to himself, herself, or others by reason of mental 
illness or defect and has released such person from court ordered treatment 
pursuant to Sections 29-3702 and 29-3703 R.R.S., or similar laws of another 
state. 
 
003.10E A court has found such person to be an incapacitated person in 
need of a court appointed guardian pursuant to Sections 30-2601 and 30-
2620 R.R.S., or similar laws of another state, and no court order has been 
entered that such person’s incapacity has terminated. 
 
003.10F A court has appointed a conservator or made other protective 
order(s) due to a court’s finding that such person is unable to manage his or 
her property and property affairs effectively for reasons which include any of 
the following: (i) mental illness; (ii) mental deficiency; (iii) chronic use of 
drugs; and (iv) chronic intoxication, pursuant to Section 30-2630 R.R.S. or 
similar laws of another state, and no court order has been entered that the 
disability of the person has ceased. 
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003.11 Felony Convictions. For purposes of this Chapter, felony conviction shall 
mean any felony offense under the laws of any jurisdiction, including misdemeanor 
convictions in other jurisdictions that would constitute a felony if committed in 
Nebraska. 
 
003.12 Misdemeanor Convictions. For purposes of this Chapter, a misdemeanor 
conviction involving abuse, neglect, or sexual misconduct shall mean an offense 
under the laws of any jurisdiction, which, if committed in Nebraska, would 
constitute one of the following misdemeanors (with the applicable sections of the 
Revised Statutes of Nebraska in parenthesis): 
 

003.12A Assault (third degree) (28-310) 
003.12B Child Enticement (28-311) 
003.12C Stalking (28-311.03) 
003.12D Hazing (28-311.06) 
003.12E Unlawful Intrusion (28-311.08) 
003.12F Violating a Harassment Protection Order (28-311.09) 
003.12G False Imprisonment (28-315) 
003.12H Sexual Assault (third degree) (28-320) 
003.12I Domestic Assault (28-323) 
003.12J  Child/Vulnerable Adult Contact with Methamphetamine 

(28-457) 
003.12K Abandonment of Spouse or Child (28-705) 
003.12L Child Abuse (28-707) 
003.12M Contributing to the Delinquency of a Child (28-709) 
003.12N Prostitution (28-801) 
003.12O Keeping a Place of Prostitution (28-804) 
003.12P Debauching a Minor (28-805) 
003.12Q Public Indecency (28-806) 
003.12R Sale of Obscene Material to Minor (28-808) 
003.12S Obscene Motion Picture Show, Admitting Minor (28-809) 
003.12T Obscene Literature Distribution (28-813) 
003.12U Sexually Explicit Conduct (28-813.01) 
003.12V Resisting Arrest (28-904(1)(a)), when the conviction 

involves use or threat of physical force or violence against 
a police officer 

003.12W Indecency with an Animal (28-1010) 
003.12X Intimidation by Phone Call (28-1310) 
003.12Y Violating a Protection Order (42-924) 
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003.13 Other Convictions. For purposes of this Chapter, in addition to the offenses 
listed above, felony convictions, and misdemeanor convictions involving abuse, 
neglect, or sexual misconduct shall also include convictions related to such crimes, 
including:  (with the applicable sections of the Revised Statutes of Nebraska in 
parenthesis) 
 

003.13A Attempt to Commit A Crime (28-201) 
003.13B Criminal Conspiracy (28-202) 
003.13C Accessory to a Felony (28-204) 
003.13D Aiding, Abetting, Procuring, or Causing Another to Commit 

an Offense (28-206) 
 
003.14 Pardons or Convictions Set Aside. Convictions which have been set aside, 
nullified, expunged, or pardoned shall not be considered convictions for purposes of 
this Chapter, unless the laws of the jurisdiction of the conviction would allow the 
conviction to be used as the basis for denial of a certificate to teach, administer, or 
provide special services in schools.  However, the applicant shall report such 
convictions on his or her application filed with the Department. 
 
003.15 Withdrawal of Application.  An applicant may request in writing that his or 
her application for a certificate be withdrawn without refund of any fees submitted.  
The Department shall notify the applicant in writing if the request will be granted.  
Any request granted by the Department shall end consideration of that application, 
and shall not be subject to appeal pursuant to this Chapter. 
 
003.16 Expiration Dates.  The expiration date on a valid certificate that was issued 
by the Department prior to the effective date of this Chapter shall remain in effect, 
unless otherwise suspended or revoked as provided by law, or converted as 
provided in Section 003.08 of this Chapter. 

 
004 Administrative Certificates  
 

004.01 Administrative Certificates, Types, General Requirements. The Department 
may issue sStandard, pProfessional, and pProvisional aAdministrative certificates.  
Each applicant for any such aAdministrative certificate shall: 
 

004.01A Complete the appropriate application forms prescribed by the 
Department, and meet the requirements of lawful presence in the United 
States as set forth in Sections 4-108 through 4-112 R.R.S.; 
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004.01B Submit an official transcript of all college credit earned in fulfillment 
of the requirements of 92 NAC 21; 
 
004.01C Pay the prescribed fee as provided in Section 003.05 of this 
Chapter; 
 
004.01D  Not have an application for a certificate denied or currently have a 
certificate suspended or revoked by another jurisdiction, and not have any 
felony conviction, or any misdemeanor conviction involving abuse, neglect, 
or sexual misconduct as defined in Sections 003.11 through 003.14; 
 
004.01E Qualify for or hold a Nebraska sStandard or pProfessional teaching 
certificate or a comparable and equivalent certificate;  
 
004.01F Submit verified evidence of two (2) years of teaching experience or 
employment as an administrator, school counselor or school psychologist in 
an approved or accredited or otherwise legally operated prekindergarten 
through grade twelve (12) school; 
 
004.01FG Submit evidence of human relations training as defined by this 
Chapter; 
 
004.01GH Submit evidence of basic skills competency if applying for an 
entry-level Nebraska aAdministrative certificate after July 31, 1989; 
 
004.01HI Submit evidence of special education training as defined in this 
Chapter if applying for the first issuance of a an entry level Nebraska 
aAdministrative certificate after September 1, 1992; 
 
004.01IJ Fulfill the additional requirements in Sections 004.03, 004.05, 
004.06, 004.07, 004.09, or 004.10 for the type of certificate or renewal for 
which the applicant is applying; 
 
004.01JK Submit a complete, legible set of the applicant’s fingerprints and 
pay a fee of fifty (50) dollars to the Department for processing a criminal 
history record check if the applicant is seeking the first issuance of a 
Nebraska certificate and has not been a resident of Nebraska for at least five 
(5) continuous years immediately preceding the date of application; 
 
004.01KL  Be of good moral character; and 
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004.01LM  Shall not have an emotional or mental incapacity to practice the 
profession as defined in Section 003.10. 
 

004.02 Standard Administrative Certificate.  The sStandard aAdministrative 
certificate shall be valid for teaching and administration in all Nebraska school 
systems, except that such certificate shall be valid for the position of 
superintendent of schools only if so endorsed.  If requested by the applicant at the 
time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska nonpublic school 
systems.  The sStandard aAdministrative certificate shall expire on the applicant’s 
date of birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance or renewal. 
 
004.03 Standard Administrative Certificate Additional Requirements. Each applicant 
for a first Nebraska sStandard aAdministrative certificate shall: 
 

004.03A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 004.01; 
 
004.03B  Have received a mMaster’s degree in education Educational 
Administration or Educational Leadership, or received a subject area Master’s 
degree with completion of additional coursework in for which there is an 
endorsement from a standard institution of higher education with an 
approved program for the preparation of school administrators in the area(s) 
of endorsement sought by the applicant;  
 
004.03C Qualify for or hold one or more educational administration 
endorsements pursuant to 92 NAC 24; and 
 
004.03D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have received 
six (6) semester hours of graduate credit for course work coursework 
recognized in 92 NAC 24 as meeting all or part of the requirements for an 
aAdministrative  endorsement; however, if the applicant has never held a 
regular aAdministrative certificate in any state and applies more than five (5) 
years after completion of an approved administrative program, then the 
applicant shall meet this requirement with fifteen (15) semester hours of 
graduate credit as described in this Chapter; or 
 
004.03E Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have 
administered half-time or more for two (2) consecutive school years in the 
same accredited, approved, or otherwise legally operated school or 
educational service unit in another state wherein the applicant qualified for 
or held a sStandard aAdministrative certificate or its equivalent. 
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004.04 Professional Administrative Certificate.  The pProfessional aAdministrative 
certificate shall be valid for teaching and administration in all Nebraska school 
systems, except that such certificate shall be valid for the position of 
superintendent of schools only if so endorsed.  If so requested by the applicant at 
the time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska nonpublic 
school systems.  The pProfessional aAdministrative certificate shall expire on the 
applicant’s date of birth August 31 in the tenth year following the year of issuance 
or renewal. 
 
004.05  Professional Administrative Certificate Additional Requirements.  Each 
applicant for a pProfessional aAdministrative certificate shall: 
 

004.05A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 004.01;  
 
004.05B Have received a six-year six (6) year specialist’s certificate, 
completed thirty-six (36) hours of Educational Administration or Educational 
Leadership coursework in an approved program for school administrators 
taken after earning a Master’s degree in Educational Administration or 
Educational Leadership or received a doctorate degree in eEducational 
aAdministration or Educational Leadership; from a standard institution of 
higher education with an approved program for the preparation of school 
administrators in the area(s) of endorsement sought by the applicant;  
 
004.05C  Qualify for or hold a Nebraska sStandard aAdministrative certificate 
or a comparable and equivalent certificate with one or more aAdministrative 
endorsements pursuant to 92 NAC 24; and 
 
004.05D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have received 
six (6) semester hours of graduate credit for course work coursework 
recognized in 92 NAC 24 as meeting all or part of the requirements for an 
aAdministrative endorsement; or 
 
004.05E  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have for two 
(2) consecutive school years: 
 

004.05E1 administered half-time or more in the same accredited, 
approved, or otherwise legally operated school system or educational 
service unit; or 
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004.05E2  been employed as a regular faculty member in the teacher 
or administrator educator preparation program of a standard 
institution of higher education as stated in Section 002.16 with 
employment verified by a written statement from the Dean in the 
College of Education; or 
 
004.05E3  been employed in the Department. 

 
004.06 Standard and Professional Administrative Certificates.  Renewal Prior to 
Expiration or Less Than Five Years After Expiration. Requirements. Each applicant 
for renewal of a sStandard or pProfessional aAdministrative certificate prior to or 
less than five (5) years after the date of expiration of such certificate shall: 
 

004.06A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 004.01A through FG, 004.01KL 
and 004.01LM; 
 
004.06B Hold or have held a Nebraska sStandard or pProfessional 
aAdministrative certificate which shall not have expired or which expired less 
than five (5) years prior to the date of application; and
 
004.06C Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have 
administered half-time or more for one (1) school year: 
 

004.06C1  in a Nebraska school system; 
 
004.06C2 in a pre-kindergarten early childhood program which is 
required by law to employ certificated teachers; 
 
004.06C3 in an accredited, approved, or otherwise legally operated 
school in another state; or 
 
004.06C4  in a U.S. Department of Defense school system; or 

 
004.06D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have been 
employed as a regular faculty member in the teacher or administrator 
educator preparation program of a standard institution of higher education 
as stated in Section 002.16 with employment verified by a written statement 
from the Dean in the College of Education; or  
 
004.06E Have been employed in the Department; or 
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004.06EF  Have received six (6) semester hours of graduate credit in 
education-related coursework from a standard institution of higher education 
taken after the completion of the baccalaureate degree within five (5) years 
prior to the date of application. 
 

004.07 Standard and Professional Administrative Certificates.  Renewal Five or More 
Years After Expiration.  Requirements.  Each applicant for renewal of a sStandard or 
pProfessional aAdministrative certificate five (5) or more years after the date of 
expiration of such certificate shall: 
 

004.07A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 004.01A through FG, 004.01KL 
and 004.01LM; 
 
004.07B  Have qualified for or held a sStandard or pProfessional 
aAdministrative certificate which shall have has expired five (5) or more 
years prior to the date of application; and 
 
004.07C  Within Hold a current Administrative certificate from another state 
and have administered one (1) year within the past five (5) years; prior to 
the date of application, have received fifteen (15) semester hours of 
graduate credit in areas related to the applicant’s administrative 
endorsements being sought or previously held. or 
 
004.07D Received fifteen (15) semester hours of graduate coursework in 
areas related to Educational Administration or Educational Leadership within 
the five (5) years preceding the application date. 
 

004.08 Provisional Administrative Certificate.  The pProvisional aAdministrative 
certificate shall be valid for administration only in the Nebraska school system 
requesting the issuance of such certificate and only in the area of administration 
endorsement for which qualifications are described in 92 NAC 24. The pProvisional 
aAdministrative certificate shall expire on August 31 of the year following the year of 
issuance.  Provisional Administrative certificates may be renewed twice for an 
individual for a total of three (3) years. 
 
004.09 Provisional Administrative Certificate Additional Requirements. Each applicant 
for a pProvisional aAdministrative certificate shall: 
 

004.09A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 004.01; 
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004.09B  Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate from 
the superintendent of schools or the governing body of the Nebraska school 
system in which the applicant intends to administer; 
 
004.09C  Have completed at least fifty (50) percent of the credit hours 
required for completion of an approved program for the endorsement of 
curriculum supervisor or principal, or seventy five (75) percent of an 
approved program for an endorsement as superintendent sought by the 
applicant; and 
 
004.09D Submit a signed and dated statement of intent to fulfill the 
remaining requirements needed for issuance of a regular certificate during 
the period in which such certificate is in effect or make such progress on the 
program as to permit the renewal of the pProvisional aAdministrative 
certificate as defined in Section 004.10D. 
 

004.10  Provisional Administrative Certificate.  Renewal Requirements. Any holder of a 
pProvisional aAdministrative certificate may renew such certificate two (2) times prior 
to, on, or after the date of expiration.  Each applicant for renewal shall: 
 

004.10A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 004.01; 
 
004.10B  Hold or have held a Nebraska pProvisional aAdministrative 
certificate; 
 
004.10C Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate from 
the superintendent of schools or the governing body of the school system in 
which the applicant intends to administer; and 
 
004.10D Within one (1) year prior to the date of application, have received 
six (6) semester hours of graduate credit for course work coursework which 
fulfills some or all of the remaining administrative program, endorsement, or 
renewal  requirements. 

 
005 Teaching Certificates  
 

005.01 Teaching Certificates.  Types.  General Requirements. The Department may 
issue iInitial, sStandard, pProfessional, pProvisional cCommitment, dDual cCredit, 
pProvisional, cCareer eEducation, sSubstitute, lLocal sSubstitute, and tTransitional 
teaching certificates.  Each applicant for any such teaching certificate shall: 
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005.01A  Complete the appropriate application forms prescribed by the 
Department, and meet the requirements of lawful presence in the United 
States as set forth in Sections 4-108 through 4-112 R.R.S.; 
 
005.01B  Submit an official transcript of all college credit earned in fulfillment 
of the requirements of 92 NAC 21; 
 
005.01C  Pay the prescribed fee as provided in Section 003.05 of this 
Chapter; 
 
005.01D   Not have an application for a certificate denied or currently have a 
certificate suspended or revoked by another jurisdiction, and not have any 
felony conviction, or any misdemeanor conviction involving abuse, neglect, 
or sexual misconduct as defined in Sections 003.11 through 003.14; 
 
005.01E  Submit evidence of human relations training as defined by this 
Chapter; 
 
005.01F  Submit evidence of basic skills competency if applying for an 
entry-level Nebraska teaching certificate after July 31, 1989; 
 
005.01G  Submit evidence of special education training if applying for an 
entry-level teaching certificate after September 1, 1992; 
 
005.01H  Fulfill the additional requirements in Sections 005.03, 005.04, 
005.06, 005.08, 005.09, 005.10, 005.12, 005.13, 005.15, 005.16, 005.18, 
005.19, 005.21, 005.22, 005.24, 005.25, 005.27,  005.28, 005.30, or 005.31 
for the type of certificate or renewal for which the applicant is applying; 
 
005.01I  Submit a complete, legible set of the applicant’s fingerprints and 
pay a fee of fifty (50) dollars to the Department for processing a criminal 
history record check if the applicant is seeking the first issuance of a 
Nebraska certificate and has not been a resident of Nebraska for at least five 
(5) continuous years immediately preceding the date of application; 
 
005.01J   Be of good moral character; and   
 
005.01K  Shall not have an emotional or mental incapacity to practice the 
profession as defined in Section 003.10.  
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005.02 Initial Teaching Certificate.  The iInitial teaching certificate shall be valid for 
teaching in all Nebraska school systems, except that if requested by the applicant at 
the time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska nonpublic 
school systems.  The iInitial teaching certificate shall expire on the applicant’s date of 
birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance or renewal. 
 
005.03 Initial Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements.  Each applicant for an 
iInitial teaching certificate shall:  
 

005.03A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 005.01; 
 
005.03B  Have received a baccalaureate degree; 
 
005.03C Have completed the academic program requirements of an 
approved program for the preparation of teachers; and 
 
005.03D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have: 
 

005.03D1  taught for one (1) school year in an accredited, approved, or 
otherwise legally operated school in any state; or 
 
005.03D2 received six (6) semester hours of college credit in education-
related course work coursework taken after the completion of a 
baccalaureate degree; or 
 
005.03D3 if the applicant has never held a regular certificate in any 
state and applies more than five (5) years after completion of an 
approved program, then the applicant shall meet this requirement with 
fifteen (15) semester hours of credit as set forth in Section 005.10CD; or 

 
005.03E  Be a person participating in an approved teacher exchange 
program. 
 

005.04 Initial Teaching Certificate.  Renewal Prior to Expiration or Less than Five 
Years after Expiration. Requirements.  Each applicant for renewal of an iInitial 
teaching certificate prior to the date of expiration or less than five (5) years after the 
date of expiration of such certificate shall:  
 

005.04A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 005.01J, 
and 005.01K; 
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005.04B   Hold or have held a Nebraska iInitial teaching certificate which 
shall not have expired or expired less than five (5) years prior to the date of 
application; and 
 
005.04C  Have taught or held a position requiring a certificate half time or 
more for one (1) school year in an accredited, approved, or otherwise legally 
operated school during the past five (5) years; or 
 
005.04D  Have received six (6) semester hours of credit from a standard 
institution of higher education within five (5) years prior to the date of 
application in education-related coursework or coursework in the applicant’s 
content area. 
 

005.05 Standard Teaching Certificate.  The sStandard teaching certificate shall be 
valid for teaching in all Nebraska school systems, except that if requested by the 
applicant at the time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska 
nonpublic school systems.  The sStandard teaching certificate shall expire on the 
applicant’s date of birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance. 
 
005.06 Standard Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements.  Each applicant for a 
sStandard teaching certificate shall: 

 
005.06A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 005.01; 
 
005.06B Qualify for or hold a Nebraska iInitial teaching certificate or a 
comparable and equivalent certificate; and 
 
005.06C  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have taught 
half-time or more for two (2) consecutive school years: 
 

005.06C1  iIn a Nebraska school system; 
 
005.06C2 iIn an accredited, approved, or otherwise legally operated 
school in another state; 
 
005.06C3 iIn a nonpublic school in a state that does not require 
certification of nonpublic school teachers; 
 
005.06C4  iIn a U.S. Department of Defense school system; 
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005.06C5 aAs a regular faculty member in the teacher or administrator 
educator preparation program of a standard institution of higher 
education; 
 
005.06C6 iIn a pre-kindergarten early childhood program which is 
required by law to employ certificated teachers or which requires its 
teachers to hold a certificate; or 
 
005.06C7  aAs a Nebraska certified teacher providing distance learning 
or dual enrollment instruction to students in a Nebraska school system, 
pursuant to Section 79-1201 (1) and (2) R.R.S.; or 

 
005.06D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have been 
employed by the Department. 
 

005.07 Professional Teaching Certificate.  The pProfessional teaching certificate shall 
be valid for teaching in all Nebraska school systems, except that if requested by the 
applicant at the time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska 
nonpublic school systems.  The pProfessional teaching certificate shall expire on the 
applicant’s date of birth August 31 in the tenth year following the year of issuance or 
renewal, except that pProfessional teaching certificates issued prior to July 11, 1977, 
shall be valid for the life of the holder unless otherwise converted as provided in 
Section 003.0708 of this Chapter. 
 
005.08 Professional Teaching Certificates Additional Requirements. Each applicant for 
a pProfessional teaching certificate shall: 
 

005.08A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 005.01; 
 
005.08B Qualify for or hold a Nebraska sStandard teaching certificate, or a 
comparable and equivalent certificate, or verify having taught half-time or 
more for two (2) consecutive years during the period of validity of a regular 
certificate; and 
 
005.08C Have received a mMaster’s degree from a an approved standard 
institution of higher education in Curriculum and Instruction, Educational 
Technology or in the same area as the applicant’s content area granted by 
that institution within ten (10) years prior to the date of application of 
endorsement which includes education-related coursework in the subject 
area for which the applicant is endorsed; or 
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005.08D Hold current credentials from a credentialing organization approved 
by the Department pursuant to 92 NAC 22; or 
 
005.08E Have received a six-year six (6) year specialist’s certificate or a 
doctorate degree from a standard institution of higher education in an area 
related to the applicant’s content area of endorsement completed at the 
mMaster’s degree level. 
 

005.09 Standard and Professional Teaching Certificates; Renewal Prior to Expiration or 
Less than Five Years after Expiration; Requirements; Each applicant for renewal of a 
sStandard or pProfessional teaching certificate prior to or less than five (5) years after 
the date of expiration shall: 
 

005.09A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 005.01J, 
and 005.01K; 
 
005.09B  Hold or have held a Nebraska sStandard or pProfessional teaching 
certificate or a comparable and equivalent certificate which shall not have 
expired or which expired less than five (5) years prior to date of application; 
and 
 
005.09C  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have taught 
been employed to teach or administer half-time or more for one (1) school 
year: 
 

005.09C1   iIn a Nebraska school system; 
 
005.09C2   iIn an accredited, approved, or otherwise legally operated 
school in another state; 
 
005.09C3   iIn a nonpublic school in a state that does not require 
certification of nonpublic school teachers; 
 
005.09C4   iIn a U.S. Department of Defense school system; 
 
005.09C5   aAs a regular faculty member in the teacher or 
administrator educator preparation program of a standard institution of 
higher education; 
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005.09C6  in a pre-kindergarten early childhood program which is by law 
required to employ certificated teachers or which requires its teachers to 
hold a certificate; or 
 
005.09C7  as a Nebraska certified teacher providing distance learning or 
dual enrollment instruction to students in a Nebraska school system, 
pursuant to Section 79-1201 (1) and (2) R.R.S.; or 

 
005.09D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have been 
employed by the Department; or 
 
005.09E  Have received six (6) semester hours of credit in education-related 
coursework from a standard institution of higher education within five (5) 
years prior to the date of application. 

 
005.10 Initial, Standard, and Professional Teaching Certificate. Renewal Five or More 
Years After Expiration.  Requirements.  Each applicant for renewal of an iInitial, 
sStandard, or pProfessional certificate five (5) or more years after the date of 
expiration of such certificate shall: 
 

005.10A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 005.01J, 
and 005.01K; 
 
005.10B  Have held a Nebraska iInitial, sStandard, or pProfessional teaching 
certificate which shall have expired five (5) or more years prior to the date of 
application; and 
 
005.10C  Hold a current regular Teaching certificate from another state and 
have taught for one (1) year out of the past five (5) years in an accredited,  
approved or otherwise legally operated school in another state; or 
 
005.10CD  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have 
rReceived fifteen (15) semester hours of education-related coursework taken 
after completion of the baccalaureate degree. credit for course work in an 
approved program for the preparation of teachers, and such course work 
Coursework shall include (a) a course in instructional techniques; (b) a 
practicum consisting of one hundred or more clock hours of contact with 
students in the classroom setting, fifty percent of which shall consist of 
performing instructional duties; (c) a course or courses which address 
current issues in education, including but not limited to, special education, 
gifted education, reading and writing in the content area, and school law; 
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and (d) the remaining course work be directly related to the applicant’s 
content area of endorsement on the expired certificate. 

 
005.11 Provisional Commitment Teaching Certificate.  The pProvisional cCommitment 
teaching certificate may be issued to applicants who do not meet all the recent college 
credit or employment experience requirements for a regular certificate and shall be 
valid for teaching only in the Nebraska school system requesting the issuance of such 
certificate.  The pProvisional cCommitment teaching certificate shall expire on August 
31 of the year following the year of issuance. 
 
005.12 Provisional Commitment Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements.  Each 
applicant for a pProvisional cCommitment teaching certificate shall: 

 
005.12A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and 
Sections 005.01I through K; 
 
005.12B   Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate from 
the superintendent of schools or the governing body of the school system in 
which the applicant intends to teach; 
 
005.12C   Have received a baccalaureate degree; 
 
005.12D  Have completed at least one-half of the pre-student teaching 
requirements, including a course in teaching methods, of an approved 
program for the preparation of teachers; 
 
005.12E   Have fulfilled at least three-fourths of the requirements for at 
least one subject or field endorsement pursuant to 92 NAC 24; and 
 
005.12F  Submit a signed and dated statement of intent to fulfill the 
remaining requirements needed for issuance of a regular certificate during 
the period in which such certificate is in effect or to make such progress on 
the program as to permit the renewal of the pProvisional cCommitment 
teaching certificate as set forth in Sections 005.13D and 005.13E. 

 
005.13 Provisional Commitment Teaching Certificate Renewal Requirements.  Any 
holder of a pProvisional cCommitment teaching certificate may renew such certificate 
prior to, on, or after the date of expiration. Each applicant for renewal shall: 
 

005.13A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 
005.01J, and 005.01K; 
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005.13B Hold or have held a Nebraska pProvisional cCommitment teaching 
certificate; 
 
005.13C  Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate from 
the superintendent of schools or the governing body of the school system in 
which the applicant intends to teach; and 
 
005.13D  Within one (1) year prior to the date of application, have received 
six (6) semester hours of credit for course work coursework which fulfills 
some or all of the remaining program or endorsement requirements; or 
 
005.13E  Within one (1) year prior to the date of application, have met at 
least one of the requirements in Sections 005.01F or 005.01G necessary for 
the issuance of a regular certificate. 

 
005.14 Provisional Teaching Certificate.  The pProvisional teaching certificate may be 
issued to applicants who do not meet all the recent college credit or employment 
experience requirements for a regular certificate. The A pProvisional teaching 
certificate shall be valid in all Nebraska school systems, except that if requested by 
the applicant at the time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska 
nonpublic school systems.  The pProvisional teaching certificate shall expire on August 
31 of the year following the year of issuance.   The Provisional teaching certificate 
may be renewed twice for an individual for a total of three (3) years.  
 
005.15 Provisional Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements. Each applicant for a 
pProvisional teaching certificate shall: 
 

005.15A Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and  
005.01I, 005.01J, and through 005.01K; 
 
005.15B  Have received a baccalaureate degree; 
 
005.15C  Have completed an approved program for the preparation of 
teachers at a standard institution of higher education; and 
 
005.15D Submit a signed and dated statement of intent to fulfill the 
requirements for issuance of a regular certificate including recent college 
credit, Sections 005.01F, and 005.01G during the period in which the 
pProvisional teaching certificate is in effect. 
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005.16 Provisional Teaching Certificate Renewal Requirements.  Any holder of a 
pProvisional teaching certificate may renew such certificate prior to, on, or after the 
date of expiration. Each applicant for renewal shall: 
 

005.16A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 005.01J, 
and 005.01K; 
 
005.16B  Hold or have held a Nebraska pProvisional teaching certificate; and 
 
005.16C  Within one (1) year prior to the date of application, have received 
six (6) semester hours of credit for course work coursework which fulfills 
some or all of the remaining program or endorsement requirements; or 
 
005.016D  Within one (1) year prior to the date of application, have met at 
least one of the requirements in Sections 005.01F or 005.01G necessary for 
the issuance of a regular certificate. 

 
005.17 Career Education Teaching Certificate.  The cCareer eEducation teaching 
certificate may be issued to applicants who do not meet the college credit 
requirements for a regular certificate and shall be valid for teaching only in the 
Nebraska school system requesting the issuance of such certificate or in Nebraska 
school system(s) for which the applicant will be teaching as a part of a career 
academy structure and only in the career education endorsement areas described in 
92 NAC 24.  The cCareer eEducation teaching certificate shall expire on the applicant’s 
date of birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance. The cCareer 
eEducation teaching certificate shall not be valid for substitute teaching. 
 
005.18 Career Education Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements. Each 
applicant for a cCareer eEducation teaching certificate shall: 
 

005.18A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and 
Sections 005.01I through K; 
 
005.18CB  Qualify for a career education endorsement pursuant to 92 NAC 
24.; and 
 
005.18BC  Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate 
District Verification Form from the sSuperintendent of sSchools or the 
governing body of the a school system in which the applicant intends to 
teach; and or 
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005.18D Submit a written request for the issuance of the certificate from a 
postsecondary educational entity for which the applicant will be teaching as 
a part of a career academy structure. 

 
005.19 Career Education Teaching Certificate Renewal Requirements. Each applicant 
for renewal of a cCareer eEducation teaching certificate prior to, on, or after the date 
of expiration shall: 
 

005.19A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 005.01J,  
and 005.01K; 
 
005.19B  Submit a request District Verification Form for the renewal of such 
certificate from the sSuperintendent of sSchools or the governing body of 
the school system in which the applicant intends to teach; 
 
005.19C  Hold or have held a Nebraska cCareer eEducation teaching 
certificate; and 
 
005.19D  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application for renewal, 
have taught in a Nebraska school system or have met the requirements in 
Sections 005.18B through D. 
 

005.20  Dual Credit Teaching Certificate. The dDual cCredit teaching certificate shall 
be valid for teaching college courses that generate both college credit and have been 
approved for high school credit in Nebraska school systems requesting the delivery of 
such courses. The dDual cCredit teaching certificate shall expire on the applicant’s 
date of birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance. The dDual 
cCredit teaching certificate shall not be valid for substitute teaching. 
 
005.21 Dual Credit Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements.  A dDual cCredit 
teaching certificate may be issued to an applicant who is employed as a teacher by a 
Nebraska postsecondary educational entity and is eligible to teach courses offered by 
the postsecondary entity and approved by a local school system for high school credit.  
Each applicant for a dDual cCredit teaching certificate shall: 
 

005.21A Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and Sections 
005.01I through K; 
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005.21B Be eligible to teach courses for college credit offered by the 
Nebraska postsecondary educational entity and approved by a Nebraska 
school system for high school credit as documented by the employing 
college’s submission of the Postsecondary Verification Form; 
 
005.21C Hold a mMaster’s degree; and 
 
005.21D Have earned a minimum of six (6) graduate hours in the subject 
area for which a teaching endorsement is sought pursuant to 92 NAC 24. 

 
005.22 Dual Credit Teaching Certificate Renewal Requirements.  Any holder of a dDual 
cCredit teaching certificate may renew such certificate prior to, on, or after the date of 
expiration.  Each applicant shall: 

 
005.22A Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and Sections 
005.01J through and K; 
 
005.22B Hold or have held a dDual cCredit teaching certificate; and 
 
005.22C Have taught one (1) or more dual credit courses within the past five 
(5) years prior to the date of application; or 
 
005.22D Have received three (3) semester hours of graduate credit in 
education-related coursework taken after the completion of the 
baccalaureate degree within five (5) years prior to the date of application.   

 
005.23 Substitute Teaching Certificate.  The sSubstitute teaching certificate shall be 
valid for teaching in all teaching endorsement areas in all Nebraska school systems, 
but persons holding such certificate may not teach more than ninety (90) teaching 
days in the same school and same assignment.  The sSubstitute certificate holder may 
be employed to teach by a school system only on a non-contractual basis. If 
requested by the applicant at the time of application, such certificate shall be valid 
only in Nebraska nonpublic school systems. The sSubstitute teaching certificate shall 
expire on the applicant’s date of birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of 
issuance. 
 
005.24 Substitute Teaching Certificate. Additional Requirements. Each applicant for a 
sSubstitute teaching certificate shall:  
 

005.24A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and 005.01I 
through 005.01K; and 
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005.24B  Have held a Nebraska regular teaching certificate or a comparable 
and equivalent certificate in another state that shall have expired, or qualify 
for or hold a comparable and equivalent certificate. 

 
005.25  Substitute Teaching Certificate Renewal Requirements.  Each applicant for 
renewal of a sSubstitute teaching certificate prior to, on, or after the date of 
expiration of such certificate shall: 
 

005.25A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, 005.01J, 
and 005.01K; and 
 
005.25B  Have taught in one or more school systems for at least fifty (50) 
teaching days within five (5) years prior to the date of application for 
renewal; or 
 
005.25C  Have received three (3) semester hours of college credit within five 
(5) years prior to the date of application. 

 
005.26 Local Substitute Teaching Certificate.  The lLocal sSubstitute teaching 
certificate shall be valid for forty-five (45) (40) teaching days per school year only in 
the Nebraska school system or Local Substitute Teacher Consortium requesting the 
issuance of such certificate.  The certificate holder may substitute teach no more than 
forty-five (45) (40) teaching days in the same school system regardless of the number 
of lLocal sSubstitute certificates held. The certificate shall expire on the applicant’s 
date of birth August 31 in the third year following the year of issuance of the 
certificate. 
 
005.27 Local Substitute Teaching Certificate Requirements.  Each applicant for a 
lLocal sSubstitute teaching certificate shall: 
 

005.27A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01 A through E, and 
Sections 005.01I through K; 
 
005.27B  Have at least sixty (60) semester hours of college credit and 
completed college credit, or its equivalent, in professional education with 
credit in education-related coursework; and 
 
005.27C  Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate from 
the superintendent and or the governing body of the school system or Local 
Substitute Teacher Consortium in which the applicant intends to substitute 
teach. 
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005.28 Local Substitute Teaching Certificate Renewal.  Requirements.  The lLocal 
sSubstitute teaching certificate may be renewed upon meeting the requirements in 
Section 005.27. 
 
005.29 Transitional Teaching Certificate.  The tTransitional teaching certificate shall 
be valid for teaching only in the Nebraska school system requesting the issuance of 
such certificate. The tTransitional teaching certificate shall expire on August 31 of the 
year following the year of issuance. The Transitional teaching certificate may be 
renewed twice for an individual for a total of three (3) years. 
 
005.30 Transitional Teaching Certificate Additional Requirements. Each applicant for a 
tTransitional teaching certificate shall: 
 

005.30A  Fulfill the requirements in Sections 005.01A through E, and 
Sections 005.01I through K; 
 
005.30B  Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate from 
the superintendent of schools or the governing body of the school system in 
which the applicant intends to teach which includes documentation that the 
school system or governing body has not found a fully qualified teacher for 
the position; 
 
005.30C  Have at least a baccalaureate degree which includes at least 
three-fourths of the course requirements for preparation in the 
endorsement area, pursuant to 92 NAC 24, that addresses the teaching 
position to be filled by the applicant; 
 
005.30D  Have an assessment of his/her transcripts completed by a 
certification officer in a standard institution of higher education and a plan 
developed for completion of an approved iInitial teacher certification 
program; 
 
005.30E  Submit a written plan from the school system for mentoring and 
supervision of the applicant; 
 
005.30F  Complete a pre-teaching seminar offered by an educational 
service unit or standard institution of higher education that includes 
information and skill development in the areas of diversity, classroom 
management, curriculum planning, and instructional strategies prior to 
assuming responsibility for the classroom; and 
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005.30G  Submit a written agreement with a teacher education an educator 
preparation program from a Nebraska standard institution of higher 
education to complete the program for an iInitial teaching certificate which 
includes a commitment by the standard institution to provide at least one 
(1) supervisory visit each semester to the school system and classroom of 
the applicant. 

 
005.31 Transitional Teaching Certificate Renewal Requirements. Each applicant for 
renewal of a tTransitional teaching certificate shall fulfill the requirements in Sections 
005.30A through E and submit a transcript documenting completion of at least six (6) 
semester hours annually towards completion of the plan identified in Section 005.30G.  
A tTransitional teaching certificate may be renewed for a maximum of five (5) years 
provided the applicant makes sufficient progress as provided by this section. 

 
006 Temporary Certificates. 
 

006.01 Temporary Teaching, Special Services, or Administrative Certificates Validity 
Restrictions.  The Department may issue a tTemporary certificates to allow the 
applicant time to complete the Human Relations requirement.  This certificate which 
shall be valid in all Nebraska school systems.  The tTemporary certificate shall expire 
one-hundred eighty (180) days after the date of issuance.  The Temporary certificate 
is not renewable.  on August 31 of the second year following the year in which it is 
issued. 
 
006.02 Temporary Teaching, Special Services, or Administrative Certificates 
Requirements. Each applicant for a temporary certificate shall: 
 

006.02A  Complete the appropriate application forms prescribed by the 
Department; and 
 
006.02B  Meet all the requirements for an aAdministrative, sSpecial 
sServices, or teaching certificate pursuant to this Chapter, except the 
requirement for human relations training as specified in this Chapter. 
 

007 Special Services Certificates 
 

007.01 Special Services Certificates, Types, General Requirements. The Department 
may issue sStandard and pProvisional sSpecial sServices certificates.  Each applicant 
for a sSpecial sServices certificate shall: 
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007.01A Complete the appropriate application form prescribed by the 
Department, and meet the requirements of lawful presence in the United 
States as set forth in Sections 4-108 through 4-112 R.R.S.; 
 
007.01B Submit an official transcript of all college credit earned in 
fulfillment of the requirements of 92 NAC 21; 
 
007.01C Pay the prescribed fee as provided in Section 003.05 of this 
Chapter; 
 
007.01D  Not have an application for a certificate denied or currently have a 
certificate suspended or revoked by another jurisdiction, and not have any 
felony conviction, or any misdemeanor conviction involving abuse, neglect, 
or sexual misconduct as defined in Sections 003.11 through 003.14; 
 
007.01E Submit a complete, legible set of the applicant’s fingerprints and 
pay a fee of fifty (50) dollars to the Department for processing a criminal 
history record check if the applicant is seeking the first issuance of a 
Nebraska certificate and has not been a resident of Nebraska for at least 
five (5) continuous years immediately preceding the date of application; 
 
007.01F Submit evidence of human relations training as defined by this 
Chapter; 
 
007.01G Fulfill the additional requirements in Sections 007.03, 007.04, 
007.06, and 007.07 through 007.09 for the type of certificate or renewal for 
which the applicant is applying; 
 
007.01H  Be of good moral character; and 
 
007.01I  Shall not have an emotional or mental incapacity to practice the 
profession as defined by Section 003.10. 
 

007.02 Standard Special Services Certificate.  The sStandard sSpecial sServices 
certificate shall be valid for working in all Nebraska school systems only in the area of 
Special Services Endorsements described in 92 NAC 24.  If requested by the applicant 
at the time of application, such certificate shall be valid only in Nebraska nonpublic 
school systems.  The sStandard sSpecial sServices certificate shall expire on the 
applicant’s date of birth August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance or 
renewal. 
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007.03 Standard Special Services Certificate Additional Requirements.  Each applicant 
for a sStandard sSpecial sServices certificate shall: 
 

007.03A Fulfill the requirements in Section 007.01; and 
 
007.03B Have completed the program requirements for a sSpecial sServices 
endorsement in 92 NAC 24. 

 
007.04 Standard Special Services Certificates Renewal Requirements. Each applicant 
for the renewal of a sStandard sSpecial sServices certificate, other than those with a 
School Nurse or Coaching endorsement, prior to, on, or after the date of expiration of 
such certificate shall: 
 

007.04A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 007.03; 
 
007.04B  Hold or have held a sStandard sSpecial sServices certificate; and 
 
007.04C  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have worked 
half-time or more for one (1) school year in a Nebraska school system while 
holding such certificate in the sSpecial sServices endorsement area other 
than coaching; or 
 
007.04D Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have received 
six (6) semester hours of credit for course work education-related 
coursework at a standard institution of higher education taken after the 
completion of the baccalaureate degree in the area of the sSpecial sServices 
endorsement.; or 
 
007.04E  Within five (5) years prior to the date of application, have been 
employed as a coach for one (1) school year in a Nebraska school system 
while holding such certificate in the special services endorsement area of 
coaching. 
 

007.05 Standard Special Services Certificates with a School Nurse Endorsement 
Renewal Requirements.  Each applicant for the renewal of a Standard Special Services 
certificate with a School Nurse endorsement prior to, on, or after the date of 
expiration of such certificate shall fulfill the requirements in Section 007.03. 
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007.06 Standard Special Services Certificates with a Coaching Endorsement Renewal 
Requirements.  Each applicant for the renewal of a Standard Special Services 
certificate with a Coaching endorsement prior to, on, or after the date of expiration of 
such certificate shall: 
 

007.06A   Fulfill the requirements in Section 007.03; 
 
007.06B  Hold or have held a Standard Special Services certificate with a 
Coaching endorsement; and 
 
007.06C  Been employed as a coach for one (1) year in the past five (5) 
years in a Nebraska school system while holding a Special Services 
certificate with a Coaching endorsement; or 
 
007.06D  Within two (2) years prior to the application for renewal, they 
must have completed coursework or training in the following: 
 

007.06D1 Prevention, care and management of injuries; 
 
007.06D2 Risk Management; 
 
007.06D3 Growth, development and learning; 
 
007.06D4 Training, conditioning and nutrition; 
 
007.06D5 Psychology of coaching; and 
 
007.06D6 Coaching theory and methods. 

 
007.0507 Provisional Special Services Certificate.  The pProvisional sSpecial sServices 
certificate shall be valid for working only in the Nebraska school system requesting the 
issuance of such certificate and only in the area of sSpecial sServices endorsement 
described in 92 NAC 24.  The pProvisional sSpecial sServices certificate shall expire on 
August 31 of the year following the year of issuance. The Provisional Special Services 
certificate may be renewed twice for an individual for a total of three (3) years.  
Provisional Special Service certificates are not issued for School Nurse or Coaching 
endorsements. 
 
007.0608 Provisional Special Services Certificate Additional Requirements.  Each 
applicant for a pProvisional sSpecial sServices certificate shall: 
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007. 0608A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 007.01; 
 
007. 0608B  Submit a written request for the issuance of such certificate 
from the superintendent of schools or the governing body of the school 
system in which the applicant intends to work; 
 
007. 0608C  Have completed at least three-fourths of the requirements for 
a Special Services Endorsement in 92 NAC 24; and 
 
007. 0608D  Submit a signed and dated statement of intent to fulfill the 
remaining endorsement or renewal requirements during the period in which 
such certificate is valid. 
 

007.0709 Provisional Special Services Certificate Renewal Requirements.  Each 
applicant for renewal of a pProvisional sSpecial sServices certificate prior to, on, or 
after the date of expiration shall: 
 

007. 0709A  Fulfill the requirements in Section 007.01; 
 
007. 0709B Hold or have held a Nebraska pProvisional sSpecial sServices 
certificate; and 
 
007. 0709C  Within one (1) year prior to the date of application, have 
received six (6) semester hours of credit for course work coursework which 
fulfills some or all of the remaining endorsement or renewal requirements. 
 

008  Conditional Permits 
 

008.01 Conditional Permits.  A conditional permit is a temporary authorization to 
teach, provide special services, or administer. A conditional permit shall be valid for up 
to one (1) year from the date of issuance unless otherwise voided as provided by 
Section 008.04 of this Chapter. 
 
008.02 Conditional Permit Issuance Requirements.  Upon request, the Commissioner 
may issue a conditional permit allowing a person to teach, provide special services, or 
administer, while the application for a certificate is being processed by the 
Department, A conditional permit may be issued while the application for a certificate 
is being processed by the Department if the Nebraska school system requests, and if 
the Commissioner determines that the documents and information submitted and 
representations made by the applicant would allow for the issuance of the a certificate 
sought by the applicant pending receipt of any additional documentation. 
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008.02A  The Commissioner shall require, as a condition of issuance of 
such a conditional permit, that the superintendent or head administrator of 
the school intending to employ such applicant submit a statement 
indicating that the superintendent or head administrator: 
 

008.02A1 Has checked the applicant’s background and is satisfied that 
the documents relating to education, past employment and criminal 
history submitted to the Department for certification purposes are true 
and accurate; 
 
008.02A2  Intends to employ the applicant; and 
 
008.02A3 Requests the Commissioner issue a conditional permit to the 
applicant. 

 
008.03 Conditional Permits Issuance Requirements When a Criminal History Check is 
Required and All Other Certification Requirements Have Been Met. An applicant for a 
certificate who is required to submit a complete, legible set of fingerprints shall be 
issued a conditional permit prior to receipt, by the Commissioner, of the criminal 
history record information check if: 
 

008.03A  The application identifies all crimes of which the applicant has 
been convicted; and 
 
008.03B  The Commissioner determines the applicant has good moral 
character and meets all other requirements for certification. 

 
008.04 Voiding of Conditional Permits.  The applicant’s conditional permit shall be void 
upon the issuance of a certificate to the applicant or upon a final determination that 
the applicant does not meet the requirements for issuance of a certificate.  For 
purposes of this Chapter, a determination is final upon expiration of the time for 
which the applicant may appeal a denial as provided in Section 009 or upon issuance 
of a final order by the Board regarding an appeal by an applicant. 

 
009 Appeals Procedure 
 

009.01 Notice.  The Department shall notify in writing an applicant for a certificate or 
endorsement if the Department intends to deny an application and provide the 
reason(s) for the denial. 
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009.02 Request for Review.  The applicant may request in writing a review by the 
Commissioner within twenty calendar (20) days after receipt of the written notice 
provided for in Section 009.01 of this Chapter.  Failure of an applicant to request a 
review by the Commissioner within twenty (20) calendar days after receipt of the 
notice shall be a waiver of any further appeal by the applicant and shall result in a 
denial of the certificate or endorsement.  The Commissioner shall:  
 

009.02A   Notify the applicant that the Department will issue the certificate 
or endorsement being sought; 
 
009.02B Notify the applicant that the application for a certificate or 
endorsement is denied; or 
 
009.02C Notify the applicant that the application for a certificate or 
endorsement is denied for the reason(s) set forth in the notice and that, as 
a result of the applicant’s failure to request a review pursuant to Section 
009.02 of this Chapter, the applicant has waived any further appeal to the 
Board regarding the current application. 

 
009.03 Hearings.  Within twenty (20) calendar days of receipt of the notice of the 
Commissioner’s denial of the certificate or endorsement pursuant to Section 009.02B 
of this Chapter, the applicant may appeal the Commissioner’s decision pursuant to 92 
NAC 61.  If the Board finds that the requirements in this or related cChapters have 
been improperly applied to the applicant or in the case of an applicant who the 
Commissioner has rejected due to criminal convictions, that the applicant has good 
moral character and possesses the moral fitness for teaching, then the Board may 
direct the Commissioner to issue a certificate to the applicant. 
 
009.04 Guidelines for Review.  In considering whether to deny, not issue, or not 
renew a certificate of an applicant based upon criminal convictions, the Commissioner 
and Board shall take into account the following factors in determining moral character 
and moral fitness to teach: 
 

009.04A  The nature of the crime, the facts and circumstances surrounding 
the applicant’s conviction including whether the conduct of the applicant 
would constitute a crime in Nebraska, the sentence received, and whether 
the sentence was commuted, set aside, or pardoned; 
 
009.04B  The applicant’s age at the time of the conduct; 
 
009.04C  The recency of the conduct; 

05.04.11 State Board of Education Work Session 2.12-39



TITLE 92 
CHAPTER 21 
 

36 
 

009.04D  The applicant’s positive social contributions since the conduct; and  
 
009.04E  The reliability of the information concerning the conduct. 
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The following list identifies selected changes to Rule 21, with the most significant items indicated in bold.  This is not 
a complete list; other changes were made to enhance clarity and consistency throughout the Rule and do not create 
a change in current practice or procedure. 
 
Overall changes: 

 All certificate names were capitalized for consistency. 

 Certificates that currently read “shall expire on the applicant’s date of birth”, will now read “shall expire 
August 31”. 

o 003.08 Life or Permanent 

o 004.02 Standard Administrative 

o 004.04 Professional Administrative 

o 005.02 Initial Teaching 

o 005.05 Standard Teaching 

o 005.07 Professional Teaching 

o 005.17 Career Education Teaching 

o 005.20 Dual Credit Teaching 

o 005.23 Substitute Teaching 

o 005.26 Local Substitute Teaching 

o 007.02 Standard Special Services 

 References to Teacher Education have been updated to Educator Preparation. 

 Language in the Rule was updated to reflect definition changes (Section 002). 

Specific changes by Section: 

Section Description of Changes 

 002.03  Added language to include educator preparation. 

 002.04   Further defined basic skills competency, including reference to other states. 

 002.07 Revised definition of Certification Officer for consistency with other Rules. 

 002.10 Added definition of content area. 

 002.13 Revised definition for education-related coursework. 

 002.14 Changed wording to students (from children). 

 002.20 Clarified grade level to include any PreK-12 grade level. 

 002.22 Clarified comparable and equivalent. 

 004.01F Added language to allow evidence of two years of employment as an administrator, school 
counselor or school psychologist to qualify for issuance of an administrative certificate 
(previously 2 years of teaching experience was the only option). 

 004.03B   Specified Master’s degree requirements for Administrative certificates. 
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 004.05B Updated requirements for Professional Administrative certificates; 36 hours of coursework in 
Educational Administration or Educational Leadership after receiving a master’s degree. 

 004.05E2 Clarified employment requirements for Professional Administrative certificates. 

 004.06F Clarified that coursework must be education-related and taken after the bachelor’s degree. 

 004.07C,D Clarified requirements for Administrative certificate renewal.  

 004.08 Clarified Provisional Administrative certificate may be renewed 2 times for a total of 3 years. 

 005.03D2 Clarified that coursework requirement for Initial Teaching certificate is taken after receiving a 
bachelor’s degree. 

 005.04C,D Clarified requirements for renewal of an initial certificate. 

 005.08C Added Educational Technology to Master’s options for the Professional Teaching Certificate and 
added a 10-year limitation for the Master’s to qualify for the Professional Teaching certificate. 

 005.09C Clarified requirements for Standard and Professional Teaching renewal prior to expiration or less 
than 5 years after expiration to include administration or teaching employment. 

 005.10C Added language to provide for renewal of a Nebraska certificate with out of state experience. 

 005.10D Clarify requirements for Teaching Certificate renewal 5 years after expiration. 

 005.14 Clarified the Provisional Teaching Certificate can be renewed only 2 times for a total of 3 years. 

 005.16C Simplified language regarding Provisional Teaching Certificate renewal requirements. 

 005.18C Requires a District Verification Form for the Career Education Teaching Certificate. 

 005.18D New language to allow postsecondary institutions to request issuance of the Career Education 
Teaching Certificate for Career Academy instructors. 

 005.19D Updated requirements for Career Education Teaching Certificate Renewal. 

 005.21B Added a Postsecondary Verification form requirement for the Dual Credit Teaching Certificate.   

 005.26 Increase Local Substitute Teaching certificate validity from 40 to 45 days. 

 005.27B Clarified coursework requirements for the Local Substitute Teaching Certificate.   

 006.01 Changed Temporary certificate expiration date from 2 years to 180 days after issuance and 
added language that the Temporary certificate is not renewable.  

 007.04 Special Services Certificate renewal requirements clarified. 

 007.05 Created new section for renewal of the Special Services certificate-School Nurse endorsement. 

 007.06 Created new section for renewal of the Special Services certificate-Coaching endorsement. 

 007.07 Clarified that Provisional Special Services certificates can be renewed 2 times for a total of 3 
years and that Provisional Special Services certificates are not issued for School Nurse or 
Coaching endorsements. 

 008.02 Simplified Conditional Permit issuance requirements; investigation done by certification office. 
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