

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For additional infomration, please contact David Jespersen by phone (402-471-4537) or email (<u>david.iespersen@nebraska.gov</u>)

JULY 22, 2019

## NEBRASKA BUSINESS TEACHERS RECOGNIZED WITH 2019 B.E.S.T. AWARDS

The Nebraska Department of Education recognized 53 Nebraska business teachers at the Nebraska Career Education Conference held June 5, 2019 in Kearney.

Teachers whose professional activities influenced business and marketing education in Nebraska during the past year received B.E.S.T. — Belong, Excel, Study and Travel — Awards for their involvement in professional associations, community and school activities, professional leadership development, and service to the business education profession.

BEST awards exemplify superior qualities, including dedication to students, community outreach, and continual classroom improvement efforts. The following individuals contributed significantly to the quality of education in their community and the state:

- 20-year award winners: Lorie Anderson-Stowe, Lincoln East High School; DeLayne Havlovic, Omaha Public Schools.
- 10-year award winner: Lorrie Mowry of McCook Community College
- First-year award winners: Tara Dlouhy, Columbus Lakeview; Josh Hinrichs, Lincoln Southwest High School; Laura Rikli, Elmwood-Murdock.

## Additional award recipients:

Tennille Allison of Kearney High School

Alyse Andreasen of University of Nebraska-Kearney

Janice Arent of Maywood High School

Alexandra Bastian of Raymond Central

Crystal Bolamperti of Westside Middle School

Brenda Budler of Chadron High School

Angie Chittick of Mid-Plains Community College

Jimi Cole of Mid-Plains Community College

Jean Condon of Mid-Plains Community College

Jocelyn Crabtree of Lincoln Northeast High School

Liz Crabtree of Milford High School

Melissa Dux of Fairbury High School

Teresa Feick of Arlington High School

Lisa Fox of Dundy County Stratton High School

Dawn Friedrich of Wausa High School

Jodi Gehr of Lincoln Southeast High School

Lisa Hanson of Neligh-Oakdale High School

Darci Karr of Hastings High School

Shawna Koger of Arlington High School

Dennis Krejci of Tri County High School

Kyleigh Lewis of Dorchester High School

Matt Maw of Lincoln East High School

Kathleen McCune of Mid-Plains Community College

Kelly Means of Omaha Central High School

Renelle Mooney of McCook Community College

Shelly Mowinkel of Milford High School

Renae Noble of Chadron High School

Cathy Nutt of Mid-Plains Community College

Pat Olson of Blair High School

Jan Osborn of Sargent High School

Angie Palmer of Broken Bow High School

Peggy Parker of Dundy County Stratton High School

Laura Parks of Elkhorn Valley High School

Shannon Quible of Lincoln North Star High School

Kim Pickering of Lincoln High School

Celeste Rogers of Sandhills High School

Wanda Samson of Metropolitan Community College-Fremont

Nannette Shackelford of Sandy Creek High School

Janet Stalder of McCook Community College

Debra Stroh of Gibbon High School

Jessica Thompson of Lincoln Southeast High School

Cindy Talley of Fillmore Central High School

Lindsay Tillinghast of Lincoln Southeast High School

Kari Tunink of Columbus High School

Susan Wellman of Syracuse-Avoca-Dunbar High School

Jan Went of Columbus Lakeview High School

Deb Wolken of Lincoln Northeast High School

####

David Jespersen Public Information Officer, Nebraska Department of Education 402-471-4537 david.jespersen@nebraska.gov @NDE\_News