

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For additional infomration, please contact David Jespersen by phone (402-471-4537) or email (<u>david.jespersen@nebraska.gov</u>)

AUGUST 20, 2019

## revision grants awarded to Nebraska schools

The Nebraska State Board of Education awarded reVISION Grants to schools across the state to help develop Nebraska's talent pipelines for economic growth and workforce development, while strengthening high school Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs. Schools will receive either Initial Grants or Action Grants.

The purpose of the Perkins reVISION Initial Grant is to assist local school districts in completing the reVISION Career Education strategic planning process. Working in collaboration with postsecondary education and regional workforce/economic development leaders, the reVISION process links career educators, school administrators, school counselors, industry professionals, and community leaders. Through this process, schools will have the opportunity to analyze and transform their current CTE systems to improve their ability to educate a qualified workforce that meets employers' needs. This will help ensure that high quality CTE programs are in place in all Nebraska schools, and that such programs are aligned with college and career readiness standards as well as the needs of employers, industry, and labor.

## 2019-2020 Perkins reVISION Initial Grant Participants:

- Centennial Public Schools
- Louisville Public School
- Seward Public Schools
- Sidney Public Schools
- Southern Public Schools

Once a school completes the initial reVISION process they are eligible for an Action Grant. The competitive Perkins reVISION Action Grant program provides Perkins funds for secondary school districts to help implement the reVISION Action Plan developed in the reVISION process. Only activities that align with high-skill, high-wage, and high-demand occupations are considered for funding. Seventeen districts received awards totaling \$536,995.

## 2019-2020 Perkins reVISION Action Grant Recipients:

- Arnold Public School
- Bellevue Public Schools
- ESU 9 Consortium (Adams Central, Doniphan-Trumbull, Harvard, and Kenesaw)
- Fairbury Public Schools
- Hershey Public Schools

- Loup County Public Schools
- Millard Public Schools
- Sargent Public Schools
- Superior Public Schools
- Sutton Public Schools

Funds for both Initial and Action Grants are provided by the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act of 2006, Reserve Funds, and Statewide Leadership Funds.

More information about the reVISION grants can be found here: <a href="https://www.education.ne.gov/nce/revision.html">https://www.education.ne.gov/nce/revision.html</a>.

####

David Jespersen Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education 402-471-4537 david.jespersen@nebraska.gov @NDE\_News