
 

 
 

 
 

 
301 Centennial Mall South – PO Box 94987 – Lincoln, NE  68509-4987 

Memorandum 
 

 
 
 
 
 

To: Nebraska School Administrators 
 

From:   Matthew Blomstedt, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education 
 

Re: Closure of Schools 
 

 
 

Each year many inquiries are made to the State Department of Education regarding the amount of 
school time missed because of uncontrollable circumstances. You may wish to review the law and 
regulations on this issue. 

 
Sections 79-101(7) and 79-211 R.R.S. provide that Nebraska school districts have schools open and in 
session with teachers and students in attendance no less than (1) one thousand thirty-two instructional 
hours for elementary grades; and (2) one thousand eighty instructional hours for high school grades. 
Kindergarten must be in session for at least 400 hours (79-201.10). This same requirement is contained 
in the regulations for approval and accreditation of schools. The 400/1032/1080 instructional hour 
requirement includes only hours utilized for instruction as established by local school board policy. 

 
Section 79-1103(2) requires prekindergarten programs operated by schools or educational service units 
to be approved by the Nebraska Department of Education. Section 004.04 of Rule 11, Regulations for 
Early Childhood Programs, requires that, in order to receive Nebraska Tax Equity and Educational 
Opportunities Support Act (TEEOSA) funds, early childhood programs for ages 3 to 5 shall operate a 
minimum of 450 instructional hours per school year. 

 
Every effort should be made by school districts to make up instructional hours missed because of 
sickness, severe weather, or other reasons. It may be necessary to amend the school calendar as the 
school year progresses. Missed time could be made up by: (1) having school during portions of planned 
vacation periods, (2) extending the school year, (3) lengthening some school days, and/or (4) providing 
school on Saturdays. 

 
After using the alternatives listed above, if it is determined that the 450/400/1032/1080 instructional 
hours cannot be provided, an affidavit may be filed with the State Board of Education within 10 days of 
the conclusion of the school year. This process is provided for in Section 79-213, R.R.S. An Affidavit of 
School Closing form is attached. This form is also available from the State Department of Education, 
Office of Accreditation and School Improvement. 

 
State Department of Education staff members are willing to assist schools in meeting the required 
hours.  Please contact: Accreditation and School Improvement Section, Department of Education, 
Box 94987, Lincoln, NE 68509, 402-471-2444 or email nde.accreditation@nebraska.gov. 

mailto:nde.accreditation@nebraska.gov


Return Original copy to: NDE: 08-050 
Nebraska Department of Education (Revised 4/2010) 
Accreditation and School Improvement Office Due: 10 days after end 
P.O. Box 94897  of school year 
Lincoln, NE 68509-4987 
FAX: (402) 471-8127 

AFFIDAVIT OF SCHOOL CLOSING 
 

 
County-District #      (example: 00-0000) 
(The number preprinted on page one of the Annual Statistical Summary) 

School District/System Name:      

State of Nebraska ) 
) § 

County of ) 
 
 

being first duly sworn, deposes and says: 
 

1. That (he or she) is the secretary of the school board of school district 
 

   of 

 
 
 
 

County 
 
 

2. That due to the school board in the district closed 
the schools within the district on the following dates: 

 

DATES NUMBER OF HOURS REASON/EXPLANATION 

PreK Kdg Elem Sec 

      

      

      

 
 

3. That this Affidavit is completed by the school district secretary to be filed with the State Board of 
Education, along with the Annual Statistical Summary, in fulfillment of the requirements of Section 
79-213 (R.R.S.). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Board Secretary’s Signature) 

NOTARY 
Subscribed in my presence and sworn to me before this 
   day of   , 20  . 
 
 

Place Notary Seal Below 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Notary Public or Other Acknowledging Officer 


