Enroliment and Attendance:
What are the Requirements

and the Law?

Brian L. Halstead
Assistant Commissioner

2013 Administrators' Days
July 31, 2013

7/30/2013

§79-201 Compulsory Attendance

Requirement set forth in Section 79-201(2) — a single
sentence containing almost 125 words

Simplified version:

* Each parent of any child of mandatory attendance
age shall cause such child to enroll in and attend
regularly a school each day that such school is open
and in session, except when excused by school
authorities or when illness or severe weather
conditions make attendance impossible or
impracticable.

§79-215 Enrollment in Public Schools

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a student is a
resident of the school district where he or she resides and shall be
admitted to such school district upon request without charge.

NDE Rule 19, § 003:

A public school district shall, upon request, enroll and provide free
instruction to any person between the ages of 5 and 21 who has not
completed high school or received a diploma of high school
equivalency, and who the district is required to enroll under §79-215.

Question: Can you decline to enroll an individual who requests
enrollment if the individual is 19 years of age and has not completed
high school?

Answer: NO, you are required to enroll the individual
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Rule 19 Enrollment requirements (continued)

Prohibited Pre-requisites to Enrollment
= Submission of social security card or number
= Presentation of certified copy of birth certificate or
other proof of identity or age

= Receipt of transcripts, records or grades from previous
school

= Payment of fee except those specified in §79-2,127
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State vs. Thacker, 286 Neb. 16 (5/31/13)

* Thackers move to Nebraska in March 2011

* After “couple weeks” Principal contacts county attorney

 Sheriff’s officer contacts Thackers in April 2011

e Thackers tell officer they were homeschooling children and
finished curriculum for 10-11 school year

* Thackers contact Principal who informs them of need to file
paperwork with NDE “over the summer” if they intend to
homeschool

e Thackers do nothing “over the summer”

State vs. Thacker (cont.)

Mid-September 2011 Principal contacts county attorney
September 27, 2011, Thackers’ notarized signatures on
exempt school forms

October 6, 2011, Commissioner acknowledges receipt of
exempt school paperwork from Thackers

Mother testifies family thought they were moving to Kentucky
in September 2011, but Husband got promotion from
Nebraska employer

Mother testifies exempt school forms signed & mailed to
NDE, but returned as not properly addressed. Forms resent
to NDE
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State vs. Thacker (cont.)

County Court finds Thackers could complete hours of

instruction required for 11-12 school year, but guilty of

violating §79-201(2) from 8/17 thru 10/4 since children not

enrolled in public school

Thackers appeal to District Court which reverses decision of

county court since statutes and rules for 1%t year of exempt

school operation only require completion of minimum hours

of instruction

State appeals to Supreme Court

= Argued that child had to be enrolled in public school until parent
receives NDE recognition of exempt school
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State vs. Thacker (cont.)

Supreme Court agrees that school districts have duty to
enforce school attendance requirements

Section 79-201(2) does not make the start of the public school
calendar the default start date for other schools

§79-318(5)(c) authorizes NDE to adopt rules for exempt
schools

Rules define school year as July 1 thru the following June 30
"But nothing in Nebraska’s statutes or regulations sets a
deadline for filing requirements in the first year of an exempt
school’s operation.”

State vs. Thacker (cont.)

“But neither Nebraska’s statutes nor the Department’s
regulations set out a deadline for an exempt school to begin
operations.”

“So although the regulations set a filing deadline for an
exempt school’s second year of operation, they conspicuously
omit a filing deadline for the first year.”

“But we will not interpret the Department’s regulations to
impose a requirement that carries a criminal consequences
when that requirement is not clearly imposed under the
governing statute.
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Proposed Solutions to Thacker Ruling
Amend Rules 12 and 13

Clarify responsibilities about starting exempt schools

* 003.02A Fhirty-dayspriorto-the dateonwhich the exempt

15 By July 1 of each school year the school will be in
operation, the parent representative will file with the
Commissioner a statement containing the names and ages of
all children in the school and the names of their parents or
guardians, and containing assurances regarding submission of
information on enrollment and attendance, signed in the
presence of and acknowledged by a notary public upon oath
or affirmation.

Proposed Solutions — Amend Rules 12 and 13

* 003.02A1 - When parents or guardians did not reside in
a Nebraska school district as of July 1 of any school year
in which they wish their child(ren) to attend an exempt
school, they shall cause the parent representative to file
the forms described in Section 003.02A immediately
upon becoming a resident.

Proposed Solutions — Amend Rules 12 and 13

* 003.02A2 - Parents or guardians of any child enrolled in
and attending an approved or accredited Nebraska
school who elect to transfer such child to a school
established or to be established under this Chapter shall
cause the parent representative to file the forms
described in Section 003.02A as soon as practicable
before transferring. In no case shall such child be
exempt from the mandatory attendance requirements
of 79-201 R.R.S. on the basis that the parents intend to
enroll the child in an exempt school or have filed the
forms described in Section 003.02A. In order to comply
with 79-201 R.R.S. in such cases, any child shall not
cease attending the approved or accredited school until
such time as the Letter of Acknowledgement described
in Section 005 is received.
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If Facebook was
a school I swear

I'd have perfect
attendance.

7/30/2013

Rule 2 — Uniform System of Accounting for
Public School Districts

Updated during summer!
Student membership and attendance reporting in 006
changed:
= Student no longer in membership when student:
* transfers to another school
* is withdrawn
* or graduates

Rule 2
Membership and Attendance Reporting

Students shall be counted in membership on the first day of their

official enroliment

Students shall be counted in attendance when they are present on

days when school is in session

= Present only when student is actually at the school or is present at a
school sponsored activity supervised by school staff

= May include independent study, work-study programs, field trips,
athletic contests, music festivals, student conventions, instruction for
homebound students, or similar activities officially authorized under
local school board policy

Does not include “making up” school-work at home or activities

supervised or sponsored by private individuals or groups
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Reporting Attendance to NDE

* LB 410 eliminated Monthly Excessive Absenteeism Report

* §79-527(2) Superintendent of public school district shall
report on a quarterly basis to the Commissioner individual
student information on attendance

Quarterly Reporting of Individual Student Attendance
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§79-202
Withdrawal from Mandatory Attendance

* LB 996 in 2012 struck 2004 language that permitted any
parent to discontinue enrollment of 16 or 17 year old child

* Replaced with §79-202 setting forth procedures & form to
used for withdrawing 16 or 17 year old child from mandatory
attendance under certain limited circumstance

¢ Child experiencing:
= financial hardships requiring the child to be employed to support

child’s family or dependents of child; or

= illness making attendance impossible or impracticable.

§79-202
Withdrawal from Attendance

Outline of Procedure:

1. Written request to school district (simple letter);

2. Exit Interview required;

3. Prescribed form completed only if child meets standards set
by Legislature; and

4. Form filed with NDE.
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§79-202
Withdrawal from Attendance

1. Requires written request of “any person” who has legal or
actual charge or control of child (Requester)

= |f child is enrolled in private, denominational, or parochial
school, Requester sends written request to school district in
which child resides.

= Example: Child lives in Hickman, but attends Lincoln Pius X High
School — Written request made to superintendent of Norris
School District #160
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§79-202

Withdrawal from Attendance
2. Supt. or designee sets time & place for exit interview (El).

Required attendees at El: Requester, child (unless illness is
reason), supt. or designee, principal or designee if child
enrolled in school district.

Others may be requested & agree to attend El (e.g. principal
of non-public school if child enrolled in non-public);

3. El: Requester must present evidence that (a) person has legal
or actual charge or control of child (PLACCOC), and (b) child is
(i) required to work, or (ii) illness makes attendance
impossible or impracticable.

§79-202
Withdrawal from Attendance

4. Superintendent or designee shall then identify all alternative
educational opportunities, include vocational courses of
study, available to child in the school district, and how
withdrawal is likely to reduce potential future earnings for
child and increase likelihood of child being unemployed in
future.

5. Other relevant information may be presented and discussed.
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§79-202
Withdrawal from Attendance

6. Conclusion of El:
¢ PLACCOC may rescind written request, or may sign form;
e Child required to sign form only if child required to work
to support child’s family or dependents of child; and
* Superintendent or designee determines preponderance
of evidence presented that person making written
request is PLACCOC and child is experiencing (i) financial
hardship requiring child to work, or (ii) illness makes
attendance impossible or impracticable by signing form.

§79-202
Withdrawal from Attendance
Prescribed form located in NDE Portal under Forms:
Withdrawal from Mandatory Attendance Form

e Please read the directions

e Complete Online

e Commissioner directed copy of completed form be
sent to me
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§79-202
Withdrawal from Attendance (cont.)

How many will be effected?
STATEWIDE - Public School Dropouts

Year | 07-08 | 08-09 | 09-10 | 10-11

Total 692 595 581 468

NDE received 63 completed Withdrawal from
Attendance Forms for 2012-13 school year
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§79-209
School Policy & Report to County Attorney

* Written policy on excessive absenteeism developed
in collaboration with county attorney
= Shall include provision on how district & county
attorney will handle excessive absences due to
documented illness that makes attendance impossible

= Number of absences shall not exceed 5 days per
quarter
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§79-209
School Policy & Report to County Attorney

Required to report to the county attorney when child is
absent more than 20 days per year.

« If all absences of a child are excused or due to
documented illness that makes attendance impossible or
impracticable, then school may report matter to county
attorney.

e Any letter sent must include two statements one of
which must be designated:
= School requests more time to work with student;

= School has used all reasonable efforts & recommends
county attorney intervention.
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