
AHO 9  Handling or applying agricultural chemicals identified by 
the word poison and the skull and crossbones on the label or 
those identified by the word warning on the label. 

AHO 10  Handling or using a blasting agent, including but not 
limited to dynamite, black powder, sensitized ammonium nitrate, 
blasting caps, and primer cord. 

AHO 11  Transporting, transferring, or applying anhydrous 
ammonia.  

 
Agricultural Hazardous Occupations Order (AHHO) 

Exemption Qualifications (29 CFR 570.50) 
 
An AHHO Exemption allows industry and schools working in 
partnership to be protected under the child labor law and 
employ students in some hazardous agricultural 
occupations.  Child labor regulations allow limited 
involvement in the six hazardous occupations starred (*) 
above if the individual is at least 14 years old, a cooperative 
education student-learner or apprentice, and all of the 
following requirements are properly met: 
 

 Individual must be 14-15 years old 

 Student Learner must be: 
 enrolled in a state-recognized course, e.g. COOP 
program. 

 employed under a written Training Agreement signed 
by the employer, school, parent, and student. 

 employed under a written Training Plan that clearly 
identifies the competencies the student is expected to 
attain in the related high school course and as a 
result of the on-the job training. 

 employed with the understanding that the hazardous 
portion of the work: 
 is incidental to training. 
 is intermittent and for short periods of time. 
 is under direct and close supervision of a qualified 

person. 
 follows safety instructions given by the school 

and/or the employer on the job. 
 

APPRENTICES must be: 
 employed in an apprenticeship program registered by 
the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training (BAT). 

  employed with the understanding that the hazardous 
portion of the work: 

 is incidental to training. 
 is intermittent and for short periods of time. 
 is under direct and close supervision of a qualified 

person. 

 (The following are not required by FLSA, but are recommended to 
insure the safety and well being of the student apprentices.) 

 provided with safety instructions given by the school and/or 
the employer on the job. 

 employed under a written Training Agreement signed by 
the employer, school, parent, and student. 

 employed under a written Training Plan that clearly  
identifies the competencies the student is expected to 
attain in the  related high school course and as a result of 
the on-the job training. 
  

Resources: 
The following publications are available from US Dept. of Labor:  

Child Labor Requirements in Nonagricultural Occupations Under the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. Child Labor Bulletin No. 101. 
Child Labor Requirements in Agricultural Under the Fair Labor 
Standards Act.  Child Labor Bulletin No. 102. 
Handy Reference Guide to the Fair Labor Standards Act, WH 
Publication 1282. 
Employment Relationship Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, WH 
Pub. 1297 

U.S. Department of Labor 
Employment Standards Administration, Wage and Hour Division 

200 Constitution Avenue, NW 
Washington, D.C. 20210 

202-219-4907 
www.youthrules.gov. 

 
Nebraska Work Based Learning Manual 

Nebraska Department of Education 
301 Centennial Mall South 
Lincoln, NE  68509-4987 
www.nde.state.ne.us/nce  

 
For More Information Contact: 

Greg Stahr, Work Based Learning Director 
Nebraska Department of Education 

(402) 471-0898  
greg.stahr@nebraska.gov 

 

 
This brochure is intended as a reference only, not as a legal 

interpretation, and is not a substitute for legal advice.  It is in no 
way a complete statement of the child labor laws, but a simplified 

interpretation intended for use by educators, employers, policy 
makers, and parents as they plan and implement work-based 

learning opportunities. For more complete information regarding 
state and federal law, consult the resources listed below.   
Those needing legal advice should consult an attorney. 
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Employment of Youth Under 18 Years of Age in 
Agricultural Occupations 

 
Employers, schools and students are impacted by a number 
of labor laws as they participate in work-based learning 
activities.  The degree to which coverage is mandated is 
dependent on the individual situation.  Coverage is 
principally affected by the determination of whether or not an 
employer-employee relationship exists between the 
employer and student. 
 
Child labor laws were enacted to protect minors from injury 
in the workplace and to prevent work from interfering with 
education. Students in work-based learning opportunities 
may engage in a range of types and intensities of activities 
in the workplace from gaining career awareness through job 
shadowing, to learning occupational and employability skills 
by working in internships or youth apprenticeships. 
 
 
Why Employ Youth Under Age 18? 
 
It has become increasingly apparent that structured work-
based learning enhances rather than detracts from 
education by reinforcing academic learning and highlighting 
the relevance of education to goals in later life. The 
employment of youth under age 18 is desirable in many 
instances because of the need:  
 
• To create early opportunities for youth to develop an 

awareness of new and emerging careers so they can 
more effectively plan postsecondary education pursuits.   

• To introduce youth to the modern workplace, equipment 
and actual workplace problems. 

• To give youth access to jobs that require more 
knowledge and skills than ordinary youth jobs. 

• To allow youth to experience a career field before the 
12th grade so they can adjust their academic and 
career program of study before graduation. 

• To demonstrate to youth that high performance in high 
school “counts” in students’ plans for the future. 

• To enable students to observe the interaction of all 
aspects of a company’s operations 

 Federal  Fair  Labor Standards Acts (FLSA) 
Chi ld Labor Provisions   

 
The FLSA was passed in 1938 and is a federal law enforced 
by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division.  
The law applies to all fifty states and ninety percent of 
nonagricultural businesses.  All states also have child labor 
laws.  If the FLSA and the state’s child labor laws regulate the 
same activity, the stricter labor standard is the one that 
applies, e.g., Nebraska Child Labor Law requires that all 
workers under age 16 obtain an Employment Certificate from 
the school district in which the child resides.  The following 
conditions are based on the Federal law. 
 
• The FLSA applies only when an (employer/employee) 

relationship exists.  When a child reaches the age of 
eighteen, the child labor law does not apply.   

 
• Provisions for work in agriculture are less restrictive than 

those for non-agricultural work.  Agriculture is defined in 
FLSA as “includes farming in all its branches...performed 
by a farmer or on a farm as an incident to or in conjunction 
with such farming occupations” (29 CFR 780.103). 

 
• Child labor law for agricultural occupations stipulates 

conditions of employment in three major areas: Age and 
Hour Limitations, Occupational Limitations, and Hazardous 
Occupations Order Exemption Qualifications.  

 
Age and Hour Limitations 
Under 12 Years of Age 

Youths under 12 years old may perform jobs on farms 
owned or operated by parents or, with parents’ written 
consent, outside of school hours in nonhazardous jobs on 
farms not covered by the minimum wage provisions of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act. 

 
12 and 13 Year Olds 

Youth who are 12 and 13 years of age may work outside of 
school hours in nonhazardous jobs, either with parent’s 
written consent or on the same farm as the parents. 

 
14 and 15 Year Olds 

Youth who are 14 and 15 years of age may work outside of 
school hours in nonhazardous jobs. Fourteen and fifteen 
year old students enrolled in a state-recognized 
agricultural education program may obtain an exemption 
from Agricultural Hazardous Occupations Orders 1,2,3,4,5, 
and 6 listed on the next page. 

 16 and 17 Year Olds 
Youth who are 16 and 17 years of age may perform any 
agricultural job, whether hazardous or not, and whether 
during school hours or not, for unlimited hours.  Educators, 
employers, and parents should, however, control the hours 
to ensure that education remains the student’s top priority.  

 
 
Agricultural Occupation Limitations 
There are eleven Agricultural Hazardous Occupations 
Orders (AHOO) described in detail in the law.  Minors under 
age 16 may not be employed to work in these occupations 
unless they qualify for an exemption as a student learner or 
apprentice enrolled in a state-recognized training program.  
Industry can hire 14 and 15 year old students to work in 
AHOO # 1, 2,3,4,5, and 6 if they work in partnership with an 
approved educational facility and an agreement has been 
signed by the employer, the school, a parent, and the 
student (see Exemption Qualifications).  There are no 
exemptions for AHOO # 7, 8,9,10, and 11. 
 
AHO 1*  Operating a tractor of over 20 PTO horsepower, or 
connecting or disconnecting an implement or any of its parts to or 
from such a tractor. 

AHO 2*  Operating or assisting to operate any of the following 
machines: corn picker, cotton picker, grain combine, hay mower, 
forage harvester, hay baler, potato digger, or mobile pea viner; feed 
grinder, crop dryer, forage blower, auger conveyor, or the 
unloading mechanism of a nongravity-type self-unloading wagon or 
trailer; power post-hole digger; power post driver, or nonwalking-type 
rotary tiller. 

AHO 3*  Operating or assisting to operate the following machines: 
trencher or earthmoving equipment, fork lift, potato combine, 
power-driven circular, band, or chain saw. 

AHO 4*  Working on a farm in a yard, pen, or stall occupied by a 
bull, boar, or study horse maintained for breeding purposes; sow 
with suckling pigs; or cow with newborn calf. 

AHO 5*  Felling, bucking, skidding, loading, or unloading timber 
with butt diameter of more than 6 inches 

AHO 6*  Working from ladder/scaffold at a height of over 20 feet. 

AHO 7  Driving a bus, truck, or automobile when transporting 
passengers, or riding on a tractor as a passenger or helper. 

AHO 8  Working inside a fruit, forage, or grain storage designed to 
regain an oxygen deficient or toxic atmosphere; an upright silo 
within 2 weeks after silage has been added or when a top 
unloading device is in operating position; a manure pit; or a 
horizontal silo while operating tractor for packing purposes. 

 




