Official State of Nebraska website - Return to Nebraska.gov

Nebraska Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year Homepage

About the Program

Background Information

2014 Teacher of the Year

News Release

Brochure

Teachers of the Year

Teachers of the Year

Awards of Excellence

Awards of Excellence

2015 Information

2015 Application (fillable form)

2015 Application (printable form)

Informational Flyer

Application News Release

National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY)

National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY)

NNSTOY - Nebraska Chapter

Contact

Lora Sypal, Coordinator
(402) 471-5059
lora.sypal@nebraska.gov

Sponsors

Nebraska Department of Education
Nebraska State Board of Education
Data Recognition Corporation (DRC)
BlueCross BlueShield of Nebraska
Nebraska Association of School Boards
Nebraska Council of School Administrators
Nebraska Parent Teacher Association
Nebraska State Education Association
SMART Technologies
Dillard's Department Store, Lincoln, Nebraska
The Sherwood Foundation
Union Bank & Trust Company
The Nebraska Academy of Sciences, Inc.
ConAgra Foods Foundation

The National Teacher of the Year Program is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with the ING and People to People Ambassador Programs.

Nebraska Teacher of the Year Apple
Awards of Excellence

The Nebraska Awards of Excellence Program, which feature selection of the Nebraska Teacher of the Year, serves to recognize the contributions of the classroom teacher.

1972
1973
1974
1975
1976
1977
1978
1979
1980
1981
1982
1983
1984
1985
1986
1987
1988
1989
1990
1991
1992
1993
1994
1995
1996
1997
1998
2015
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026

 

2015

Jim Fielder
Hastings Senior High School
Hastings
Email:
 
Christopher Maly
Lincoln High School
Lincoln
Email:
 
Sara Schau
Westside Highschool
Omaha
Email:
 

2014

Lisa Graham
Lisa Graham
Waverly High School
Waverly
Email: lisa.graham@dist145schools.org
 
Robert Henrichs
Robert Henrichs
Southwest High School
Lincoln
Email:bhenrich@lps.org
 
Judith Ann Stucky
Judith Ann Stucky
Westside High School
Omaha
Email: jstucky@westside66.org
Back to Top


2013

Pat Olson
Pat Olson
Blair Community Schools
Blair
Email: pat.olson@blairschools.org
 
Sandi Seckel
Sandi Seckel
West Park Elementary School
Columbus
Email: seckels@discoverers.org
 
Judith Ann Stucky
Judith Ann Stucky
Westside High School
Omaha
Email: jstucky@westside66.org
Back to Top


2012

Thomas Michalek Thomas Michalek
Morton Elementary School
Hastings
Email: michalek@esu9.org
 
Michael Musil Michael Musil
North Star High School
Lincoln
Email: mmusil@lps.org
 
Diane Stauffer Diane Stauffer
Alice Buffett Magnet Middle School
Omaha
Email: diane.stauffer@ops.org
 
Karen Wolken Karen Wolken
Johnson-Brock Public Schools
Johnson
Email: karen.wolken@johnsonbrock.org
Back to Top


2011

Nicholas Kleve Nicholas Kleve
E.N. Swett Elementary School
South Sioux City
Email: nicholas.kleve@ssccardinals.org
 
Clark Kolterman Clark Kolterman
Seward High School
Seward
Email: clark.kolterman@connectseward.org
 
Michael Musil Michael Musil
North Star High School
Lincoln
Email: mmusil@lps.org
 
Dan Widick Dan Widick (Retired)
Eustis-Farnam High School
Eustis
Back to Top


2010

Thomas Jaworski Thomas Jaworski
Adams Central Public School
Hastings
Email: jaworski@esu9.org
 
Amanda Stalnaker Amanda Stalnaker
Millard North Middle School
Millard Public Schools
Omaha
Email: astalnaker@mpsomaha.org
 
Wanda Stelk Wanda Stelk (Retired)
West Lawn Elementary School
Grand Island Public Schools
Grand Island
Back to Top


2009

Beth Murphy Anderson Beth Murphy Anderson
Brownell-Talbot High School
Brownell-Talbot Schools
Omaha
 
Mary Dueland Mary Dueland
Central Elementary School
McCook Public Schools
McCook
Email: mdueland@mccookbison.org
 
Ricardo Varguez Ricardo Várguez
Westside High School
Westside Community Schools
Omaha
Back to Top


2008

Jalaene Choquette Jalene Choquette
Hastings High School
Hastings Public Schools
Hastings
Email: jchoquet@esu9.org
 
Jaye D. Crouse Jaye D. Crouse
Elementary School at Valparaiso
Raymond Central Public Schools
Valparaiso
 
Mellanee Kvasnicka Mellanee Kvasnicka
Papillion-La Vista South High School
Papillion-La Vista Public Schools
Papillion
 
Bob Reeker Bob Reeker
Eastridge Elementary School
Lincoln Public Schools
Lincoln
Email: breeker@lps.org
Back to Top


2007

David Barnard David Barnard
Superior Junior/Senior High School
Superior Public Schools
Superior
Email: db23710@navix.net
 
Catherine English Catherine English
Aurora High School
Aurora Public Schools
Aurora
 
Natalie Jenkins Natalie Jenkins (Retired)
Gering Junior High School
Gering Public Schools
Gering
 
Susan Koch Susan Koch
Laurel-Concord Elementary School
Laurel-Concord Public Schools
Laurel
Email: skoch@esu1.org
 
Dianne Lee Dianne Lee
Sherman Elementary School
Omaha Public Schools
Omaha
Back to Top


2006

Pam Buchholz
Carl A. Swanson Elementary School
Westside Community Schools
Omaha
Email: pbuchholz@westside66.org
 
James Campbell James Campbell
Lincoln Northeast High School
Lincoln Public Schools
Lincoln
Email: jcampbel@lps.org
 
Charles Foxhoven Charles Foxhoven
Norfolk Junior High School
Norfolk Public Schools
Norfolk
Email: chuckfoxhoven@npsne.org
 
Karen Gottsch Karen Gottsch (Retired)
Cambridge High School
Cambridge Public Schools
Cambridge
 
Amy Hottovy Amy Hottovy
Centennial Junior/Senior High School
Centennial Public Schools
Utica
Email: amy.hottovy@centennialpublic.org
Back to Top


2005

Kathryn Gifford Kathryn Gifford (Retired)
Kearney High School
Kearney Public Schools
Kearney
 
Susan Goochey Susan Goochey
Burwell Elementary School
Burwell Public Schools
Burwell
Email: sgoochey@esu10.org
 
Karen Hastings Karen Hastings (Retired)
Westridge Middle School
Grand Island Public Schools
Grand Island
Back to Top


2004

Joan Christen
Joan Anna Christen
Beatrice High School
Beatrice
Email: jchristen@bpsnebr.org
 
Roger Groth (Retired)
Westside High School
Westide Community Schools
Omaha
Email: rlgroth@cox.net
 
Suzanne Kirby
Clinton Elementary School
Lincoln Public Schools
Lincoln
Back to Top


2003

Charlotte Griffith
Lost Creek Elementary School
Columbus Public Schools
Columbus
 
Roger Groth (Retired)
Westside High School
Westide Community Schools
Omaha
Email: rlgroth@cox.net
 
Robert Jenkins
Westside Middle School
Westside Community Schools
Omaha
 
Bonnie Simpson
Southern Valley Community Schools
Oxford
Back to Top


2002

Jean Bergholz
May Morley Elementary School
Lincoln Public Schools
Lincoln
 
Honey Lou Bonar
Hastings Senior High School
Hastings Public School
Hastings
 
Carl Clark
Hillside Elementary School
Westside Community Schools
Omaha
 
Suzanne Freet Ratzlaff Suzanne Freet Ratzlaff (Retired)
Heartland Community Schools
Henderson/Bradshaw
Email:csratz@mainstaycomm.net
Back to Top


2001

Rae Brown
Pender Elementary School at Thurston
Pender
 
Lynna Gene Cook
Lakeview Elementary School
Lincoln
 
Jan Lund
Ralston High School
Ralston
 
Libby Putz
Anderson Middle School
Millard
Back to Top


2000

Carole DeBuse
Omaha Public Schools
Omaha
 
Shelly Hlavaty
Raymond Central Public Schools
Raymond
 
Steve A. McManigal
Wisner-Pilger Public Schools
Wisner
 
Barbara Sunderman
Hastings Public Schools
Hastings
Back to Top


1999

David Barnard David Barnard
Superior
Email: db23710@navix.net
 
Joseph Green
Minden
 
Michael Pauly
Plattsmouth
 
Beverly Ruff
Papillion
Back to Top